Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Life / Planet Earth: Special Edition (Both Narrated by David Attenborough) [Blu-ray]
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is simply a repackaging of two TV series that have already been released previously.

Having said that, these are probably the two highest-quality nature shows ever filmed, so if you don't yet own them then I highly recommend this set. These are the original BBC versions of the show, with the great narration by David Attenborough. This is the preferred way to watch these shows, because the Discovery Channel versions of the show is known to have cut/missing footage and most agree that it's a much lower-quality narration.

There are 10 discs in this set: Life is a 4-disc set, and Planet Earth: Special Edition is a 6-disc set.

The audio and video quality on these discs is outstanding. The images are vibrant and the photography is breathtaking - this is the kind of content that HDTV was meant for!

Here are the links to the individual items included:
Planet Earth (Six-Disc Special Edition) [Blu-ray]
Life (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray]
33 comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
One of the best visual displays of some rare beauties of occurancies through out earth. Many parts of the film are memorizing when viewed in HD. If you have blu-ray capability, then do not buy the DVD version as this is something that needs to be watched with the best picture possible.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
Best visual blu-ray video, great, educational, fascinating!!! Love, love, love it!!! Good gift idea too. Get to know your planet!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2015
Man, what a great series!!! So educational and makes you want to travel the world! Love that they have been able to capture our planet at this high level and that we can experience a small portion in our living room! Definitely recommend for all ages!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
5+ stars for content and -2 for the overblown price-tag. This is basically re-packaging of two existing BBC documentaries with some extras thrown in. The extras and the new packaging would surely be a gem for some people and my intentions are not to demean the content of this package but to point out it's high expense in comparison to other options on Amazon. Usually the first two documentaries someone purchases after being introduced to the world of BBC nature documentaries is Planet Earth and Life. This particular set would not be the best way for most people to start their collection.

If you're interested in getting the most for your money then this would be an extremely bad choice. At the time this was written the price was $91. In comparison, at this time for $95, you could get The BBC High-Definition Natural History Collection 1 and 2. These are both Blu Ray box sets with multiple documentaries included in each. The BBC N.H.C. 1 has - Planet Earth, Wild China, Galapagos and Ganges. The BBC N.H.C. 2 has - Life, Nature's Most Amazing Events, South Pacific, and Yellowstone. The version of Life included in N.H.C. 2 is the same version offered here, narrated by David Attenborough. In this alternate route you would get 8 documentaries instead of two. I wanted to pass this information along to those who may be new to these incredible BBC documentaries and to those who are looking to add as many as possible within their budget. Another pointer to anyone new to these BBC documentaries is that you should avoid any of the "Americanized" versions because there are truly inferior. In the American version of Life, narrated by Oprah Winfrey, they take a BBC masterpiece and transform it into an average piece of work. I hope this info is helpful to some or you out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
Great TV series's for anyone that isn't already familiar with them. Only annoyance is that for the spines of the sleeves to face outwards, you have to put the sleeves in facing the opposite direction of the box - in other words, when resting the box face-up, you have to put the sleeves in face down to expose the spines.

Blurays add some behind the scenes features and stories that I haven't noticed on TV broadcasts or Netflix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2012
Just bought this complete set when I come over to US, it's almost half price compared to HK!!

Going back to the topic, I read through lots of comment, not only in Amazon, also some other sites. People arguing about the video format (1080i vs 1080p), I took a chance to test a few disc with PS3 in the office right before my flight, I picked 2 discs from Life as well as 2 from Planet Earth. Both discs picked from Life are in 1080p format while both I picked from Planet Earth are 1080i. Outside the box only 1080i is mentioned, so the description is partially correct.

From my research, the only 1080p version of Planet Earth should be the one selling in UK, and it's a 5-disc version (still 1 disc less than the US version), and with region code restrictions.

I do find little quality difference among Life & Planet Earth, but this price I would say it's unbeatable!! The only 1 star deducted is about the packaging, can it be a more rigid box rather paper?
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
I love this, my children love this, my friends and family love this. GET THIS! You will not regret it. Life is so beautiful and this collection has a way of opening your eyes to a whole new perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
This is an experience of immersion into life itself. A direct interaction with multiple species and adaptations. Presents the viewer as both witness and participant the opportunity to learn and reflect on nature's diversity, beauty and relentless give and take for survival and thriving. So much I didn't know. Let me discover the deep empathy and similarity with life forms.
Beautiful photography and music that enhances the environment. Intimate revealing portraits that take you beyond the egocentric world of humans.
Though I had watched Attenborough's bird anthologies, and Blue Sea Life offers a further feast for the senses and heightens understanding of who shares this planet and how remarkable, fragile and evolving we are. And how and why we must become aware and participate in cooperatively conserving and responding to the needs of all forms of Life!

Eagerly look forward
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
This is a great collection! my kids (6 & 8) love it! Beautiful cinematography and narration! and they have a "how it was filmed" segment for each chapter.

CONTENT: 5 of 5 stars

One of the best documentary series I've ever seen! My children alternate between Life and Planet Earth. we're about halfway thru, there are many hours of entertainment here. This is one of the times where I fully appreciate HD1080p resolution!

PACKAGING :3 of 5 stars

well, the combo box packaging is actually hard to get the sets out of. I've considered several times taking the discs out and putting them in their own CD zip case, if nothing else to keep from wearing out the box set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse