Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Save $20 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno

Last Resort
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

VINE VOICEon November 27, 2006
Amazon shows the picture of the 2 disc set, with the two sets of tracklistings on the back, but doesn't list it as the limited edition, or say it's 2 discs, so the initial release which came with the bonus disc may have sold through. I would make sure you seek out the limited with the second disc, or you are missing out on a full repoertoire of Trentemøller tracks.

The first disc is "The Album" and contains mostly tracks that stray from what we are used to from Trentemøller: mindwarping minimal. I'd say there are 3 that fans will warm up to right away, Nightwalker, Chameleon, and Into the Trees (Serenetti Part 3), as these closely resemble the minimal vibes from his previous work. Into the Trees continuing the variant melody of what was Serenetti and Serenetti Part 2. What we do find here is a solid blend of abstract and ambient minimal, expertly crafted into smooth scapes of electronica, that really requires the listener to pay attention. It certainly takes more than one listen, as upon my first play of the album, I was a little less than impressed, but quickly hooked by the 2nd time around. There is a lot more emotion and beauty in these tracks, which isn't necessarily found in the casual listens you could escape with in his other work. His tech house monster riffs required no part on the listener's mind, to fully engulf that body shaking sound, however you have to forget all that and finely tune your senses to this album.

Of course, this can all be chucked out the window with the second disc, as it's back to the churning tech house and minimal which made us all flock to Trentemøller in the first place. It contains nearly all of his previous singles released on the Audiomatique and Poker Flat labels. Sadly, one of my favorites was left off, Minimal Fox. Still, this 11 track disc, amazingly doubles as a 'best of' and a back catalogue, as nearly all his tracks end up becoming high end representations of the genre. Add on two excellent vocal versions of two album tracks, and you have a perfect bonus disc from start to finish.

The album itself is near perfect, except for the one track that annoyed me when it was first released, and much to my dismay, ended up on the album in the number 2 spot. It's called Vamp and was initially released on his Nam Nam E.P. along with Nam Nam and Killer Kat (both found on the second disc). It is a bass guitar chugging track that in my mind, goes nowhere. Barring that, from the epic first track which seems to just hit it's peak near the 7 minute mark, to the lullaby dreamscape of his final track, Miss You, it's apparent that we've just listened to a monumental electronic album by a Danish master of melodies. His new downtempo and ambient works require a little more warming up to, but once you're there, it's a blanket of music you just can't take off.
55 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon September 10, 2009
I paid what I deem way to much and well over my price point for a single CD but it was well worth every penny. This is album is an electronica masterpiece! It's engineered so well with 'tickle your ears' precision and mixing in the spirit of Francois Kevorkian (think Kraftwerk's Electric Café and Depeche Mode Violator).

This album has an electronic ambient quietness for lack of a better word (the audio level on this CD is great, loud) that is a total musical meditation and sonic exploration. It is highly listenable repeated times and is well worth buying!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2017
Amazing album, great atmospheres and good mix of mental and beat sounds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2008
The textures and beauty of this music transports you beyond all emotions and brings you closer to the meaning of life...listen to this album and enjoy the pantomine behind the scenes....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2007
I hate to be negative, but this purchase was a major letdown. I listened to samples, read these reviews, bought the (2CD) version on iTunes (after almost buying the 1CD version in an SF CD store today!). I frankly expected something a little more mysterious, majestic, deep, and warm. This reminds me of early Atari background music (think Tank). Well produced and programmed, but simply nothing to latch on to. And I'm a big fan of electronica and ambient! CD 1 is almost completely devoid of life, it's so cold...! It's like music for your Playstation to listen to...! CD 2 has a few good songs, with vocals...I chose this purchase instead of BT's new one, which was a mistake, unfortunately...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2008
The second CD contains only 5 tracks and they seem to be unique to this release. These songs are remixes of the remixes on the original 2-CD version.

Other than being slightly disappointed in the second CD, knowing what the original contained,I am never the less satisfied with my purchase.

What can I say? This is just one of those CDs that you pop in and never skip a song, no matter how many times you have listened to it prior. If you are at all a fan of the genre, this album is a must.

If instrumental is your thing, grab the regular version, but the lyrical versions of Moan and Always Something Better are just brilliant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2007
What can I say? This really is a beautiful creation. Not heavy enough to be labelled techno, not bleepy enough to be labelled minimal, Trentemoller's debut album takes the listener on a journey through electronica's airiest corners. An album to which we should all while away the last hour of a party some night, sitting on a bean bag, staring at the ceiling.... The deft touches of this Danish master will bring a smile to all faces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2013
These tracks sound incredible on vinyl. Only downside is that it didn't come with an MP3 d/l card. Definitely recommend picking this up, though. Great jams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2014
Excellent blend of minimal and electronic styles. I'm a major fan of Underworld and Orbital, and found this to be a nice addition to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2007
Although "house" driven, the experimental nature of this album is what suspends it above the cliche often found in this genre. One gets the sense that there is true inspiration at the heart of this work. This is an artist to watch closely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here