Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services animestrike animestrike animestrike  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$4.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 35 reviews
on June 5, 2007
LAST LOOK is a shocking and fasinating novel, I could not put it down and had no idea who had done what until the end. I really enjoyed this book.

Dorsey Collins is an agent with the FBI, following in her father's footsteps. She has been an agent for over eight yrs. Just coming off a bad relationship she is throwing herself into the job.

Andrew Shields is an older agent who has family problems of his own, and now he has a disaster for the FBI on his hands. His boss turns the mess over to him with the provision that Dorsey be allowed access to his notes.

Twenty four yrs ago her father made his name in the agency by leading the prosecution to charge and finally convict the man accused of murdering a fourteen yr old girl named Shannon Randall. Now a body has been found in Ga, it is identified as Shannon Randall. The problem is that she has only been dead for a few hours. The young man accused of her murder was executed by the state for the crime.

The shock waves of horror will destroy her father and Dorsey feels she must find out why this terrible misscarriage of justice happened. Not just for her father but for everyone involved. Suddenly, there are two cases, who killed Shannon now, and why was she believed dead by everyone when she disappeared. The young man was convicted on circumstantial evidence, there was no body.

The story unfolds in the place where it started, Hatton SC, where it seems no one wants to talk or find out what really happened.

Do not miss this one.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2012
Too many characters. If you put the book down, it's hard to remember who's who, next time you pick it up.
The writing often feels hasty and not properly checked, with awkward turns of phrase and repetitions.
So, why do I still give this novel 3 stars ? Well, we've all heard the three conditions for a shop to do good business : location, location and location.
For "Last Look", it's plot, plot and plot.
The basic idea is superb, the unraveling of the story suspenseful and the conclusion unexpected and bitter.
There are two morality twists adding flavour to the plot :
One is that family secrets become about as attractive as a flat tire when they, themselves, are deflated. Those who will not divulge these secrets are evil, and encouraging evil.
Two : the persistent hypocrisy of those who pretend to be our spiritual guides.
So, in the end ? YES : an excellent book with that extra dimension that turns a detective story into a real novel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
I like books with intrigue.
The three in this series have a lot of intrigue.
I haven't read any of Mariah Stewart's books until this past week. Couldn't wait to get to the next one.
I hope her other books are as good as these three were.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
I enjoyed Last Look, the first book in Mariah Stewart's "Last" series. I've read her other FBI books and have enjoyed them as well.
Special Agent Andrew Shields, is still reeling from the backlash caused by the scandal his brother, (also an FBI agent) was involved with.
Hoping to give him back some of his self confidence, his boss sends him to Georgia to investigate the death of a prostitute found shot and stabbed to death. The prostitute has been positively identified as Shannon Randall.
Shannon Randall disappeared from her home town of Hatton South Carolina in 1983 when she was 14 years old. All the evidence pointed to 18 year old Eric Beale. Eric was tried, found guilty and sent to prison for Shannon's murder. He was executed eight years later. Now her body has turned up, and there are a ton of questions being asked.
FBI agent Dorsey Collins' father Mat Ranieri, was the agent sent to finalize the investigation into Shannon's "death". He has since retired from the Bureau, and making his living as an expert on crime and criminals. Still riding on the fame of convicting Shannon's murderer. Now he has a lot to answer for.
Dorsey knows she wont be allowed to actually work this case, but she wants in to help in anyway she can, she needs answers and wants to clear her fathers name. She is given permission to shadow Andrew and his investigation.
As Andrew and Dorsey start to ask their questions, it quickly becomes evident, that Shannon's family is not being entirely truthful with them. The police chief at the time was maybe not all he seemed to be and the locals were not as truthful as they could have been when it came to what happened the night Shannon went missing.
I liked the story. And as I've said in other reviews of this author, I love her character development. You really become attached to their lives and their feelings matter. That being said, I have a hard time fitting her books into a genre. There is a crime. And by the end of the book the crime is solved. But I wouldn't really call it a thriller, or a mystery. There is a hint of romance, but again, nothing is ever resolved as far as relationships between the characters. Yet I find myself looking forward to the next book. I do enjoy them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2012
As with all Mariah Stewart's book's it is a reasonable light read which doesn't extend one too much and can be read in short bursts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2011
If you have never read a Mariah Stewart thriller you don't know what you are missing. The plot is believable, the characters seem like real people, and you miss them when the book is over. (But many of them turn up in other books). Be prepared to lose a little sleep if you start the last chapters at bedtime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
This is one of my favorite authors ... this book is in a 3 book series and also the same style as many of her other books. I love that you can follow the same characters thru out the stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
A well written who done it.... good characterization, plot was a bit slow in places but the overall story was a good one. Will read more books by Mariah Steward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
Every book that I have read by Mariah Stewart have been fantastic. She has a way of enticing you to continue reading every line. Wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2013
I'm finding I like Mariah Stewart's writings. They're a bit graphic, but hard to put down. I'll be looking forward to reading more of her books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here