Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Libby, Montana: Asbestos and the Deadly Silence of an American Corporation
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 30, 2003
Andrea Peacock flirted with a career in law before turning her attention fulltime to journalism. So it makes sense that the author builds the case against WR Grace with the legal precision of a prosecutor hanging criminals out to dry. But Peacock's first book "Libby, Montana" is no mere amicus brief; it's a complex tale of heartbreak. Her hard-hitting expose concerns the nature of corporate greed, and Peacock makes sure to show how collusion between big business and local government can destroy the lives of ordinary people. For decades WR Grace, the same corporation featured in "A Civil Action," supplied the world with toxic asbestos-laden materials from its mine in remote northwest Montana. For 30 years, the company ignored signs that the dust from its operations was killing miners and their kin; now the record has come back to haunt Grace. Peacock overcomes the challenges inherent in exposing environmental crime, putting a human face on both sides of this fascinating story, making her case with rare humanity. A worthy read -- and if you don't believe me, Peacock has blurbs from Peter Matthiessen, Terry Tempest Williams, Jim Hightower and Jim Harrison, who all agree this book is too good, too important to be ignored.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2004
I was born in this town, Libby, Montana. Eventhough I grew up eighteen miles away in Troy, I knew most of the families mentioned in the book. My high school field trip was a day trip to the mine, the dry processing plant, the expansion plant, the loading docks. All through junior high and high school, we had track meets next to the railroad tracks where the trains were loaded with the ore. What she says in her book is true, no one told anyone that the ore was harmful, or even had asbestos in it. No one said a word, and if anyone asked, they were told it was "nuisance dust." It was such a cover-up that I had to read the Seattle PI account twice before I believed it.
I applied for a job at the mine when I went to college. That was thirty years ago. If I had gotten that job, chances are I would be dead, just like my father. Dad never worked at the mine, but he drove by it several times a week to maintain some radio equipment on top of the mountain. Several times a week for twenty-six years and he died of Mesothelioma.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2003
The fact that authors Jim Harrison, Terry Tempest Williams, Peter Matthiessen, and Charles Bowden all endorsed Andrea Peacock's book was enough for me to dive in. From the first page, it was a decision I never regretted.
Peacock is a very good writer with a keen and precise instinct for investigative reporting. Her ability to shine a light on one of America's most savage and tragic disasters makes the story not only interesting, but arresting as well. What happened in Libby, Montana, is a case study of corporate greed, government complacency, and the arrogance of power.
If you are interested in this subject (and you should be), Peacock's rendering of the tale will satisfy you on every level.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2003
Besides bringing us, intimately and palpably, news of horrific corporate behavior, Peacock makes the place and life of Libby, Montana into a vision of America that transcends asbestos. It is a vision of geologic glory and frontier humanity that is as true as blood and stone and that is also the founding dream of American consciousness. In such a vision, in a town like Libby, when people who can make money from asbestos, people who might be you and I at whatever distance, when we, even if only in acquiescence, when we kill unknowing souls for profit for generation after generation, when that happens, the best of the American dream flows away from us like a river irredeemably polluted.
Peacock has given us a mirror on the triumphant nightmare of American greed. "Libby, Montana" is a perfectly heartbreaking book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2015
As the daughter of a man who died from mesothelioma, I read this book with high emotion. Andrea Peacock presents the facts with humanness, and as I know for fact, no lives will be the same. Profit as priority over lives is reprehensible. Please read this book - you may think asbestos is not a danger - but in fact it is still legal in the U.S and Canada.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
How can so many turn a blind eye and ignore the disaster that was caused by a greedy company with little regard for human life or suffering.
The book held my interest and the personal stories by the people who have and are experiencing the long term effects of asbestos were very
hard to read. It's also very hard to wrap your mind around the fact that the Victims in Libby are collateral damage in the war of greed waged by a company that knew full well what they were doing. Shame on the Government for not protecting the People of Libby.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
Very enlightening but disturbing account of the ordeals of these townspeople.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2005
As a former Libby resident (1976-1982) and one who has since found out that I am one of the 'victims', I was looking forward to reading "Libby Montana". I was hoping for a journalist's straight forward and honest appraisal of the Libby tragedy.

Instead, I found myself reading a series of disconnected thoughts and needless ramblings - sprinkled with a lot of overworked sentimentality. I personally know (or knew) many of the folks named in the book. Instead of writing from a true journalist's viewpoint, Andrea Peacock instead presents a verbal 'Oprah Winfrey' show. She wanders back and forth through history with no really coherent thought process and hopes that by throwing in an occassional tear-jerking story now and then she will keep the reader interested. She has managed to turn would could have been an excellent documentary into a soap opera and by doing so only belittles the overall magnitude of the Libby disaster.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2004
Andrea Peacock did an excellent job of describing the
environmental disaster that has ravaged this small
Montana town.
Peacock's description of human suffering,
corporate greed, and "bought" politicians brings
this true story to life.
Highly recommended reading.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2007
This catastrophe deserved a more comprehensive treatment. "When one person dies, it is a tragedy. When thousands die, it is war." What happened in Libby, Montana was like war on a population, but this book treats it like several personal tragedies. The W.R. Grace Company is a corporation without a conscience and deserves to be indicted for its crimes, not be allowed to avoid all responsibility by going into and then out of bankruptcy unscathed. The book on what happened in Libby still needs to be written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse