Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Last of the Great Mississippi Delta Bluesmen - Live in Dallas
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 15, 2008
These four remaining blues prodigies are incredible in this album, and any blues fan will be very impressed by the overall sound, song selections, and arrangements of the songs on this album! Mississippi Delta Blues music is a real treasure and these four gentlemen are incredible testaments to that genre. Their enthusiasm is still there after all these years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
OH BOY! This is history in the making. Some of the great blues pioneers are on this cd. Honeyboy Edwards is a joy to listen too. he is still got the magic after a lifetime of playing the blues. Robert Jr. Lockwood is another great performer on this cd. You will enjoy this cd if you are in anyway interested in the blues.

John Walsh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2010
I have had the privilege of meeting each of these gentlemen personally. In fact, I am working on Robert Lockwood Jr.'s biography after dozens of hours of interviews. I count Robert Jr., Pinetop and Honeyboy among those I would consider friends which whom I have spoken on many occasions. I've heard them play together several times.

YOU WANT TO ENJOY THIS CD.

This is a very special concert. First, The musicians are the "real deal." The presentation and strong backing band showcase each of these historic musicians more effectively than their other recordings at the time. The music value is so strong that you will find yourself talking about each of these historic bluesmen's strengths not weaknesses. The entertainment value here and musicianship are high.

Honeyboy Edwards was first recorded by the Library of Congress in 1942.
He and Pinetop are the only surviving members of this group which at one time included Homesick James Elmore James' cousin as well. Hubert Sumlin would have made this team on merit and historical importance alone.

Robert Lockwood Jr. was one of the last surviving pre-WWII recorded bluesmen. He first recorded in 1941 for RCA Bluebird in 1941. He died four years ago at 91, ironically on the 65th anniversary of the Original King Biscuit Time on which he starred with Sonny Boy Williamson. In his final year he toured the world, played his regular gig at Fat Fish Blue in downtown Cleveland and was featuredd on many blues festivals.

Henry Townsend was first to record in 1929.

Pinetop Perkins was the las to record in 1953 for Sun Records, a cover of Pinetop Smith's "Pinetop's Boggie Woggie." He is the brilliant blues pianist who students included Ike Turner.
As early as 1942 he was part of Sonny Boy Williamson II's King Biscuit Entertainers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2008
This is one of the best records I have heard of old style Delta blues and the players both live and in studio.

Really enjoyed it and I had seen one or two of them live when I was quite young.

Stephen Sanders
Rome,Italy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
This Grammy-nominated album is a pure performance emanating from the souls of 4 of the Last Great Mississippi Delta Bluesmen.

All acquainted with Robert Johnson the Father of Blues, these 4 men, all 90+ years of age, gathered together in Dallas, Texas at the Majestic Theater and continued their storied history as blues music icons.

Hear their searing magic and have a part of Blues History in your collection. I have bought this album and given it to friends who want to know more about the blues.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
this is a great cd! and an historic show. (i uploaded a handbill) all the performers were great! i especially enjoyed Honey Boy who played electric guitar solo. his guitar looked like he'd modified it some. another of the highlights was when Pinetop Perkins was doing his set, a band called 'Diunnah Greenleaf and Blue Mercy' were backing him up. Pinetop, Diunnah and Blue Mercy really rocked the joint when they covered Robert Johnson's Hellhound on my Trail. Diunnah and Blue Mercy later won the International Blues Challenge in Memphis. they're out of Conroe Texas, keep yer eyes and ears peeled for them!.
i hope a video of this comes out some day, as they had video equipment there that night, too.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2008
If you like traditional, old style blues, you will love "Live in Dallas." Put this in the CD player, shut your eyes and it will transport you back to the good old days when music was meant to be played loudly, in smokey bar rooms with old friends. Buy it. This one won't disappoint.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
Wasn't familiar with Townsend(the only one I knew was Pete Townsend of the WHO)....How I missed this guitar man over the years is something I can't understand!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2011
Super-Fast and easy download! Product Perfect, This Mp3 is amazing! Amazon once more comes through with the best price! I Recommend this music A++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
Nothings better than the Blues...great CD! I also really enjoyed reading about each of the musicians contain in the CD booklet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here