BCA Month Salon Beauty altText This Week in Books Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno



on October 10, 2011
The 2012 edition of Maltin's Movie Guide has a significant printing error. Nearly 100 pages of "D" and "E" entries are missing.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2012
Buyers who suffer from age/disease induced reading impairment should note that the book text size is absurdly small. The book is apparently available is several "sizes" - I first encountered the book in a local lending library and it was barely readable. I ordered a copy from Amazon believing I would receive the same book that I originally borrowed; the Amazon edition was further reduced in size and with commensurate text size reduction. Pretty tough to read without sight aids.
Allowing that critics offer opinions that are either in line with or are in opposition to the reader's, Mr Maltin's reviews are generally supportable and spot-on, albeit often too short. Of course, the reader's ego will rule and the reader will gravitate to opinions that parallel his/her own. Mr Maltin covers a tremendous number of films... one can only wish that book would be available in an expanded electronic edition in which the writer would have the latitude to offer greater depth in his summaries.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
Maltin's is always the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2012
This is a much smaller format than our older edition. The older book was easy to use and easy to read. This new format is difficult to read unless you almost fold the spine to lay flat. I believe that this book will tend to wear out much faster than the older size. The font also seems to be be smaller. I certainly would have been willing to pay more for a larger format similar to the older editions.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2011
This edition is physically much smaller than the previous paperback of the same title that I ordered. It is harder to use. and read.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 7, 2012
I ordered this edition and then saw the reviews about the printing error, so I was concerned. The copy I received is perfect and I thought some people would want to know.

I was not worried, I know that Amazon would NOT screw us because they never do.

Thanks
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
Has most listings I expected only missing a few.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
Great film guide! It doesn't have the exhaustive cast listing that the Martin books used to have, but it's still a great book and very useful. As an added bonus, it's helped me finish a few crosswords! Book arrived as though it had just been printed and well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Good to have a comprehensive book with so many of the newer releases reviewed. But there are so many classics left out. And the director cross-reference from past editions has been eliminated completely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
One of the best movie review books out there. Wish he had continued with the director index ,...and an expanded actor index would be an improvement...but stll a very good value for the price. Don't agree on all the ratings, but most of them are a fair assessment. (he should have an online website, where those who don't agree could ask him (and his critics) to take a second look prior to the next edition!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse