BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Last Chance to See
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 3, 2014
"Last Chance to See" is a very different path, topically, for Douglas Adams. It's a true account of his travels, with friend Mark Carwardine, in an attempt to find some of the species that were (at the time) nearly extinct.

That could make for an interesting book, but it's Douglas Adams' unique perspective on the situations they encounter, combined with his brilliant, insightful, and frequently hilarious narratives that make this book special. He just saw things in a way that is very different from the way most of us do - and he conveys that perspective brilliantly and interestingly.

If you're a fan of the "Hitchhiker's Guide" series, you'll recognize the Douglas Adams style and humor in his writing, but you don't have to be a fan to enjoy this book.

This book has been among my top 5 from the first time I read it. It was out of print for a while, and I was glad to see that it was available again (in paperback this time). I bought this copy to lend to a friend and just to keep as a "loaner", as I've lost several copies over the years, and I didn't want to lose my last one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2017
I had bought this book for English 101 during my freshman year of college. It actually became one of my favorite books! It was in perfect condition- brand new! And I do remember it shipping fast because I needed it for an assignment. I know this review is 11 years late- but better than never!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
This is a great weekend read. This is a fast reading book that is informative and fun. Certainly not as funny as Adams' other works, but still witty. A serious topic that has been fairly well covered by the media in the last 25 years. This book is still relevant, but not as eye-opening as it was then. Still a good read that I recommend highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
Adams' unique talent for writing is able to grab the attention of entirely new audiences in the genre of nature/animal preservation. It's a cleverly executed window into that world that allows for a broader audience and thus, broader awareness of certain issues, and so it accomplishes exactly what it was set out to do. He speaks from the heart and with the very best of intentions, using his signature comedic and anecdotal style of writing. It deserves five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2017
This proves the English can be guilty of fantastic humor. And also this is serious writing about serious threats to out endangered wildlife. So if you want good info about disappearing creatures OR want some really good laughs thrown in, this is it for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
An outstanding book in his wonderful style, about some creatures I'd never thought much about (or heard of) and places described so well they already seem familiar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
This Kindle version has no photos like the paper copy. I am very disappointed and wish I'd saved my money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2013
Douglas Adams was - is - arguably one of the best science fiction authors the planet has ever known. As it happens, he was also very good at writing more 'serious' books, non-fiction at least, while still letting his sense of humour shine through.

This book is a striking example: the material and what it covers - extinction - is of an extremely serious nature, yet the reader can't help but chuckle at some of the ways in which it is presented.

The book has aged fairly well, although unfortunately a couple of the subjects of the book have since shuffled off this planet forever - lending the book a little more poignancy.

My pick for chapters would be 'Heartbeats in the Night,' about New Zealand's kākāpō, the flightless night parrot. The descriptions of New Zealand's Fiordland district, and some of its (human) characters, are sublime.

There are a handful of OCR errors in this edition, but they do not overly detract from the book itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
Really enjoyed this book, it was as educating as it was funny but sad at the same time! Really recommend listening to the audio book too as it is narrated by Douglas himself so it just adds another dimension to the experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
This is, quite simply, one of my favorite books of all time. If you enjoy Douglas Adams's unique sense of scientific, techno-geeky, eminently British humor, there is almost no way you can not love this beautifully written and very funny account of what could easily have been a depressing subject: a pilgrimage to some of the world's remotest places to see some of the world's most endangered species.

It conveys a very important ecological conservation message, but the amusing true stories of trying to get from one place to another on questionable vessels operated by questionable people accompanied by disturbingly pleasant missionaries and irritating tourists are what makes this book great. I highly recommend it for intelligent life forms everywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse