Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 161 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 267 reviews
on March 10, 2007
This wonderful Jerry Lee Lewis live album belongs in the collection of every rock and roller. I've been a Jerry Lee fan since I first heard Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On back in 1958. I've got all of Jerry's rock albums, including the complete Sun Sessions, and the wonderful Bear Family box sets of his Mercury years for the ocassional rock & roll song that would nest like a gem among all the country weepers.

First and only caveat: Jerry looks bad, old -- it shook my wife up. Considering the life he's led, the hell raisin', the drugs, the drinkin', the fighting... Well, next to Keith Richards he's been #2 on the Next Rock Star To Die List since the the 1970s, and he almost did die more than once. And it shows, but Jerry can still play the keys off a piano; by the end of the concert he's rockin' up a storm with the best version of Roll Over Beethoven I've ever heard! That song alone is worth the price of this inexpensive DVD. It's a long concert too, running 1 hour and 42 minutes and some. The bonus features are short and sweet, but who cares with all that great music.

Also, the tributes from Tom Jones through Kid Rock are touching, and sincere. The Killer is the Man! As always, Jerry dominates every collaboration. Only John Fogerty sings a solo and that's on Good Golly Miss Molly, a version that's comparable to Little Richard himself at his best, and is one of the highlights of this great concert DVD.

There are a lot more country weepers than I like, but I found myself entranced by the performances, and the respect and love given by Jerry's peers. The DVD shows excellent picture quality and the sound is great -- a 10 for both! This is not a budget production, like too many of the Killer's shows in the past; first class all the way.

Jerry opens with Great Balls of Fire and it's a little shaky. Things pick up with Chantilly Lace, and End of the Road with Tom Jones. Hadacol Boogie with Buddy Guy just cooks and if I had any complaint it's that they didn't jam for another five minutes! Buddy just shreds on guitar and Jerry's piano playing is really starting to cook.

Chris Isaak and Jerry do a nice version of Over the Rainbow, which Jerry did for Electra back in the 1970s on one of his comeback trails... Chris is obviously touched at being on stage with Jerry Lee and says some very nice things about the Killer. Jerry does one of his better renditions of Rockin' My Life Away with Ron Wood soloing. The backup band is all star and they kick. Ron Wood plays rythmn and lead, as does Kenny Lovelace and Nils Lofgren. Ian Neville plays keyboards, and the drummer is hot! Jerry is startin' to really wail, and does one of the best live versions of Lewis Boogie I've heard.

There's a killer version of What'd I Say with Ivan Neville; it should have been on the album it was so good. Jerry and John Fogerty do a mid-tempo kick-up of the blues standard CC Rider. Kid Rock, who I really did not like on "The Last Man Standing" CD, really impressed me live. They did a version of Little Queenie that Chuck only wishes he could do these days... And, they cooked on Honky Tonk Women; I thought the album version was weak, but it came together live and I really enjoyed it. I'm a big Stones fan so I feel pain when someone messes up one of their classics. Even Ron Wood was taken aback!

The finale consisted of a great acoustic take on That Lucky Old Sun, a kick-out-the-jams version of Roll Over Beethoven and an amazing (Jerry Lee just kept gettin' stronger; he's the Killer, man!) version of Whole Lotta Shakin' Going on. All in all a great concert memento of one of the Top Three 1950's Greatest Rock & Rollers of all time -- the other two being Elvis and Chuck Berry. I'm glad Jerry Lee finally got some of the aclaim he's deserved for the last 50 years, while he is still alive to enjoy it! Hell, he looked ten years younger by the end of the concert --Hats off to Jerry Lee Lewis!!!

Now, maybe "The Last Man Standing" will herald a new era for Jerry Lee Lewis live recordings and we'll see more of his fabulous concerts slip out of the record company vaults -- well, we can hope!

John Carr
22 comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2007
This is a wonderful DVD. Jerry's piano playing is great, the song selections are diverse, from rock to blues to gospel. His and Kid Rock's rendition of Honky Tonk Woman is memorable. I have just one complaint. The echo is up way high on his microphone. It doesn't matter on most of the songs but on his duets with Kris Kristopherson and Merle Haggard you can hardly hear them above Jerry. However, if you go to the Bonus Features and catch his echoless microphone you will hear a great, great rendition of Goodnight Irene with Merle. Buy this DVD. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2006
Five years in the making, Jerry Lee Lewis shows that he is the premier Rock 'n' Roll pioneer. There is no one who has spent his career delivering tough, hard line, and mean music on and off the stage like Jerry Lee. The album comes off just fine. The duets work for the most part, which is amazing because you never know what Lewis is going to do next. He's never sang the same song the same way twice. Just like his music, JERRY LEE LEWIS has lived his life just as he wanted to, even though he paid a very long and high price for that freedom and individualism. And it all comes out in the music: true, hard, free and loose. Fifty years later, Jerry Lee really is the last man standing.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2006
Lots of people were afraid that Jerry Lee Lewis' new record, "Last Man Standing," would be an over-the-hill disappointment -- all too typical of expensively produced geriatric "duet" CDs. Instead, this is the opposite. It is a triumphant piece of work. The duets are magnificent (with Lewis leading all the way), some featuring heart-rending harmonies -- such as "What Made Milwaukee Famous" with Rod Stewart and "Wedding Gown" with Mick Jagger. But the true highlights are the tried-and-true hard rockers, such as "Pink Cadillac" with Bruce Springsteen. Virtually every cut is a masterpiece. Whether one is a Lewis fan or not, this is virtuoso stuff -- and stuff of real historical importance. Lewis has not sounded this great since the '50s, and the Grammy Best-of-Year buzz has already started. In Shakespeare's words, this is a "consummation greatly to be wished. (Jerry might well state that wish in different terms.)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2006
Jerry Lee will knock you out with this cd. His smoke and whiskey cured voice has not lost a thing. His piano playing sounds perhaps better than it has since the 1950s. The selection of songs fits well and the guest stars add to the performance without distracting, as sometimes happens on duets. Although recorded in studio, this album has the engergy of a live performance. If you like Jerry Lee's past rock and country music, you will love this album.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2012
I've seen reviewers complain that the DVD for this CD wasn't good, because Jerry Lee didn't move like he used to. I never saw the DVD, but I was listening to the CD when I read it and had to roll my eyes.

Others complained because these were duets and cover songs, and still others recounted the myth that Elvis, Jerry Lee, Carl, and Johnny were recorded singing rock'n'roll as a quartet at Sun records. They were all there recording, as was Roy and Charlie Rich, and I'm sure some of them jammed together occasionally, but the recordings released by Sun after Elvis' featured an Elvis impersonator dubbed into older recordings of the individuals in the "quartet". In the famous photo, the one this CD's title references was of the guys singing gospel music.

Jerry Lee Lewis is 76 years old, and his sound is as solid as it ever was, and I was proud to see other "legends" of the industry standing in line to sing with him. This album rocks. I'm thankful someone made it happen, and I'm inspired that Jerry Lee is still the Jerry Lee I remember.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2006
This album was a guilty pleasure for me. Yes I was a big Jerry Lee Lewis fan a hundred years ago. The man was a flat out magician on the piano. That's magician with an `a', not musician with a `u'. To this day, I've never heard anyone make magic on a piano as this country bumkin from Louisiana can and still does. There never was anything subtle about his magic. It wasn't shy. It came right out there and slaps you across the faces and says wake up and Lewis hasn't lost a beat. Amazingly, he may even be better.

That's right Jerry Lee, the wild man of the fifties and sixties still has the magic and for his Last Man Standing album he brought along a bevy of guest performers. A virtual Who's Who of blues, rock, rockabilly, country and metal performers from through the ages. Everyone from BB King to Kid Rock.

The title - The Last Man Standing is a reference to the only living member of an early Sun Records photo featured prominently in the sweet digipack case. In the photo were future Sun Record stars, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins, Elvis Presley and Jerry Lee.

Da Music

It's impossible to sit still. It's impossible to not move your hips, to tap you foot, to bob your head when listening to most of these songs. Many of the songs belong or were recorded by the guest musicians and Jerry Lee manages to put his special twist on the songs. Jerry tends to steal the show and in some cases, you have trouble telling the guests are performing. The songs range from up-tempo boogie woogie, to rock and roll, to low down blues, to rockabilly, to maudlin country ballads.

Song Track List
1. Rock And Roll (Jimmy Page) 2:14
2. Before The Night Is Over (B.B. King) 3:39
3. Pink Cadillac (Bruce Springsteen) 3:55
4. Evening Gown (Mick Jagger Ronnie Wood) 3:57
5. You Don't Have To (Neil Young) 4:00
6. Twilight (Robbie Robertson) 2:48
7. Travelin' Band (John Fogerty) 2:01
8. That Kind Of Fool (Keith Richards) 4:14
9. Sweet Little 16 (Ringo Starr) 3:04
10. Just A Bummin' Around (Merle Haggard) 2:43
11. Honky Tonk Woman (Kid Rock) 2:21
12. What's Made Milwakuee Famous (Rod Stewart) 2:39
13. Don't Be Ashamed Of Your Age (George Jones) 1:59
14. A Couple More Years (Willie Nelson) 5:13
15. Old Glory (Tobe Keith) 2:05
16. Trouble In Mind (Eric Clapton) 3:39
17. I Saw Her Standing There (Little Richard) 2:21
18. Lost Highway (Delaney Bramlett) 2:59
19. Hadacohl Boogie (Buddy Guy) 3:18
20. The Irish Heart Beat (Don Henley) 4:12
21. The Pilgrim Ch.33 (Kris Kristofferson) 3:00

Total time 66:43

Summation
Production - Excellent
Vocals - Excellent
Music - Excellent
Composition - Very good
Lyrics - Very good
Packaging - Excellent

Conclusion

The packaging is excellent consisting of a digipack case with a sixteen page booklet full of photos, lyrics and a bio. The cover of course contains a standing Jerry Lee Lewis playing his signature flaming grand piano.

Even at his advanced age - he must be at least seventy - It must have been quite a sobering for his guests, many of which were or are megastars, to work with Lewis. It must been humbling experience for these stars of music with millions and millions of loyal fans and records sold to receive a lesson. A lesson in Showmanship!

Final rating 4.8
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2006
Jerry Lee Lewis deserves a monument for what he has done in music and

for what he's still able to do. At 71 he still rocks and plays like

back in 1957. Once he was called the fastest piano player in the world

and I'm sure after listening to this new record (2006) that he still

holds that record. I never expected him to be so rockin' crazy good as

he still is. OK this is offered as a duets album, that means Jerry with

a lot of big stars together singing and playing new and old songs. I

wonder what happened, really, because on almost all duets he outsings

and outplays the star that is supposed to sing with him. Jerry still

holds a powerful voice - it's the one you hear all the time - and still

plays the piano like hell so sometimes it seems this is a sole act by

Jerry. At the end of "Sweet Little Sixteen" you hear Ringo Starr saying

"Jerry, your lungs have more capacity than mine". By the way,this Chuck

Berry classic is one of the best interpretations of the album. There's a lot of

Country and good old Rock & Roll, some great blues songs with B.B. King and

Eric Clapton and a "savage" boogie woogie with Buddy guy which is the most

incredible piece of music on the Last Man Standing CD. Here he definitely shows he's

still the fastest and best piano player around in all kinds of styles. An incredible achievement indeed!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2007
You may be surprised at a creaky, chubby Jerry Lee, but at least you know he's no longer doing speed, even though he still plays like it. This terrific show has an all-star backup band featuring Ronnie Wood and lovely backup singers in a beautiful setting. Unlike most tribute shows, the interviews are brief and pertinent. (No "What did Woopie Goldberg think about the Beatles?" type questions.) Nice brief history of Jerry Lee is interwoven into the show, which is excellent on every song. Sound is very good although we lose one of Ronnie's solos. The hits are here, along with some lovely weepers. You can't go wrong on this one, I am so happy they did this show. Money well spent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2007
About 50 years ago, Sun Records was at the forefront of the beginning of rock and roll, with performers like Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis. The title of this CD refers to the fact that Jerry Lee Lewis is "the last man standing" among these Sun Records legends, which is pretty amazing when you consider that he probably led the wildest life of all of them. For this album, the 70something year old Killer performs duets with a bunch of other record stars. "Duets" is not quite an accurate description, though, since some guests just perform instruments and some guests sing what amounts to background vocals. But the real star here is of course Jerry Lee himself, who proves that he can still sing and pump the piano better than just about anybody. He handles rock, country and blues songs equally well. The duet partners were probably added to make the album more commercial, but they do manage to add something to the mix, since it gives the album more variety. I suspect that their presence also pushed Jerry Lee to do his best, since he wouldn't want to be outshined on his own album. The Killer can frequently be heard joking around with them, which adds to the fun of the album. This is probably the greatest rock and roll album every recorded by a senior citizen, and it puts to rest the lie that rock music is strictly for young people.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here