Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 45 reviews
on August 3, 2015
I needed this for an animation class in college and while the book is helpful on doing the assignments, I felt Alice was completely lacking and the instructions glossed over what was needed for a smooth animation. If you are a complete beginner than this along with Alice may help with coding but overall becomes useless once you understand the basics of a coding language like c++. I really wish there was a way to write custom code instead of just dragging and dropping snippets of text. Alice is the only editor that creates animation this way - the "alice" way - since 3DS Max, Maya, and even Blender use a completely different method of animation that can be used in any pipeline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2016
This teaches you very little about actual programming. In fact, the programming class I took in HS was more challenging and profitable for me than this junk I took in college.

I don't NOT recommend for anyone wanting to learn to program.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
This book, and any class you will take that requires it is a waste of your time and money. It will not teach you how to program. There are many other language options to take, and I recommend starting with either python, Java, or (if you are more advanced) C++. Stay away from this text and this atrocious excuse for a "programming language ". You have been warned.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
I needed the book for a class for school. The book does seem to do a fairly good job of explaining how to do things, but it seems like the pacing is pretty terrible. Some chapters gloss over really quickly on more difficult tasks while other chapters spending a lot of time on increadibly simple things. Unless you need it for a class Alice is easy enough for most people to figure out without this book. Either by just playing with it or looking for help online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
If you've never had *any* programming experience, and you're dying to make some cartoon-style movies/interactive games, then this is the book for you.

Having actually *had* programming experience (java, C++, visual basic, etc.) I think the program is self-explanatory enough that you really don't need the book (especially when you realize that the program is free to download from the internet, and there are literally thousands of tutorials on the internet for free as well).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
for the most part this book is easy to understand and the exercises are a good level of challenging. i bought this book for my intro to logic class. and i feel im learning alot from this book to prepare me for my actual programming classes i have to take later on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
I needed this book for a class in school. Don't ask me what's in the book, even thou i passed the class i cant remember anything that was in this book. The are all made for profit not for educational value.

But i will say this book had some kinda fun activities. If your buying it for other than school purposes don't bother This version of Alice is out dated anyway get something with the 3d version :P
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2017
Just a warning, if you rent this book you run the risk of receiving it without the disc, rendering it useless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
Looking for a reasonable price for a book that teaches how to program in Alice Programming Language? This is a must buy book from Amazon.com. You get speedy delivery as soon as your order is placed. if you or a friend is learning to program with Alice are is planning to, this is the right place to shop for a book to help you get in the programming mode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2010
This bok was highly recommended for students learning to program with Alice. The Alice program is supposed to be adaptable for all ages but I would have to really adapt the info in this book to pass it along to my middle schoolers.I am finding it somewhat useful for mysel but I found it a bit tedious at the beginning and would like to see somewhere a more concise, better diagramed version.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse