Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon counterpart counterpart counterpart  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

  • Customer Reviews



on August 28, 2016
My 2 years toddler Begin to write with this together, its amazing! I just attach it with velcro, because he was confusing himself upside down
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 24, 2016
I bought this for my 2 year old grandson, and at first he used the stylus cord to drag the device along the ground. Apparently, he wasn't quite ready to learn his alphabet or numbers.

Now that he's approaching 2.5 years old, he's suddenly taken an interest in this device. He uses it to write all of the letters of the alphabet, as well as numbers. He loves to draw the shapes of the letters, and is fascinated by the verbal response from the computerized voice. This is a great educational tool for learning and practicing the alphabet and numbers.

Since this item has been subject to extreme abuse, and it still works perfectly, I can attest to the fact that it's quality built. The bottom line is that this is a fantastic item for young children. It will teach them writing, listening, and hand, eye coordination skills. Learning the alphabet and numbers is the first step to a lifelong skill, essential to all. I rate this a 5 star product for both durability, superb educational potential, and ability to maintain a child's interest. It's a fantastic, fun learning tool for numbers, the alphabet, and a host of other essential skills.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2017
The pad that you trace the letters on just bubbles and fills everywhere, so it's not accurate to what is actually traced. To me, this makes the pad useless to teach a child to draw letters and numbers because they can't see how what they wrote compares to what it should be.
There is also awful and annoying music that plays and even the lower volume level is loud. I could handle the music if it worked the way it is advertised.
I have always loved leap frog products which is why I got this, but I'm incredibly disappointed in this.
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2016
The 4 year old I got this for already knew his alphabet, but needed practice writing letters. It took several sessions before he understood why it kept telling him to try again (you can't lift the stylus mid-letter, which is tempting when you are trying to see where the light path is). But once he got the hang of it, he was addicted! We kept it in the car most of the time so car-time wasn't boring or wasted time. He still enjoys using it (tracing letters and counting the sparkling dots that show up after each successful trace) even though he's in Kindergarten now.
I wish the cord to the stylus were a little longer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2015
I got this for my son for his 3rd birthday. At this point he already knew how to properly hold a marker or crayon whole coloring and filling recognized all of his letters and numbers.

What is great about this learning system is that it engages children with lights (follow the blinking lights to form a letter) as well as vocal instructions as well. After a letter is successfully written there are songs and praise.

It includes lessons for uppercase and lowercase letters as well as numbers. The "eraseable" writing tablet is a great addition as parents don't have to physically wipe anything off or clean anything up. It teaches your kiddos and prevents mess! A win-win in my book for anyone who has a child who are beginning to write.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2016
My 3.5 year old enjoys this. Only request is that the piece attaching the pen was a bit longer.
review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 17, 2015
My son gets really frustrated with this. He just turned four and is working a lot on his letters but there's not much room for error on this piece. The pen is awkward for him to hold as well and the short piece that attaches it to the pad is not long enough to give him free range of motion. His lines aren't exactly straight when he traces letters and he never seems to be able to get to the last dot. He then has to start completely over and that's what frustrates him the most. Since he gets the concept of the letter he gets excited and thinks he'll get to go to a new letter and gets upset when the same letter pops back up for him to trace again. I feel the repetition is good for him but he hates it so it's sitting in his toy drawer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 2, 2014
I personally like the concept of this learning toy. Yes it might seem like the traditional magic slate except they added modern feature to it. I'M ALSO GLAD THAT THE ONE I RECEIVED IS THE ONE I AM HOPING FOR TO GET WHICH IS THE NEW MODEL WITH 3 CATEGORIES "123" "abc" "ABC" with Level 1 and Level 2 difficulty as an option and high or low volume. It seems like they are sending random models to consumers e.g. the one in the main photo. Cosmetic wise it's nice and perfect for gifting.

My daughter who just turned 3 had a hard time pressing the tip of pen down to trace so in the beginning i sit with her to show how it works. She's used to the magna doodle where it's magnet so when you write you don't have to really press the tip of pen hard. I'm glad that after a few attempts now she can trace the lights fine. The voice command will always tell the child what to do e.g. even if your child already slide to erase, it will still prompt them to do so which might be confusing for the child and may seem repetitive. but it's a good thing if your child forgets to press the red rectangle button when they are finished tracing (to receive praise/ feedback) or when they haven't press another letter to practice the voice will prompt and point a lighted arrow up.

This comes with batteries but after few days i changed it to fresh ones because occasionally it will have a glitch. It will malfunction in random when you are tracing the lights. The lights will just stop and the voice command will cracked. I may have resolved this issue with new batteries but i am still looking for consistent sign that it is malfunctioning. But for now my child can use this as independent learning toy although she only plays it briefly in a day. So i gave it 4 stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2011
This is a great concept, but I have been less than impressed in its execution. I thought that the toy would be more interactive, but it really is just a talking eraser board. The toy instructs the child to select a letter, than talks the child through tracing the letter, then the child has to press another button to even let the toy know they've traced the letter! Then the toy spouts out some generic "great job!" message. There isn't any connection between the child's actions and the toy's responses or directions. I kind of expected a LF product to be a little more technologically advanced than that. I mean, Fisher Price could just make a talking eraser board, and it would be the same thing.

It's hard to describe, but unlike a standard erasable writing board, the stylus does not make a clear, solid mark like in the display picture. It's a faint gray tracing, which doesn't even need the stylus to imprint. I can make a mark just by touching the board. You can make a clearer mark with your fingernail on thermal paper receipts. Also, the other modes include tracing basic shapes and lines, but the screen is so small that the selection of shapes and lines is limited. There literally isn't any room for greater creativity. My daughter can free-hand way more complicated drawing elements on her huge magnetic drawing board, and does. I think that feature is there just to give the toy more modes, when it could easily just be a more interactive game focused solely on writing letters.

All this being said, my daughter does seem to love this toy. She enjoys the tracing, and without the interaction, doesn't seem to notice or mind if she doesn't actually trace the letter correctly, or follow the prescribed method. Heck, half the time she just like pushing all the buttons and listening to the toy say the letters. So basically, if you want an electronic thing that your kid can monkey around on, this is perfect for you. However, if you want your child to start learning to read and write letters, you're better off to just sit down with them and teach them.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 10, 2017
Wait until they are a little over 4 or this is your first child and you have time to play with them. You have to be dedicated or they will get bored. This is to complicated for someone that does not and ready know their letters or is used to tracing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse