Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 16 reviews
on January 20, 2015
I cannot lie, I wasn't sure if I was going to finish this book when I first started reading it. Some where in the intro the author tells you that the book will not make you a better lie detector. This may not be true however - some of the insights into the variety of disorders which would predispose someone to be a liar and insights into how certain professionals who deal with deceptive behavior operate may give you an advantage. My only "problem" with the book was its extensive focus on abnormal psychology - I was not interested in unusual syndromes and medical perspective. One thing that this book make help the reader understand is that these damaged people are very common throughout society. Everytime you turn around you will run into someone with one mental problem or another. Another insight I thought was valuable was that this book underscores the extreme difficulty of detecting lies especially with people who are practiced at deception. Even professionals - police officers, lie detector equipment operators, customs inspectors, etc have a lie detection rate just about the same or WORSE than the general public due to their false confidence in their ability. So, this book is a deep study of who lies and why they lie and does not ignore the functional and beneficial aspects of deception.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
This book is wriiten by an MD. Instead of writing about fighting fraud by himself, the author uses more statistics and medical theory to help readers understand why and how people lie, and more importantly, how to work with common lies. I have used some of the skills in this book, and it works.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2011
This is the best book I have read about the psychology of deception. It clearly covers all the topic with suficient depth and accuracy. To detect lies I complement it with Mark McClish's "I Know you are Lying".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2015
Great Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
If you have suspected you are being lied to, this a great book. It goes into the psychology of how and why people lie. I wouldn't however suggest you try it out on your spouse -- if you have a good relationship. BTW, "Never Be Lied To Again" is another great book on the subject.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
All lies! Except for what you read in this book, unless the author lied, and then what can you believe??? I liked reading it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2011
Is very complete in the topic of lies, good manage of topic, very good conditions, like if its been bought in a store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
The author wraps up his treatise on lying with this: "The most dangerous forms of self-deception are collective ones. Patriotism, moral crusades, and religious fervor sweep across nations like plagues, slicing the world into good and evil, defender and aggressor, right and wrong." If you're the type of person who cheers that type of statement this is your type of book. If, on the other hand, you think patriotism to a worthy cause, agreed to by the vast majority of sentient humanity, such as the cause of individual liberty, is not a form of self-deception, you will find many of the author's assertions hard to accept. If you think that some moral crusades are truly moral, such as that of Mother Theresa, you might consider a blanket condemnation of moral crusades scientifically inaccurate. If you think that some fervent religious adherents may actually do some good in the world, such as The Christian Medical Fellowship, then you might think the author is less than thorough in his research. I submit that the most dangerous form of self-deception is that exhibited by the author who drapes his fervent, chauvinistic, political crusade in the cloak of science and then claims anybody who disagrees with him is self-deceived.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse