Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 167 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 304 reviews
on September 8, 2015
The Edwardian return to the League of Extraordinary Gentle is heavy on atmosphere and on characters who have profounds effects, but are ultimately incidental to the comic arc. Jinni Nemo's story line involves a somewhat cliched arc turning in the Private Jenny of the "Three Penny Opera", and the background story around Hebbo (who is an obvious incarnation of Aleister Crowley) begins in a fairly obvious manner. The League is much more sedate and, frankly, ineffective compared to its earlier incarnation with more obviously brutal personalities like Hyde and Griffin. Mina's tracing of Mac the Knife is interesting and states true to the idea that she is more or less the only truly useful member of the League. This story seems to more ground work for the two issues, but the it is stylistically very interesting. O'Neill's art is sardonic with just enough hints of the period to carry the book. Moore's critique of the personalities in pulps continue, but in this more obscure volume it seems to just make the adventures of the league that reported off-page seem unlikely. Those critiques aside, this is still a very interesting comic and better than most that gets released, but it doesn't seem to have same pull as some of Moore's other works on the topic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
In many ways, this feels like the League is running out of steam. Setting the story as an apocalypse in contemporary times, the plot device used to separate Mina from the Orlando and Quartermain does not seem to really work. Quartermain's return to narcotics use is prompted largely off-the-page. Finally, the dues ex machina and the Habbo's anti-christ are profoundly disappointing. The League just seemed to work out of steam and actually make less and less sense in the context of itself. The characters outside of Orlando, Allan Quartermain, and Mina Harker seem more tangential. Even the critique of the pulp settings and the British empire seem to fade into a commentary on Aeons that seems like weak-tea Thelema.

A frustrating book by Moore is given, and Moore's bombs are still better than many comic writer's main runs, but this is a very frustrating book. The contemporary setting does not do much for O'Neil's art as he has less to work with outside of fairly conventional comic art. After 1969 Century book picked the run up a bit, this seems to let it down. IT does mirror some of the New Wave Science Fiction in its concern for flawed characters, but even that length of the comic book really doesn't have time to explore.

Hopefully, few League books will have more to say. This feels like Moore wrote himself into an arc that he didn't to which he did not really enjoy the inevitable outcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
This graphic novel did not translate very well to e-book, in large part because so many pages contained page-wide cells that could not easily be separated for enlarged viewing. My bifocals were barely up to the task of reading the dialogue ballons.

Yes, I am that old.

Despite that, I enjoyed the book. The story and artwork were good, just painful to view.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
Alan Moore begins his Century series in 1910, and the League, while not what it once was, is still a powerful organization of the British Government. They investigate murders and a shadowy cult they believe is planning a global catastrophe.

The highlight of 1910 is the coming-of-age tale of Janni Dakkar. Seeing her evolution as a character was a thrill. In addition to her, Moore has written a ton of music into this novel through his side-characters that do a good job of illustrating the themes of the novel, though they can be a bit heavy-handed. And while the literary references have started to get more obscure, they're still fairly recognizable.

The main problem with 1910 is that it's too short. And I don't just mean that as 'I wanted it to go on forever'. I mean it as 'Moore rushes through several plot points too fast for them to be satisfying'.

Like Watchmen and the other League novels, Moore ended this story with a companion piece called 'Minions of the Moon'. This piece provides plenty of interesting back story on the characters, along with it's own worthwhile League Adventure in it's own right. Unfortunately, Moore decided to write it at a Nathaniel Hawthorne level of overly-complicated-and-pretentious writing. Still I wouldn't recommend that you skip it.

All in all, I thought this book was enjoyable and worth the money, but they were downhill afterwards, so if you don't like this one, don't bother with 1969 and 2009.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
Alan Moore finishes the LOEG for now. They find the bad guy, but rather than win, a more powerful character comes along. As you read, it's evident that Moore didn't like Harry Potter.

The first volume in this series was good. It sets up the story, leaving room for sequels in the hunt for Haddo, the Anti Christ. 1969, rather than being much of a sequel was more of a parody of 1960s sexual revolution. 2009 picks the story up again, we get a story largely settled on Orlando, and a conclusion that doesn't make much sense.

Don't get me wrong, this is much better than 1969 in the trilogy of this story. But it still is missing whatever that intangible is that made the first two LOEG story lines so good. For me, I think Allan Moores heroes are just best in the 1900s. But it's Moore so if he releases further stories, I know I'll buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
This is my first stab at reading a graphic novel (I'm considering using it for a class I teach but wanted to see what it was like). I found it easy to read, enjoyable, and stimulating as a NeoVictorian novel. As a newbie, I didn't know all the conventions and sometimes didn't know how to interpret the pictures, but overall I enjoyed it--and I think my students would love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
As of late the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen has been seeming more and more aimless. After beginning strong and building a great set of characters, only to tear that team down and build up a great, mostly new group in the next book the survivors seem worn out and faded. Most everything that made the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen unique has been eliminated. True, everything is still based around cultural references as before, only now we are getting references to 'Harry Potter' and 'Burn Notice' instead of Jekyll & Hyde and Captain Nemo.

The story is what truly seems lacking, it seems as though Alan Moore is going through the motions without creating the interesting plot twists that usually characterize his work. We know the villain is coming throughout the book and then, just in time, he arrives, just as the surviving members of the team have reconciled to battle him. There are no surprises and no substantial character development. The characters just come together and inertia takes over. Apparently there will be more LoEG, if it shows up I hope it takes a more inventive turn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 26, 2009
I have a theory about The League of Extraordinary Gentleman: The Black Dossier. My understanding is that it was the last Alan Moore book published by DC Comics (under its subsidiary Wildstorm) and my suspicion is that this was Mr. Moore's revenge on a publisher to which he held no great love. Looking at the reviews on Amazon `The Black Dossier' is either a literary masterpiece or an unreadable mess. I side with the later crowd. 1910 on the other hand is published by Top Shelf Comics which is completely independent of any major publisher so I was hoping the volume III might return the League to its roots.

1910 is far better than the Black Dossier but still comes up short. Somehow I think that Alan Moore is missing what made the original League so popular. For me it was fascinating to see popular literary characters brought together to form a super group and in many cases the characters contained exceptional abilities that today would be termed super powers. In the end the group fought each other even more than they fought external foes. In particular Hawley Griffin (The Invisible Man) and Mr. Hyde prove to be completely uncontrollable. The new team includes Carnacki the Ghost Hunter and A.J. Raffles the Gentleman Thief. What? You've never heard of Carnacki and Raffles? Join 99% of the public. Not only are the new members FAR more obscure they are also dull as dishwater. The interleague squabbling consists mainly of the semi-immortal, gender shifting Orlando from The Black Dossier being so annoying that the other members want to slap him.

If nothing else The League of Extraordinary Gentleman may inspire readers to learn more about the literary references in the stories. I ended up hitting Wikipedia for Carnacki and A.J. Raffles but I have to confess found them kind of boring and didn't investigate deeply. There certainly is no lack of characters from the early 1900's that Moore could have used so I'd be curious as to how he made these choices.

When Alan Moore is at the top of his game he is the best comic writer ever and when he's off he's still really good (Black Dossier being the one exception). This is a really good book but it's not a great book and it pales in comparison to volumes one and two. I'll definitely get the next volume when it comes out but I won't be on pins and needles waiting.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen really deserved a better finale than this. Fan's will feel that they HAVE to purchase the last (I assume) in the series just to have the complete set, but seriously, don't bother. It's completely vapid. Maybe this is some sort of symbolic FU to the modern age. Kind of like a later Sex Pistols concert - the joke is on you, the consumer. The 2 stars was out of sheer loyalty to Alan Moore and his incredible body of work. Maybe the old guy has lost it. The whole thing just smacks either of lack of inspiration or lack of effort. Not to worry. The man has a huge backlog of works of sheer genius that I can draw on for comfort.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
Alan Moore. Kevin O'Neill.......did I mention Alan Moore?
If you like Alan Moore ( and who dosnt?) and you havnt read this - YOU NEED TOO. If you don't know who Alan Moore is and you haven't read this - YOU NEED TOO! Now this is quite a different story then the movie (full disclosure: I actually thought the movie had some cool stuff going for it, right?) but its GOOD! and O'Neills style fits Moore groove perfectly! My advice: Spend the extra money and get it hardbound. This ones a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse