Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 164 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 279 reviews
on April 17, 2016
After going on a binge, and watching all of the American Zorro movies since 1920 I have to say this is not one of the better ones. This duology does a decent job of taking elements of the previous versions (flaming Z from "The Legon of Zorro"), this movie more than the first; however, it pushed some of the elements of Zorro to far off target for me to enjoy it. I was very glad that Zorro brought his whip using it like Douglas Fairbanks did back in "Don Q, Son of Zorro" --though no one, not even the stunt doubles in this movie could compare to his skill. It was also nice to see that Elena -- a strong female -- got to kick butt in both movies. A wonderful and completely new element. No woman character previously got to fight with more than words.

But again, the main appeal for the legacy of Zorro for me is that he is a strong, sophisticated, and elegant man play the part of the weak willed and political person by day. It was wonderful to see someone experiencing the hardship of not being able to do what you really want to in reality when you can put on a mask and do what is right without involving and harming those closest to you. To see it portrayed in the age of the 1820s-1840s during Mexican occupation---or in some version earlier during Spanish occupation allows the cultures of those times to shine through and show something very different. Pushing it forward to the 1850s when California joined the United States was too much for me. It was a culture shift that lost the appeal of why I like Zorro. (Don't misunderstand, I'm American and super patriotic...but I do not watch Zorro to see such elements.) They tried to over-copensate in adding more Spanish but it was the culture that appealed most. Though it was really nice to see a movie that didn't have really distractingly English accents. The movie was also more action-centric than plot and a lot of the fight scenes went on too long, as is the current tendency in action movies. Foremost was the attention to the divorce. That clashes with everything that Zorro is. I mean wow. And the fact that Elena did a 180 to what her views on fighting were from the previous movie? Way out of character. Yes, a child changes things but...long story short: no.

I think my overall view of the movie was most hindered by the Americanism, and the divorce focus. It changed the culture and characters too much for me. Without those two elements, I would have rated it higher. It brought back a lot of great things that I missed from Zorro in the previous movie.

Last side note: did anyone else notice that it said, "an historic" not, "a historic" in the introduction? They should have noticed that common grammatical mistake. I'm only halfway decent at grammar and noticed it.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2016
"Out of the night when the full moon is bright..." This is great family entertainment that the whole family can enjoy together. It has all of the thrills, action, romance, and mystery you can imagine and lots more. Antonio Banderos plays Zorro and Catherine Zeta-Jones plays the beautiful daughter of Zorro (perfect match). They bring the characters and the legend to life with superb acting. This is a "must see" for the whole family. Enjoy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
While not of the same caliber as the critically-acclaimed "The Mask Of Zorro," this sequel has its moments, especially the exciting stunts and action sequences, along with the fun interplay involving Zorro's/Alejandro De La Vega's family. Antonio Banderas again brings his usual brand of Andalusian charm, humor, wit and grace (the same stuff -- and accent -- he would later transplant onto the beloved animated character Puss In Boots). All in all, this film still makes for a worthwhile addition to one's superhero home movie collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2017
I love this movie! I think Catherine is so beautiful! The costumes in this movie are amazing and it is overall just a beautiful film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THE LEGEND OF ZORRO begins seven years after THE MASK OF ZORRO ended. Zorro, Alejandro De La Vega (Antonio Banderas), is still fighting off bad guys and standing up for the average people of Southern California. California is on its way to becoming a state and Alejandro has promised his wife, Elena (Catherine Zeta-Jones) that he will put the mask of Zorro up for good once California is an official state. It seems easy enough, but there are many people who don't want California to achieve statehood. Not only that, but De La Vega isn't as sprite as he once was and he has a son, Joaquin (Adrian Alonso),who seems to constantly get in trouble, partially because of his absence of involvement in his life. After the people of California vote to join the Union, Elena believes Alejandro will put Zorro to rest, but the territory isn't officially a state yet. After a feisty argument, Elena and Alejandro separate. She seems to become involved with a French Count who has recently moved into the area and it infuriates Alejandro. There's a worldwide plot afoot to prevent California statehood and it's up to Zorro and his family to stop it.

THE LEGEND OF ZORRO is a decent action-packed film. There was quite a bit of action and the train fight at the end is rather thrilling. I also enjoyed the fact that THE LEGEND OF ZORRO is a family-based film, in that the De La Vega clan ends up fighting together as a family. Banderas and Zeta-Jones do their roles justice and Alonso as their son Joaquin is a good addition to the brood.

However, THE LEGEND OF ZORRO doesn't feel as fresh as THE MASK OF ZORRO did. That is perhaps that it took seven years to make a sequel to the first Banderas and Zeta-Jones Zorro picture. Banderas and Zeta-Jones are always red-hot and their chemistry on screen is sizzling. It seems to take awhile for the actors to get back into their characters and that affects the pacing of the movie. It takes time for the movie to pick up its pace, but once it does it turns into a roller coaster of a ride. Zorro fans shouldn't be disappointed and those who like action movies and modern westerns will probably enjoy this film, too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2017
Careful packaging guaranteed perfect condition upon receipt. First class swashbuckler.
Douglas Fairbanks, Sr., would have been pleased. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
This is a fun movie and a nice romance! I watch it in sections frequently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2017
Wish they would make another Zorro movie. Good family movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
Catherine Zeta-J is always great looking, and the wide doesn't mind watching Antonio Banderas, my kids loved the movie. The plot was thin, historically suspect in that the primary storyline of a divorced spanish couple in 1840's California just does not reflect the accuracy of the times. The whole, Dad-moves-out-Mom-starts-dating-while-Dad-mopes is far more a modern twist that I could personally accept in a period piece, even if it is just a comedy/drama/action flick...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2017
It is okay. I liked the Mask of Zorro better. Still worth watching though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse