Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on May 30, 2016
Hard to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
This is the easiest to read version of Hobbes' tome that I have seen to date. Buy it if you are even the slightest curious about this philosopher's writings.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
Everyone knows about Hobbes and hears about Leviathan in any social science or history course, but not everyone gets to actually dive in and read his theories on realism. I got this for my political theory class and can honestly say that it enlightened me. I wouldn't read this for fun, but its a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
An important and excellent book, evidently the foundation of modern political theory. A good antidote to Plato's "Republic" until Hobbes, to keep his head attached to his body, drags in the Christian religion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2010
Hobbes wrote in English, so when it comes to English editions, translation is not an issue. For that reason, there are several good English editions of Leviathan out there. But Edwin Curley's, put out by Hackett, is easily among the best. The main reason for this is that it is the only version I am aware of which includes the variants from the Latin edition. Curley's has other benefits too, such as his inclusion of paragraph numbers, which, though it may seem like a minor detail, greatly eases navigation of the text, especially when reading it with other people. He modernizes Hobbes' spellings, which some readers prefer, and some detest. I don't find that it makes a significant difference, IMHO, although sometimes archaic spellings can get distracting. His introduction is also the best for understanding the significance of the Latin edition, and why and how he makes use of it. Look here first for an excellent edition of Hobbes' Leviathan.

The two other editions to consider are done by Richard Tuck, for Cambridge (Hobbes: Leviathan: Revised student edition (Cambridge Texts in the History of Political Thought)) and J. C. A. Gaskin, for Oxford (Leviathan (Oxford World's Classics)). Of these three, only Tuck retains Hobbes' spelling, which, as mentioned above, is in some ways beneficial, and in some ways confusing--beneficial because it reduces (possibly unwarranted) editorial interpolations, and confusing because modern eyes are not used to it. Gaskin also numbers his paragraphs, and modernizes spelling. Neither incorporate the Latin edition, though both make passing (dismissive) mention of its existence in their introductions. All three can be had without much expense--financial or otherwise--and for serious study it may be worth it to have all three to read alongside each other. If you can only get one, however, get Curley's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
Hobbes is one of the greatest thinkers in history. The educated man or woman should read and study "Leviathan." It is particularly relevant in these perilous times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Hobbes, a prescient contemporary of Oliver Cromwell who anticipated the rise of the all-powerful integrated state (the "Commonwealth" as Hobbes called it) of the late 20th and early 21st centuries - think China, the United States, Russia, the UK, etc., and of course the more seriously warped integrated states of the mid 20th century, Germany and Italy, etc. In fact, if you are starting to feel like you are just a tiny component wired into a humongous, all-controlling Borg, well, Thomas Hobbes' 17th century Commonwealth is an uncanny description of what we moderns understand when we think of "The Borg". This is essential reading for any thinking person who is slightly befuddled by the discrepancy between the democracy of Pericles (albeit that was a democracy only for men who owned a bit of land, and later those who oared the ships of the Greek navy, while women and of course, slaves, never had a say in Athenian democracy) and the "democracies" of the 21st century that more nearly resemble the totalitarian Borg from Star Trek.

Why only two stars for such an important work of political thought? Ah yes, Silver Arch Books in St. Louis put this particular book on the market on Amazing with the description that it was nearly new, with only minor signs of wear, and that is what I paid for, but what Silver Arch delivered was a filthy dirty, dog-eared and underlined on almost every page broken down beat up excuse for a book, that was anything but nearly new. And wouldn't ya know, this outfit must have one of those "internet reputation rebuilding services" so when you post an honest review of the physical properties of the product as delivered, instantly! about a zillion glowing adulations pop up to bury your honest comment. If you are buying used books on Amazing, caveat etc. . . . .
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
Great edition but the binding is cheap. Not built to last. Cambridge has slightly better binding but their quality is declining sharply as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2005
Hobbes is a misunderstood philosopher. He envisaged that executive power would be based on the will of the people who allow it to be exercised. In this way Hobbes saw the development of a social contract between members of society and those who govern, based on individual rights not to subsciptive service as vassals. He also warned that agreements (or covenants) without either armed or moral right to be enforced would remain simply that - words. Hobbes does indeed speak to all peoples who live in our society - white, black and any shade in between.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
my favorite interpretation ( I don't read Latin ) of Hobbes , Hackett 1994. a much better one than the one studied in school. very pleased I purchased it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse