Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by SourceMedia and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Latitude37 has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, June 10, 2014
"Please retry"
$10.97 $18.60

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.
$10.97 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by SourceMedia and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Passamezzo antico, improvisation for ensemble (after Diego Ortiz)
  2. Toccata
  3. Folias, improvisation for ensemble (after Alessandro Piccinini)
  4. Canzon a due, canto e basso
  5. Sonata Seconda for soprano recorder, viola da gamba & lute (from Sonata à 1, 2, 3)
  6. Recercada No 8
  7. La Romanesca, for violin & continuo, Op. 3
  8. Toccata for organ No. 3 in tone 2 (Toccate d'intavolatura d'organo, Book 1)
  9. Amarilli mia bella, improvisation for ensemble (after Giulio Caccini)
  10. Non ha'l ciel cotanti lumi, for voice & continuo
  11. La monica, improvisation for ensemble (after Fabritio Caroso)
  12. In partitura, il primo libro della canzoni ... No.38, canto alto tenore, e basso, 'Toccata per Spinettina, e Violino'
  13. Io son ferito ahi lasso, a 5 di Giannetto
  14. Sonata seconda, for 2 instruments & continuo No. 2 in F major (Sonata Concertate I/2)
  15. Passacaglia, improvisation for ensemble (after Johannes Hieronymus Kapsberger)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 10, 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: ABC Classics
  • ASIN: B005CRRJP0
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,039,852 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Latitude 37 is a trio of young virtuoso instrumentalists, supported on some tracks of this CD by assorted virtuoso friends, including one astounding deep and growly buzzing instrument called a racket -- really -- a grandfather of a bassoon. (Think, tuned raspberries, or Bronz cheers.)

The short sample snippets available here do not do the CD justice, as most of the samples are quiet and mournful, whereas these are just the introductory bars of a fascinating collection of early European pieces.
The music on this debut CD is from an era when the published music, the dots and sticks printed on paper, was an invitation for skilled performers to, for example, take a bass line, and a melody, and improvise on the bass, and decorate the melody with runs, trills, flourishes, and so on: very jazzy, without ever departing from the spirit of the era (NOT like Jaques Loussier, riffing in modern ways on Bach, for example).
In fact, if the sleeve notes did not admit to much of the music being improvised (as was the custom of that musical period in history), you would swear you were hearing virtuoso WRITING.
In fact this is virtuoso PLAYING!
The result is extremely catchy.
These are very skilled performers!
As several of the pieces are passacaglias, that is, are variations on a fixed bass theme or harmony, the performers have the licence to weave their own variations.
This is as good as anything by Jordi Saval and friends, for example, or the Boston Consort, to offer a comparison with the best of this sort of recreation of early music.
Very highly recommended, and we hope for much more by this group!
John Gough -- Deakin University --
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category