Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
160
Le Freak: An Upside Down Story of Family, Disco, and Destiny
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$21.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 3, 2014
I didn't pick this up (well technically downloaded) expecting Tolstoy but I was pleasantly surprised by how well this autobiography carried across Nile's down to earth personality, intelligence and way of articulating interesting stories.

It is an easy read, entertaining but more importantly an enlightening look into a very talented mind and highly gifted human being. For anyone who grew up with Chic, Madonna's Like a Virgin, David Bowie's Let's Dance or any of the other timeless albums Nile produced in the last 30 years you'll find something of interest.

For me what elevated this autobiography from all other rock biographies was the unique upbringing that Nile had, his family life and often the most extreme circumstances may not look extreme when you're in them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Not quite half way through and find it very well done so far. I wish I had more time to stay with it because it is very interesting, at least to me. To hear the coming up's of a musical genius is fascinating to me anyway. Chapters go by quick and it isn't terribly long. I imagine as this gets into his music career it will deliver some good stories. I just hope there are enough pages to satisfy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2017
just started reading love Nile Rodgers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 25, 2012
I ordered this book to learn more about his life in the time leading up to Chic's success, his feelings on its legacy (I.e.: how that "Good Times" bass line has been copied, mimicked and revered through the years), and to learn more about how he came to produce best-selling albums for artists like Madonna, David Bowie, Duran Duran and Diana Ross. What I didn't expect was such amazing stories of his colorful, action-filled, bi-coastal upbringing. Wow! You could make an exciting biopic just based on his life PRIOR to all that success.

Rodgers goes into great depth recounting the processes of recording Bowie's "Let's Dance" and Madonna's "Like A Virgin" records, but I wish he would have spent more time on some of his other producing gigs. Perhaps that stuff was deemed less-interesting by the editors and left on the cutting-room floor, so to speak. He did a great job of describing what was going on in his life as he was involved in those projects, so that was cool. Overall, this is a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2014
I really enjoyed Niles story. What an interesting man whose life growing up was just as unique as his success in the 70's till now as a leading artist, contributor and producer of music that defined not just one but many eras that have influenced generations.
I particularly enjoyed his views on life, his cause and effect philosophy, commentary on racism in the industry and other cultural influences both for his life lived but also the times and places he experienced.
I reckon Niles could write a second book detailing more of his life adventure, including his more recent success .... His life in the 50's and 60's Bohemia of New York could fill a novel or two alone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2015
The family cohesion, love, dysfunction , tragedy and humor are a sincere portrayal from this readers perspective. Niles development and integrity in spite of a drug fueled society from huffing glue and dropping acid with Timothy Leary to decades of cocaine fueled alcoholism. The disease of addiction very honestly portrayed as a individual, familial and societal disease. Remarkable account of musical influence a truly unsung hero of all music from 1960's to present day.. Keep it coming Nile and thank you for so much...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 25, 2017
I would say this is in the same league as Glenn Hughes biography written the the man himself.

Not something worth reading 100 times - but the very first is enough to uplift your spirit if you are experiencing hard times or depression.

Just buy it and keep for your rainy day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2013
Nile's autobiography is a story about one of the most influential and talented guitarists of the 20th and 21st centuries. I laughed and I cried. It's a very good and easy read, and you can tell that Nile wrote it from the heart. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this autobiography and recommend it to anyone and everyone. Not everyone has lived a life like Nile Rodgers, but anyone can relate to his struggles and hopefully learn something from the fact that this man never gives up and that he can always find positivity in life, no matter what.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 21, 2017
I'd love to meet this guy. Couldn;'t pt it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2017
One of the most honest memoirs I've ever read - and so interesting! A brilliant musician!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse