Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 24, 2016
Junk. After one year of use, the crimped end has failed and the hose is turning black. $79 loss.
review image
146 helpful votes
147 helpful votes
|
33 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on May 6, 2017
--[ SEE UPDATES BELOW ]--

SUMMARY: (i) contradictory manufacturer statements about maximum water pressure of hoses; (ii) confusing warranty descriptions not made clear by the manufacturer; (iii) unanswered issues about contaminants and the safety of using the hose; (iv) begins to develop mold within 3-4 months after installation.

REVIEW (May 6, 2017)
I purchased the 3 foot Flexzilla lead-in hose, HFZG503YW, sold by Legacy Mfg. Co. (a division of Weems Industries of Iowa) and made in Taichung City, Taiwan. It has an inner layer of a "premium hybrid polymer," claimed safe for water drinking, and an outer layer made of an unspecified material, likely PVC plastic; it has the U.S./Canada standard garden hose thread (3/4 in. diameter straight thread with 11.5 TPI). The following observations apply:

1. PRESSURE -- According to the Legacy website and labeling on the hose, the maximum working pressure is 150 psi at 70°F, but Legacy (using the name Flexzilla with the tag 'Manufacturer') posted an answer here contradicting the prior value: "The working pressure for the Flexzilla Garden Hose is 165psi" <goo{dot}gl/5MVUDO>. Until Legacy gets its ducks in a row, it is safer to assume the max pressure is indeed 150 psi. Further, keep in mind that maximum working pressure decreases rapidly as hose temperature increases, so a hose may at least swell if left on the sun under high water pressure on a hot day.

2. FITTINGS & CORROSION -- The hose has anodized aluminum-alloy fittings, dyed green, at both ends. When done carefully so the added oxide layer is uniformly continuous without fault, anodizing greatly increases aluminum resistance to galvanic corrosion (besides allowing its coloring). This reduces the risk of fusion of the hose's female fitting to a brass spigot. Despite that, these threaded metal parts can be marred easily, and damage penetrating through the oxide layer on the surface will expose bare aluminum underneath and allow corrosion to take place; it is safer to turn off the water when the hose is not in use (as corrosion occurs when the metals are bridged by water) and to remove the hose from the bib as often as acceptable.

3. SAFETY -- It was difficult to find analytical evidence supporting the safety claims, particularly in terms of lead and phthalates. The Legacy website provides no such information; however, in this Amazon product page the company claims that "the hose meets or exceeds the standards set by the National Sanitation Foundation" (see the posted answer, also of May 2, 2017, to a question about potable water with the hose <goo{dot}gl/Ip1cOq>).

The foundation that Legacy refers to is a testing / certifying body located in Michigan that changed its name to NSF International 27 years ago (!). A search of the NSF website database for certified companies did not find Legacy or Weems, nor it found any certified product with the brand name Flexzilla. But the claim could just mean that the hose was analyzed by a different company against the NSF/ANSI 61 standard, so I searched the Web for such results. The only data I found were those of the _2016 Garden Hose Study_ of the Ecology Center, also in Michigan, that included the 50-ft Flexzilla hose <goo{dot}gl/d4971G>. Of the chemicals reported, it is noteworthy the hose was rated low for lead, medium for chlorine, and high for phthalates -- the latter rating is likely to have resulted in the overall negative ranking tag "HIGH" for the hose.

Phthalates are used as a softening agent to make plastics flexible, and several of them have been prohibited in the United States since 2008 [15 U.S. Code § 2057c] in products for children under 3 years of age, and in toys intended for those under 12 years. Also, items sold to California residents containing any of six phtahlates (BBP, DEHP, DIDP, DBP, DnHP, and DINP) require a Proposition 65 health warning. Phthalates are likely the reason why Flexzilla hoses sold to California residents carry a Prop-65 sticker warning the hose "contains one or more chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm" and advising to wash hands after handling (see also <goo{dot}gl/qMuj0Q>). There is no good reason for Legacy not to provide the same Prop-65 warning in this page for potential customers, since California residents also shop in Amazon. This is egregious when you consider that Amazon does have the page "About California Proposition 65" <goo{dot}gl/SQd7Ng>, which allows warning the shoppers by providing a link to it in the Product Information section of this page.

4. WARRANTY -- A most unattractive aspect is the confusing and customer-unfriendly manner in which Legacy has handled the issue of the hose's warranty. At the time of writing, this Amazon page seems to suffer from a dissociative disorder about the Flexzilla warranty information:

3 foot hose: no mention of a warranty.
5, 10, 25, and 100 foot hoses: request a copy to Legacy.
50 and 75 foot hoses: click link to see the copy (PDF format).

In the Legacy website the situation is even less clear -- there are just simply two brief mentions in passing that Flexzilla Garden Hoses have a warranty: one claims a "Limited Lifetime Warranty" and the other a "lifetime warranty," neither providing a description at all. So, what are the terms of the warranty? Well, it is a matter of confusion. Despite the claims of a lifetime warranty for water hoses (and that is indeed what is written in a tiny-font blurb hidden on the otherwise blank, inner face of the cardboard packaging of the 3-foot hose I got), the very official looking "Legacy Product Warranty Statement" written in standard legalese in the PDF copy says that the hoses --which fall under the "All Other Legacy Products" category-- merely have a warranty of 1 year from the date of purchase, instead of their lifetime. Talk about life expectancy . . . .

Even if Legacy gets these other ducks in a row, the warranty's rather unfriendly remedy also needs further clarification. To replace a hose defective "in material and workmanship, under normal use" during the (now ambiguous) warranty period, it must be first shipped to an "authorized Warranty and Service Center, transportation charges prepaid, with proof of date of purchase." To this, the lifetime warranty blurb for the hose I received adds that "the original retail label must accompany the hose." This further limitation is absent from the Product Warranty Statement. Legacy ought to hire a good communications specialist to fix these detracting issues.
______

UPDATE 1 (August 6, 2017)
Sometime after the above review, some of the text and images of this Product page were updated. Unfortunately, little of consequence has changed in a meaningful way in relation to the points raised in my review. To wit:

<> With respect to SAFETY issues, Legacy repeats the claim that the "flexible hybrid polymer inner tube material is drinking water safe." One again, however, the composition of the hybrid polymer remains undisclosed, and there is still no link available to a currently valid, full report from an ANSI accredited, North-American certification/testing body on regulated and unregulated contaminants in the hose based on the NSF/ANSI 61 water-safety criteria. Thus, Legacy wants you to accept their safety claim solely on the basis of their sales pitch presentation. The so far continuous absence of a link to a test report supporting the claim, either here or in the Flexzilla or Legacy website, is rather strange -- it is hard to imagine a company like this not trying to obtain and maintain a current product safety testing report from one of the several ANSI-accredited certification bodies.

Also, the issue of phtalates, rated HIGH in the 2016 study cited above, remains fully unanswered. Even if the various phthalates present (which force Legacy to attach a Prop-65 warning for Flexzilla hoses sold to California residents, a health warning curiously absent from this Product information page) were located only on the PVC outer tube, it is left to one's imagination what is the phthalate exposure risk from handling the hose, such as in the case of the child drinking from a hose in one of the images posted by Legacy.

<> With respect to WARRANTY issues, Legacy indicates in the Garden Hose Features of this page that the various Flexzilla garden hoses have a limited lifetime warranty (see the bottom line of the models comparison). Nevertheless, the dissociative-like attitude about the warranty remains in full force. The Product Information section for the 50-ft and 75-ft hoses still offers a link to the "Legacy Product Warranty Statement" in PDF format, which, in the best legalese style, unambiguously states that the Flexzilla garden hoses --the "All Other Legacy Products" category-- have a limited warranty of one year instead of a lifetime. Oops. Add to it that the lead-in hose HFZG503YW with no swivel grips that I purchased is not included among the hoses shown to have a lifetime warranty. Just as before, Legacy desperately needs to get its warranty ducks in a row.

Besides such confusing information, what the limited-warranty terms are shall remain a mystery to anyone ready to buy a garden hose who opens this page, since the description of this warranty is not readily available. The Product Information section of this page says --but for the 50-ft and 75-ft hoses, and my lead-in hose-- that one has to request it from "customer service" and offers a link to do that. Now, if you think it is that easy, you will be quite disappointed: the "About Manufacturer's Warranties" page, to which this link takes you, says one needs to contact the manufacturer or visit its website, or email the request to the Warranty Questions team of Amazon. (Currently neither the Flexzilla nor the Legacy page provide a warranty description.)

What a byzantine way to provide a warranty, which during its ambiguous duration only offers, in a non-customer-friendly manner, replacing a defective hose only if it were first shipped to an authorized Warranty and Service Center with transportation charges prepaid, proof of date of purchase, and its original retail label. Meh.
______

UPDATE 2 (August 27, 2017)
It is now a little less than 4 months since installation, and the hose has rapidly began to develop mold in the last 2 weeks. This is shown in the attached image taken after rubbing the hose with a wet paper towel to remove dirt stains. For comparison purposes, the inset shows the hose when it was installed. Based on the descriptions of other top reviews at this time, I expect it to change from its so-called ZillaGreen™ Chartreuse color to a disgusting Moldy Black. (I suspect they will not put a trademark on that color.) Exposed to hand contact, a hose with a moldy outer surface represents a health-effects risk: molds can produce toxic agents, known as mycotoxins, beside releasing millions of spores small enough to be air- or water-borne. In addition, if it were moldy on the inner surface --something I have not been able to exclude yet-- it would also represent a water-safety risk. I have reduced my rating to two stars given the rapid development of mold and its potential risks.
______

UPDATE 3 (August 30, 2017)
I called the Inside Sales phone number of Legacy, as requested in their comment to my review (see below), but on mentioning mold I was immediately told I was being transferred to Technical Support. There I was told, with a polite laconism worth of that recommended for cross-examinations, that the company does not offer any solution for getting rid of the fungus. After pressing the issue, I was also told no mold had been found in the inner-most surface of a moldy Flexzilla hose they had dissected, but apparently such single result is not publicly available. Molding is not covered by the warranty.

Trying different methods, I found that --at least for mold that seems in its early development-- I was able to remove the fungus from the surface of the hose with a so-called "magic" melamine sponge. This is likely a temporary solution, however, and does not deal with any potential fungal growth on the inner surface of the hose. Given that this is not an isolated case (as shown by those customer reviews complaining of mold), it is quite disappointing that Legacy's attitude seems to be to ignore the problem and does not cover it under the warranty.

I will buy suitable brass repair fittings and a short piece of ether-based, 5/8" polyurethane tubing to build a safe lead-in hose, and throw away this junky product.
review image
195 helpful votes
196 helpful votes
|
2424 comments|Report abuse
on October 19, 2016
Covered in black mold within 18 mos. Was moldy inside of 3 mos and has gotten progressively worse to the point that it's more black than green. Bought three of these--going in the trash soon.
review image
241 helpful votes
242 helpful votes
|
33 comments|Report abuse
on August 19, 2015
Hose is nice and light but it turned black with mold. It permeates the hose. Even bleach will not remove it. It also popped off at the nozzle end so it had to be repaired. Don't know how long this repair will last.
review imagereview image
216 helpful votes
217 helpful votes
|
33 comments|Report abuse
on June 2, 2015
This hose is really no different than any other hose other than it's more pliable. I'm REALLY tired of companies advertising that hoses don't kink, it's just not true. This hose DOES KINK (see my photo), arguably the same if not more often than a normal hose. It's more expensive and I'm not really sure why, it's not worth the money in my opinion.
review image
290 helpful votes
291 helpful votes
|
88 comments|Report abuse
on August 27, 2015
My 6 month old Flexzilla hose has covered itself with BLACK MOLD that will not wash off with soap or bleach. This is the only hose I have that has this mold impregnated in it, the others (cheap hoses) are fine. I spoke to customer service and was told that they are familiar with this issue but it was not covered under it's LIFETIME warranty. He told me which chemicals they use to get the black mold off and suggested I try the same. He also assured me that this black mold covered hose was safe for my children to play with and drink from, as well as for watering my pets...
I'm sorry but I will NOT take his word for it. I'ts going in the trash.
review imagereview image
187 helpful votes
188 helpful votes
|
88 comments|Report abuse
on November 26, 2015
Very flexible, but it will get twisted and difficult to windup sometimes. The dark stripe is supposed to define the natural "twist" of the hose, but it doesn't. They shouldn't have bothered with it.
Add to review: After two years, the hose is still holding up well even though it has heavy sunlight on it all day. One of the features stated is "Lightweight" ... umm NO. I have the 75 foot hose it is rather heavy.
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on September 1, 2014
Love this hose! We just bought our home this year and originally I had some issues getting the hose to fit our our old ~1990 pipe outside, it had the leaking issues that people were talking about because of the 3 threads. We also saw additional leaking and found out that the pipe had partially burst earlier due to the very cold winter, so we had someone come in and fix it, and the hose fit without a problem on the new pipe. That makes me give 5 stars, because the problem was with our pipe, not the hose.

That being said, I am so happy that we could get the hose to work for us, it is fantastic. We don't use the hose often, but when we do, it's easy to move, easy to see if you accidentally left it out and are mowing, and kink-free. We've even had some of the contractors we work with compliment us on it and ask where we got it from.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on June 7, 2014
We neded to replace hoses and wanted longer than 50 feet. The main selling point was the lifetime guaranty. The hose coils and fits perfectly in the Tub Trug. Great value for the money!
7 helpful votes
8 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on May 8, 2016
I ordered my first Flexzilla hose about 15 years ago, and it's still going strong. I love its no-kink feature. I keep it stored in a large plant pot and manage to circle it round in the directions it wants to go, looping it back on itself sometimes to keep a circle configuration rather than figure-8. It's light, sturdy, flexible, no leaks/cracks. That's why I ordered another with my hose splitter to handle more plant watering. A great product.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse