Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 303 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 355 reviews
on March 11, 2017
I've always loved intriguing stories, and found this one had both an exciting plot and compelling characters. The series was well written, emotionally colorful, and for the most part, well acted. The characters were believable (I was in the armed forces). Although the series ended in 13 episodes, it concluded well enough to have been a satisfying miniseries. If the above first sentence suites your taste, you may really enjoy this series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
First, a confession: I adore Andre Braugher, no matter what show he's in. That's why I bought the series to begin with. And Braugher does not disappoint in Last Resort. He portrays the tough, principled Captain Chaplin to perfection, including his emotional side. He is also supported by a strong cast.
The tense action in the series is suited to a binge viewing -- you can't wait to see what happens next. Admittedly, you have to suspend judgment to believe that the captain of a nuclear sub could hold the USA hostage, but his cause is just and the way everything plays out is highly entertaining. I would recommend the series to anyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
This is a well written and well acted show which deals with a fictitious political and military scenario, but while it may be fictitious it is totally believable. Andre Braugher, who plays Captain Marcus Chaplin, give an amazing performance and is at once believable and likable. He exuded a captain-like presence on screen and when faced with the dilemmas and decisions that had to be dealt with both on and off a nuclear sub. This is an ensemble cast which works well together in all aspects. When the show aired on ABC it was up against some pretty stiff competition in its time slot, thus it lasted only one season. If it had been given a chance I believe it could have lasted much longer. That being said, if you happen to "binge watch" a show (which I am prone to do) you might find this one a great find--one season vs say 5+. The fact that it is only one season and that it goes to its conclusion while staying true to its essence is appealing. Kudos to Scott Speedman, Daisy Betts, Camille De Pazzis, Dichen Lachman, Daniel Lissing, Sahr Ngaujah and the rest of this amazing cast for a job well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
I purchased this series on Amazon video after seeing it for free on Hulu. I also bought this DVD for back up! The series was so well done - so well written - that I guess it was no match for popular crap TV like RHONY. if you're a fan of apocalypse without zombies, this series is for you. Andre Braugher is an amazing actor and his performance as the flawed sub commander is unparalleled. Enjoy but WARNING - you will binge watch!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
This was a very good show and I hate that it was cancelled. I think they could of gotten at least two seasons out of it. But the way it closed was okay since they knew it was not going to be renewed. Now I'm enjoying The Last Ship.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
Don't know why this show was cancelled after just one season. I don't know how accurate it is to the actual U.S. Navy experience, since I was Army. But if I had seen it when I was joining, I might have given the Navy a try. If they were half as exciting as that show made it out to be. I really enjoyed it and being a female that may count for something. Normally shows aimed at men like that bore the crap out of me. Lots of adventure and struggle. Strong women characters as well as some bad@$$ men. Exciting intrigues, especially with the Captain. And the submarine is the best piece of machinery since the Red October.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
A series that has such commanding performances, rich characters that even in one season you are invested in the characters. Andre Braugher is the captain of the crew and heart of this show. Scott Speedman as his XO is beautifully played as the loyal friend whose loyalty is tested by the circumstances. Daisy Betts (who I discovered through the relatively unknown and highly engaging "Persons Unknown") has the right stuff to be the first officer to Andre Braugher's captain. Robert Patrick as the COB ( I remember him from the 1991 Terminator II) provides the tension as the senior enlisted Master Chief leading the crew. Jessica Camacho as Cortez has a stellar performance as the crew member (*spoiler*) with a secret and Camille de Pazzis is beautifully played as the scientist caught between her love of the island and the unexpected intrusion of this rogue sub commander and crew (as well as the unwanted attention of the explosive Sahr Ngaujah's Julien Serrat as island kingpin). Dichen Lachman and Autumn Reeser all provide worthy supporting roles on the island and back in DC, respectively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
This show exceptional. It deals with real issues; of course it's all dramatized and made into an entertaining story, but what it deals with is the idea that there are conspiracies and fallible people in government. It does so in a way few shows do it seems because it uses real countries and possible, if far-fetched, scenarios. Military people are given orders they are required to obey, but what if those orders involved something that is not only clearly morally wrong, but only ordered because of a conspiracy based on lies? What would happen if someone were forced into a "lesser of two evils" scenario that made them into an enemy of the country they loved? On the one hand I can't believe this show only lasted one season since it is so awesome, and the ending does seem a little forced, but on the other hand this story does lend itself better to a finite show instead of leaving open the possibilities for things to go off track. LOVED IT!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
Unfortunately this very well done show is over for good! We should have have known that a show that started out with a US Nuclear Submarine shooting a warhead at another nation wouldn't be around for a season 2! I mean really where do you go from there?
They managed to keep up pretty good story lines each week that were very interesting and worthwhile watching. I really hate to see it end it is one of the few good shows on with good scrips and story lines each week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
Time constraints being what they are, a forty five minute episode doesn't allow too much for character development. Look beyond that, though and elements of plot for this show are developed at a level which invite comparison with the various types of gasoline you can buy at the pump. There's regular, unleaded and then there's super. Plot wise, last resort seems to consistently be of the super variety, the octane of which is of the highest combustibility. Starting from the opening scene of a damaged Seal crew racing across the "Indian" ocean in search of rescue, only to be unwittingly pushed up out the water by the rescuing nuclear submarine, the plot quickens from there. The writers found a thread allowing consistently solid plot developments, each carefully calculated to escalate the tension further, while maintaining the integrity of the plot. Sort of like the most combustible of gasoline varieties with a high flammability point, allowing consistent, powerful explosions to provide the best mileage. As for the acting, the directors on the show betray an intimate knowledge of stagecraft, rarely allowing pat allusions to degrade the nobility of the emotions the characters are seeking to portray. All in all some of the most invigorating and dynamic tv out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse