Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 167 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 246 reviews
on July 24, 2016
This series of books, along with Autobiography of a Yogi, defined my philosophy in my college years and for the rest of my life..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
This volume will enlighten your mind to a whole new world of consciousness. Anyone on a spiritual journey looking for purpose and direction, this needs to be in your collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
Great set of books. Highly recommended reading for serious seekers after the truth about life. Heavily slanted towards Christianity with an admixture of Hindu philosophy. A lot of the text is full of fantastic recounting of Mr. Spalding's expeditions through India, Tibet, the Gobi, however, they all agree with my intuitive understanding.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2015
Whether this story is fact or fiction, I believe it is inspired work! There were amazing feats and aha's that kept me engaged, surprised and thrilled throughout the book! As a New Thought student and metaphysician, there is a great deal of Truth principles taught at a deep level, some of which I had to read and re-read to digest. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
While somewhat esoteric for some, it has essential truth that passes the test of time (which is really just an illusion, anyway). I LOVE the series, and find it very uplifting to reread select sentences or paragraphs each day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2006
I can see how western civilization readers may have a very difficult time accepting Life and Teachings as nothing more than black magic. It goes very deep. This is not a series of books that you sit down and read like the DaVinci code. Have you ever, as an example, opened up the King James version of the New Testament at your hotel room and tried to actually read it and take any of it in? Its tough. Not a page turner. Kind of boooorrring. No wonder we have sunday church to get us through it all. Life and Teachings has to be read in small bites people. Really. Yes, there is a message of sorts that comes out of it: Your religion is right. So is your neighbors and so is there neighbors. Yet it doesnt focus so much on "religion" as it does on the human potential. Thats where its at. And, thats where this read keeps going. This is not an easy book series to get through. Dont pick it up and expect "an answer" right away. You have to work a bit. Like a textbook rather than a Dan Brown Novel. It's laughable that people who read about "men that move mountains or part waters etc" can't comprehend it in anything other than magic. Life and Teachings is a thinker series. You read a bit. You stop. You think. Pick it up later and read some more. Not entertaining nor was it meant to be, but it strikes a lightning bolt at a few nerve endings you didnt know you had. And, no, you won't have to send any money to a special group or PO Box at the end. They dont have a Web site either. Baird Spalding is quite dead as are all the other scientists that went into those mountains in the late 1800's that resulted in this book series. Read it. Don't worry. You won't grow hair on your palms and it won't corrupt your 21st century thinking on modern christianity. The message of Life and Teachings is; Put down your swords. Everyone's right about why we "are". Buddah, Jesus, Allah, Mohammmed, everyone of you....YOu all came down the same road from the same hilltop and this is an excellent tutorial on how that could be and examples of the human potential. Its nothing new. No revelations. Millions of years have gone by and its all still the same except on-going arguments.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
This is an amazing series which provides universal truths which will awaken you to levels of understanding of the universe we are all a part of. It is transformational in that you will forever view life through a different reference framework and you will find more inner-peace and harmony in all aspects of your life. It is a must to read and to gift to other seekers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2010
Having read hundreds of book on Spirituality, Quantum Physics, Miracles, etc. This 6 Volume set of "Life and Teachings of Masters of Far East" is by far the best of all. Most of the concepts mentioned in this book are scientifically proved. Study books on Quantum physics, Intention experiment, Zero Point Energy, Holographic Universe and you find many recently discovered things mentioned in the book written in the last century. It is not religious book, I mean you do not have to be a Christian to understand these concepts. Lot of people say "I am practical person and I do not believe in this crap, miracles etc". All I have to say to them is my dear brother, whether you believe it or not, most the concepts have been scientifically proven and many brilliant people are doing research in some of the best universities in the world. The GREAT LAW is effecting you ever day life whether you know it or not. Ignorance of this Great Law is the greatest sin. So, be open mined and allow your self to understand these concepts and evolve.

All this book has to say is, there is no need to live in this miserable Dog eat Dog world. All we need to do is to transform our consciousness to that of I AM or Christ Consciousness and you can experience anything you desire. The transformation is not a very difficult and boring process like long hours of meditation or chanting or living in isolation. All you need to do is love life, have fun, do what you like with out troubling others, be happy, change your limiting beliefs. Change your beliefs change your life.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2017
Fascinating. It is hard sometimes to believe is true. I am almost done with the first book and I can't wait to read the other ones. I just regret that so far, Spadling does not tell us how these Masters became masters (what are their practices,...?). Beautiful stories about beautiful god realized beings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2009
Seekers of the Truth , the deep truth, the inner truth, look not to become followers, of anything or anyone. Each thought that hear, each experience they have, they reflect on. They look into their own heart to find what rings true and clear for themselves. Their own inner heart guides them, morsel by morsel . Reading, listening, meditation, prayer all play a role, all are tools . Its the filtering through the This and the That that allows you to get a true reading on your moral compass. Critics who throw out all of what Spalding wrote because of the contraversies surrounding these books are missing out. The same for those who completely dismiss the Bible. I savor my Truths from whatever the source, whether it be out of the mouths of babes,from the setting sun,or a sit-com . Volume One alone gave me enough food for thought, enough Truth , it was worth the price of the entire set...Looking forward to reading the rest..I suggest all do as they counsel you to do in support groups, " Take what you like and leave the rest ..."
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse