BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno

Life Support
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 29, 2009
I reallly love Tess Gerritsen's books. She writes wonderful stories that scare you to death and that are very fast paced. Aptly described as a page turner, they are very hard to put down.

Where she shines in the genre is in character development. Somewhere on the roller-coster ride story, you come to know and care about her characters.

This story is about a single, thirty-something ER doctor, who is also taking care of her vulnerable, alzeheimer's afflcited mom. The local ER is a small town type where there are ups and downs in activity, but usually on the low to mid area.

Her life takes its first turn when in one night she loses a cardiac patient to death and loses a confused elderly patient to (well no one knows). He was in the ER strapped to a bed when the cardiac patient arrived, and then he was no where to be found.

From there the pace revs up until Dr. Toby Harper is being attacked from all sides. She is being attacked at work for incompetence, and (well I won't give up the whole plot to you), leave it to say, she is even being accused of murder and the police have a warrent out for her arrest.

I will tell you that Toby is a caring and tenacious lady. She is smart and not easily thwarted when she senses that something is very very wrong. This is why she is in trouble. The forces out to get her are real, rich, well respected in the community, and will do anything to shut her up. (Sort of reminds you of Coma).

I would recommend this book for anyone intersted in a fast paced, well written medical thriller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2016
LOVE Tess' books! They are fabulous medical murder mysteries - fairly graphic and very knowledgeable in regards to descriptions. There is only a little "love"... mostly kissing and sleeping together but no graphic details so not out of place & does not deter from the main novel; just adds beautifully to it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
Tess Gerritsens books are completely riveting. D o not even start this one unless you have time to finish it in one sitting, because it's impossible to put it down! Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2017
One of my favorite authors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
tests is such a great writer. I could not put this book down. The plot was so involved that I could not figure out what was going on. I will be reading more of her books for certain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
The topic research Gerritsen does shines through in the way she is able to create a character as a specialist within a field. Life Support is no different in this way. It presents a plausible idea (at least plausible to anyone who isn't rich.. lol), with a couple of current issues many of us face in our aging families. Add another smart woman running around trying to save everyone while tentatively falling in love and you've got a story that keeps the pages turning well into the night :)
I also must add that what I enjoy most about every Gerritsen book I read is the story within the story. A young woman-child makes some bad decisions early in life and finds herself in a nightmare. You can't help but hold your breath for her as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2016
Tess Gerritsen does a fantastic job developing the characters in this book. Tess was able to weave the main characters together although their place in life were so vastly different.

This was a book that I could not put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
This was a gripping story....and disturbing. But all her books are like that. She captures your interest and never lets go. Each plot has variations so one does not feel that you are re-reading a previous book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
Knew from beginning who was going to die and the plot. The subplots were easy to find with one exception. But still a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Good characters, plot, and enough twists to hold interest throughout the book. Gore and violence in some spots, steady, but always had my interest. The author's medical knowledge shows in her writing and it is authentic. The ending seemed sudden and "chopped off."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Harvest
$17.90
Gravity
$6.17

Need customer service? Click here