Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 134 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 202 reviews
on March 3, 2009
It seems a little dishonest to me for Norton not to reveal on the cover of this book that it is an abridged version. In fact, the only way to know that is to read the footnote in the Table of Contents, or the preface.

It happens that, in my view, the Leviathan can use the abridging, and it is very possibly that you think so too. But readers should be told that before they buy. So I am telling you.

I'm a bit disappointed with the secondary materials, too, but not quite disappointed enough to grouse about it too much. Still, it seems like the editors could have made up for all those lost pages in the main text to get more ambitious in the secondary materials.

I still give it four stars because I like the abridged version.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
As stated above this is a tough read however you should read it none the less because it gives you an in depth look at a part of history we know little about and it's though someone else's eyes and mind!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2017
Hobbes is an important author for a reason, and he makes interesting points in the Leviathon. While you do not want to take his advice to heart too much, he definitely makes one think about the human condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
Such an epoch-making master-peace! Must read for any social science, economics and history professional or student. One of the books that made modern day western civilization.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
There aren't many excellent editions of this work. This one happens to be free. Although I don't agree with Hobbes, he's exceptionally lucid--a true classic in early modern philosophy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
Great intro book for a political science major. And you can't beat the price. I saved money by getting this through Amazon, and it was nice and convenient just bringing my kindle to class instead of jamming multiple books into my backpack. Also its great to be able to read and write notes on the PC version of kindle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
While the notion that nation-states are still the key actors in international relations has faded in recent decades, a rereading of Hobbes' Leviathan reminds us that the international stage is still essentially a conflict of "everyman against everyman." Leviathan -the Realist "Bible" - is at its core still a viable description of internatinoal relations. The reader, however, must update Hobbes' basic argument by including non-state actors, such as transnational religious groups, drug gangs, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
I enjoy Hobbes on occasion and his views can be enlightening on some issues.
He can be a bit much for the modern day reader, but there would be much lost in changing the writing for "easy" reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2016
A little hard to get into, but the ideas are really important and can lead to interesting conversations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here