Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on May 11, 2014
Wow! What a truly historical treasure. It is so important for us to capture these guy's stories and share them with each generation. This would be a great text book for a school because it is eyewitness accounts with details that are dying with these men. For so many years, they have not shared their personal stories but these authors got them to not only share the story but also their personal, emotional details. It touched my heart to read Joe Johnsons tribute to the American women. My mother was one of those heroes he describes that worked in the defense industry that provided ammunition and war machines for the cause. Thanks for taking the time to document their wonderful stories!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
I found these in-person interviews to be both absorbing and informative. Clearly, John Long's own military experiences and many years as a trial lawyer enabled him to connect on a personal level with these men so effectively that they felt comfortable sharing the emotional side of their experiences along with many historically important and interesting details.

These interviews will become another chapter in the literature documenting the Greatest Generation's response to the challenges provided by World War II.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
The great thing about this book is I felt as if I was sitting with these 14 veterans listening to their stories about World War II and, particularly, their personal experiences as young men around and on D-Day. John Long did an amazing job of interviewing the veterans and helping them to remember their individual experiences. Each one told the story from his unique perspective, and it was fascinating to read them all. It is the story of World War II told by those who actually were there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
Last Eyewitnesses is more than just a recording of events of those who lived it. This book raises the age old question about the nature of war. In this book, Percy Scarborough and General Eisenhower seem to agree that wars are stupid. This book goes into the reasons that undergirded the invasion. the D-Day invasion shows the world that WWII was a just war and their cause was a just cause. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
After hearing one of the Eyewitnesses call in on the AFR program Sandy Rios in the Morning, I wanted to get the book. These guys are in their 90's now and their recollections of D-Day and other WWII missions were very interesting. Several of the men have passed since the book was written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2016
This was a great read. I love hearing first-hand accounts of real-life experiences, and it's pretty amazing to hear the stories from these men who fought so bravely in the face of overwhelming odds in such an historic battle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
a big kudos for documenting these soldiers story that will soon be unavailable. a very enjoyable read too. should be required as text in study of d day
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
Great book and great experiences shared by our soldiers. After I finished reading the book, I donated it to a small WWII museum. They were very gracious for the gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
This was an amazing recount of the actual event…I was very impressed. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the period.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
I bought this book and several others on WWII as a gift for my husband last year and he loves them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here