Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$27.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 92 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 138 reviews
on March 15, 2017
The typical beer guzzling, profanity, partial nudity, composite monster that most horror addicts enjoy. This was no different. I was waiting for a new release for cheap. I got it. Peter Weller, Richard Crenna, and those other faces you always recognize round out an Aquatica "The Thing" and Alien knockoff that is enjoyable. The plot is cohesive and events lead you but throw curves a few times to keep you interested.
Hey, it's a monster movie with beer guzzling ( in this case Vodka ), profanity ( a good amount), partial nudity, and the composite monster who even comes up for a breath of fresh air! Who could want more!!!!!!!!!!!!! Enjoy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
I love all three of the 1989 underwater scifi/horror flicks- James Camerons The Abyss, Deep Star Six and Leviathan. I love all three films. The Abyss is the best, but I watch Leviathan and DeepStarSix more often because they are fun scifi horror 80s B movies with cool creatures. Stan Winstson created the creature for this feature, which is basically Alien underwater on Earth. It's not perfect, but it's good for what it is. It has a great cast and cool morphing monster a la The Thing, but I wish there was more screen time with the uniquely designed monster. Leviathan and DeepStarSix make a great double feature Sunday. And if you want to add one more to your roster, here's two options- for big budget impressive effects and solid story go for The Abyss, if you want lowbudget cheesy gore filled fun (including some dubbing) go for The Rift aka Endless decent, both of which also released in 1989.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2013
I looked the movies up on IMDB, and was surprised to find that "The Abyss" and "Leviathan" were both released in 1989. There were a lot of similarities between these two movies, but I also saw a lot of familiar things cribbed from "Alien" and "Aliens", and also the 1982 "The Thing". This isn't the first wannabe-blockbuster film that I suspect swiped ideas from more than one successful film in the hopes of being a mega-blockbuster. It looks like even back in 1989, screenwriters were running out of original ideas. However, "Leviathan" isn't a total waste of time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
Rented this movie because it was described as an underwater version of Alien....that is insulting to Alien! The acting and dialogue is weak. The special effects are amateur. The creature itself looks awful. The ending is very poor. I find it hard to believe that a movie that came out 10 years after Alien visually looks WAY worse and is in no ways comparable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Movie was awesome when it came out. Can't believe was 28 years ago. Still enjoy watching it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 27, 2009
What was it about 1989 and undersea movies? It seems like we got hit with a plethora of undersea action/horror flicks that year, "Deep Star Six", "Leviathan" and "The Abyss" among a handful of others.

"Deep Star Six" was the B-movie of the bunch, with low budget special effects and b-list actors like "BJ and the Bear" star Greg Evigan and pop music one-hit wonder Nia Peebles thrown in for eye candy. The great thing about "Deep Star Six" was that despite it's minimal budget, it packed a ton of action and suspense into it's 90 minute running time.

"Leviathan" was it's big studio counerpart. The film had a bigger budget, a better cast led by "Robocop" star Peter Weller and Richard Crenna fresh off the set from the latest "Rambo" flick. The effects are handled by Academy Award winner Stan Winston. Basically all of the pieces are in place for a fun action/horror flick. But for some reason it just doesn't come together as well as it should.

The basic premise behind "Leviathan" is that a deep sea mining operation discovers a sunken Russian ship. After reviewing the Russain captain's video log to try and decipher what happened, strange things being to happen in the mining crew's underwater habitat. Could the same thing which caused the death of the Russian crew be happening to the miners?

I'm not sure why "Leviathan" fails where "Deep Star Six" succeeds? Maybe it's because, while the cast is good, they really aren't given much to work with here. You get the same basic stereotypes found in almost every horror film, and it feels like a retread of "Alien". To top it off, the "monster" just isn't very frightening. The molten collection of body parts just doesn't seem terribly mobile. The turgid creature does little to inspire fear, and you get the feeling that if the characters used any intelligence at all, they would simply walk quickly away from the beastie, and close the door behind them to eliminate a majority of the threat. No matter what the cause, "Leviathan" while enjoyable, seems like a pale imitation of "Deep Star Six", when it clearly should have been the other way round.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
What daughter had wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2016
If you can forgive the obvious "The Thing" monster rip-off,
then you may enjoy everything leading up to the end.

But the end of this movie can not be forgiven.
I can't think of a worse ending.

Not worth the price of renting this film.
Keep searching, and best of luck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2014
For me just having reputable stars Peter Weller, Ernie Hudson, and the late Richard Crenna give this movie more credibility in my opinion, compared to say DeepStar Six or one of the other underwater Alien Ripoff movies of the 80s. I love that Stan Winston did some work on this film as well, so the creature effects are pretty decent. Also like it's been previously said, it's a mix of Alien, The Thing, which are all movies I've enjoyed watching. So having elements of them in this film is a welcomed addition. I would say it's worth watching at least once or two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2016
Awesome Movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$18.97

Need customer service? Click here