Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch $5 Digital Albums GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 53 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 94 reviews
on May 10, 2017
I’ve had this series on my TBR pile forever. I’m glad I finally got the chance to start it. “Lemon Tart” was a fun read. I enjoy that the main character, Sadie, deviates from the norm. I’m glad she is in her 50’s and sorting out the next chapter of her life. I can easily relate to her and her family. The author’s description of Sadie’s character being written to portray “Paula Deen (cooking show host) meets Angela Lansbury,” made me laugh. The mystery had lots of twists and turns and kept you guessing until the last minute. I look forward to seeing where relationships evolve from here. The recipes are an added bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
I am divided when it comes to my opinion of this book. On the one hand I quite enjoyed the whole murder mystery aspect of the book, although it is definitely light-hearted reading without any clever dialogue or anything, I still thought the plot was engaging and interesting. I liked the author's unique way of using cooking to solve a murder and judging by the titles of all her other books, they all do this. I think what really turned me off was the main character. She was very irritating. She was the annoying busy body, nosy neighbor that nobody likes and comes across as a bit condescending and self-righteous. I could probably get past this if she wasn't so determined in her thinking that she was better than trained detectives when it came to solving a murder (like she knows anything about it!) she honestly should have been tossed in jail for entering a crime scene. She needs to butt out and let the police handle it, but then the whole premise of the book wouldn't work! Anyway, I think I will read the next in the series just to see if her character will get better and grow on me and if not I am hoping that at least the plot will be as entertaining as this one was, excepting the dumb things that Sadie does sometimes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
This was a pricey book and I have to say you don't always get what you pay for. I have enjoyed many of Josi Kilpack's books but this one was slow and contrived. I didn't fall in love with the protagonist. At least I won't be compelled to buy the rest of the series. At 10.99 a pop that makes me glad I didn't like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2014
If you are an arrogant, superficial, immature, passive-aggressive, judgmental woman then you will probably love the main character but I found her to be unbearable. I love murder mysteries but I will not read another in this series as I was hoping for her demise early in the book. Additionally the first 75% of the book is S L O W and repetitive with Ms. Pious Pants alternately jumping to obviously incorrect conclusions and checking her hair! She worries about her appearance more than a petulant pre-adolescent and displays most of the other unpleasant characteristics associated with that age group despite being identified as a middle aged woman. The overall story is reasonably well crafted which is why I gave the book 1 star.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
I enjoyed this cozy mystery! It kept my interest and had some twists I didn't see coming. I already have a few more books from this series and look forward to reading them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
The first in the series. I read another one and decided to purchase all of them and start from the beginning. There are different characters that are woven into the series and it helps to read starting with the first one so you know how each character takes part. The main character, Sadie, reminds me a little of myself. She's a little neurotic, but, a very endearing character. The twists in the plot keep me guessing. Think I have it figured out and it changes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2016
This is the first book that I have read from this author. I will definitely be reading more of her books. I really enjoyed the perspective she gives on how important it is for women to take care of their homes and of the people around them. She puts together a very creative story line that kept me reading late into the night!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
This was an interesting book and well written. At the end the main character just does outrageous things that you can't really believe but then most main characters in cozy mysteries wind up doing outrageous things. If you can pretty much ignore that then you'll enjoy the book. I thought it was better plotted and written than most cozy mysteries especially of this cooking person type.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
Very good, many turns in the story. Did take several chapters to get going. Will try other books in this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2010
I rarely give five stars to a book, but this one earned every one of them! This book introduces us to Sadie, who loves to cook almost as much as she loves sticking her nose in others' business, and is a delightful and sometimes surprising character.

This book was a fun read and a true page-turner, with enough twists and turns to keep me guessing right up to the end. I also love that the book was clean - no profanity, vulgarity, etc., something which my teenage daughter also appreciated.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse