Bubble Witch Saga 3 BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Le Mans [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$16.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 27, 2017
What a great movie. Not a great script but if you love fast cars and races like Le Mans, you will love this one. The movie focuses on the 1970 race, which featured big Porsche 917s (soon to be banned) and Ferraris, Matras, Fords etc. A nice record of the golden age of endurance racing with state of the art camera work for then (no fake computer work here). Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
This movie is one of my favorite car/racing movies ever. I first saw it when my dad bought the DVD and we watched it together on our small analog home TV. Unfortunately, we lost the DVD and this is one of our favorite movies! So, for Christmas, I bought this Blu-ray version of the movie for my dad to replace it.

All I can say is WOW! The colors are much more defined in this version and the film quality is amazing! I thought it was great before; now it's astounding! I love this film that much more now.

If you want a review of the movie itself, I suggest heading on over to IMDB and reading what people over there have to say. Regardless of plot, character development, or whatever, I still love this movie and my dad and I will probably watch it once a year around Christmas to get us satisfied until the real Le Mans comes around in June.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
Le Mans is a great documentary of the race, and gives you an incredible feel for what it's like to be in a vintage Le Mans prototype.

As a movie... well, it's a stretch to call it a "plot" so much as "an excuse to show awesome race footage." If you're not into watching race footage, you'll probably be bored.

The Blu-ray edition is about as good as it will get. It's not going to look like a modern film; the 35mm film stock has a lot of grain, and bolting a 35mm camera to a Le Mans prototype with late-1960s technology and then driving it around a track at 140MPH means vibration will cause a certain amount of blur. For a soundtrack of its age, the 7.1 remix is remarkably clean and crisp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
This is a movie about Le Mans, and a good one. It is not a love story, or action drama that wastes time on psychological profiling for the benefit of the weak minded. The race lasts for 24 hours. It is a test of endurance for driver, machine, and crews. Strategy by owners and managers is illustrated, but only as part of the overall story. The filming is outstanding. Weather conditions, crowd responses are included in a way that adds to the reality of the experience. In my opinion, Steve McQueen is the only actor that could portray a driver at Le Mans. Whatever opinions one may have of his character, Steve was an experienced race driver. He is well aware of the hazards in that sport and portrays the drivers accurately.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2017
One of the best classic racing movies of all time. It not only captured the European culture and lifestyles of racing in general, but also showed the beauty and intensity of motor racing.If you've ever raced any form of motor sports in your life, you can relate to the atmosphere of racing and being in the zone, that was clearly evident in this great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2017
It's a classic! Not much by way of vocal dialog - the cinematography is the narrative. Some intense high-speed footage. Actual sounds from each specific car was used. If you love racing, you'll love this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
I took my dad to see this during first run. He could not handle the cinematography, lost his lunch. I did not mean for that to happen, but it did ... and he had commanded tanks in combat.
Point is, this is one of the most outstanding race car movies ever made. That it is a Steve McQueen movie is beyond belief. What keeps it from being a five-star movie is that it has a b.s. love story in it. As a purely cars film, oh my word. Even beyond 40 years it remains outstanding ... and then consider that in the day the Porsche 917 was a very expensive, beyond the average guy, car. McQueen's 911 was sorta within reach. And then there is the fact the 917 was so dominating they outlawed it ... sorta like what happened to the Ford GT-40s.
These days the actual 917 auctions for millions ... and McQueen's 911? It auctions in multiples of what the 917 cost in the first place.
This movie is so cool. Steve McQueen was so way far beyond cool. He knew what he was doing, and he did it better than anyone could EVER. Only guy to know cool as much as he is Clint Eastwood. Don't even get me started. But cool started with McQueen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
Remember the car chase in Bullitt? Of course, anyone who has ever seen that movie can picture it in their minds, no matter how long it's been since you last saw it. Remember the movie's plot? Apart from the chase scene, it was a completely unmemorable film, with a weak plot of sorts that kinda drifted into a few minutes of edge-of-the-seat excitement, then faded off into the end (which looked like they just got tired of it so they quit and called it good.)

That's this movie. The driving is good. There are two crashes of note that happen within a minute or so of each other. That covers the high points. Plot? Nothing to speak of. Dialog? Some of the foreign drivers' accents are so good you can't figure out what they're saying, but it probably doesn't matter anyway. I watched it a few days ago, but I'd have to go back and look at the case notes to find out what this was about. It's just not worth it to me to walk over to the living room to remind myself.

Steve McQueen was offered the lead in the 1966 film "Grand Prix", but the guy who delivered the offer rubbed Steve the wrong way, so he turned it down. Bad choice!! James Garner took the role and that turned out to be one of the greatest racing movies ever made. McQueen decided to make "Le Mans" as a way to get back at them for doing it so well without him. There are better reasons, like maybe you have rights to a story that needs to be told? This wasn't the one. It only looks worse by contrast.

Pass on this one, get "Grand Prix", and you'll never regret it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2017
Excellent movie, unlike the movies today where there are endless remakes, or chapters like "fast and furious". Hollyweird needs to get a grip on real life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
With many shots of the race, and even some filmed from a car in the actual Le Mans race, this movie is the "Real Thing." Drawing on his own experience driving as a competitor in the le Mans race, Steve McQueen the actor and producer captured the feel of racing as no one else ever has. If you are looking for a plot, this movie has one... sort of... Granted the plot is a little thin. It's just enough to entertain non racing fans who came to watch the King of Kool in his latest film. The Hell with the plot, this movie is about Auto Racing! If you don't know racing, this film can give you a taste of what it's like. If you do know racing, this film will stimulate those feelings you normally feel only at the track. Now more than 40 years old, La Mans does not feel even the least dated. The cars are the real thing, The drivers are the real thing, and the racing is as real as you will ever see on screen. This DVD release restores a number of scenes cut from the earlier VHS release and best of all restores the wide screen format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse