Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Get $5 off book purchases over $20* Use promo code GIFTBOOK17 Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New album by morrisey Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
22
Life with Mammoth (Ogg and Bob)
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 13, 2012
Life with mammoth is a great book for children with their two heroes Ogg and Bob. I heard about this series at a writer's conference and bought this and the first book in the series, Meet Mammoth. The dialog is written with a caveman dialect and is fun to read out loud which since this is a children's book, I recommend. I would read this to early readers and also have young readers read it since the chapters are short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
You need to make a look inside option for kids kindle books. the print on this is too small and my child will not read it because of that fact. I have wasted money on this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The other day, the resident five-year-old was in bed with a fever. Since I wanted her to rest, I was reading a variety of books to her and, tired as she was, she was barely paying attention.

Until we met Ogg and Bob and Mug the Mammoth.

Within a few moments of my reading, my drowsy little patient had her eyes wide open. Moments later, she was cracking up at Ogg and Bob's adventures. Fever forgotten, the three simple little chapters in this book delighted her...and this was all before she even saw the illustrations.

When it was over far too soon, I was entreated to read it again. This time, she curled up next to me and looked at the funny, colorful illustrations as I read - laughing even more as she finally saw the pictures that went with the text.

Now, at first the mom in me cringed a bit at the grammar, but I soon got used to the "caveman speak" in the book and it added to the caveman feel. My daughter loved it - it was part of what made her laugh.

Well, the munchkin is over her fever (as evidenced by her request for milkshakes and fries), but she still loves this book and has asked me to re-read it. She's also asked for more Ogg and Bob books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a fun follow-up book to _Meet Mammoth_ (read that one, first!). In it, Ogg and Bob have more adventures with their pet mammoth, Mug.

There are three stories in this book. In the first, Ogg notices a bad smell, and Bob tells him it's Mug. This begins an adventure of trying to find the mammoth in all sorts of silly places, like up in a tree and under a rock. In the second story, Ogg is really unhappy with the looks of their cave, and decides to redecorate with a cave drawing. Their drawing is less than ideal, but it's Mug to the rescue. In the final story, Ogg and Bob argue about which one of them is Mug's best friend. They're surprised when they finally find out who really is.

The language is authentic caveman--or, at least, our cliche version of how it would be--so the reading is fun. The artwork really adds to the humorous tone of the book. Although it appears in the "Meet the Characters" section of the first book as well, my favorite comment is: "Bob doesn't like bugs or being eaten by saber-tooth tigers."

I liked this book better than the first, since all three stories seemed to pretty much have a traditional story arc to them. The first one is especially good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My kids LOVE Ogg and Bob. Ogg and Bob are your typical boneheaded cavemen. They talk in the third person about themselves, they are bumbling and get easily outsmarted by their pet mammoth, Mug, and they argue about silly things...but they are lovable and endearing. Ogg and Bob Life with Mammoth is a very simple book for kids to read. My kindergartener read this book with ease, and really enjoyed the story. The kids really loved how Mug the Mammoth acted like a big furry dog, and how funny Ogg and Bob were when interacting with Mug. The illustrations are colorful and cheerful and the book was broken up into three chapters, so it was nice to read this as a bedtime story book. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 28, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a short chapter book for young kids 6-8 year olds. Book starts with a brief introduction of the 4 main characters: two cavemen (Ogg and Bob), their pet Mammoth (Mug), and a sabertooth tiger who really isn't a character, just a tiger in the last chapter trying to eat them. This book includes a Meet the Characters section, Chapter 1 "Bath Time," Chapter 2 "Cave Art," and Chapter 3 "Best Friends."

My boys are 4 and 2 years old and they handle reading books beyond their age pretty well. Both sat through this book, but they were terribly quiet. I do tend to get amped up reading books to my kids and enjoy doing character voices and inflections. This book is difficult to read that way . . . not difficult, just awkward, and tiring. I can only talk like a caveman for so long. It's a short book, 64 pages, but much of it is illustrations, with a couple lines or an occasional paragraph on each page.

I have read this book to my boys twice (the first time we couldn't get through it). Afterwards the second time I asked my son if he liked the book and he said, "No. It's horrible." He did seem to enjoy the humor of Ogg & Bog rolling in mud and jumping on the wall to leave an imprint, trying to find Mug, and the sabertooth tiger trying to eat them. Really I think the problem is he didn't like the caveman talk and couldn't get into it. He likes stories that flow more naturally.

So for a young reader I wouldn't recommend this book, for older kids maybe, but honestly, as an adult I didn't like it either... so, I don't know. It's an okay book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 19, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is three stories about two silly cavemen, Ogg and Bob, and their mammoth, Mug. In each story, the three friends overcome some simple problem, like wanting to paint their cave, with a fair amount of antics along the way. The dialogue is mostly the choppy speech that people use for cavemen or Tarzan, and the art is a simple but well done cartoony style that goes well with the subject matter.

I think kids who enjoy the humor of the "caveman speak" and the general goofieness of the two friends would go for this book, and it's a good introduction to chapter books. My daughter enjoyed reading it, but wasn't a big enough fan to keep it on her bedroom shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There is a lot to enjoy in this chapter book about the cavemen Ogg and Bob and their pet Mammoth, Mug. The book is composed of three chapters each which is a semi-independent story.

**************** Spoilers Below ************************

The first chapter, Bath Time, shows Ogg and Bob searching for Mug so they can give him a bath. This is a fun chapter because it allows the kids to interact with the story. Ogg and Bob can't seem to find Mug the Mammoth when he hides behind trees, bushes, and a rock, but the kids found him right away. They enjoyed the fact that they could locate Mug when Ogg and Bob couldn't. There were lots of squeals of "There he is! I found Mug!"

The second chapter, Cave Art, was very imaginative. Ogg and Bob try to decorate their cave with drawings, but they are not very artistic. Their stick mammoth is too skinny and then too fat. In walks Mug who is covered in mud. Mug presses against the wall and leaves a mud outline of his body. Ogg and Bob fall in love this new art form so they cover themselves in mud and make impression of themselves on the cave walls too. This chapter inspired a fun finger/hand painting after school activity.

The third chapter, Best Friends, is about Ogg and Bob competing over who is Mug's best friend. But in the end they discover that Mug's best friend is food, and Ogg and Bob are actually best friends.

**************** End of Spoilers ************************

Cute, cute stories and best of all they are written in a caveman dialect.

The illustrations are also a lot of fun. The drawings are crisp and clean and the colors are earth tones and muted shaded of blue and green. Ogg and Bob are drawn to look scruffy and dusty which greatly appealed to the boys. The boys also got a kick out of all the abundant, spiky underarm hair drawn on Ogg and Bob. After reading the book they wanted to check everyone's armpits to see if there was hair growing there. Boys!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Children are fascinated by cavemen. My nine and five year old nephews are no exception. They immediately grabbed this Ogg and Bob, "Life with Mammoth" book when I showed it to them.

Likes:
*Funny escapades of cavemen, Ogg and Bob, their pet mammoth, Mug, and a hungry saber-tooth Tiger by author, Ian Fraser.
*The main characters are brought to life with simple, silly, cartoon style illustrations by Mary Ann Fraser, author/illustrator of many children's books.
*Introduces young readers to Chapters. How each Chapter tells a different story involving the main characters.
*My five year old nephew and his friends laughed with glee while reading this book while his nine year old brother just grinned.

Concerns:
*Sequel to "Meet Mammoth" picture book by the same author and illustrator. Kids will want to know how Mug became Ogg and Bob's pet mammoth. Be prepared to buy both books.
*"Caveman talk" , such as, "No, me wash feet ten days ago.", "Hey, where Mug go?" may sound funny but are not the best dialogue for young readers who are just starting to learn basic grammar. Parents/guardians could quiz children on the correct words Ogg and Bob should have said. Ogg and Bob's speech does evolve to more correct grammar in Chapter 3 where they said, "Nobody eats rocks, Ogg", and "But we still don't know who Mug's best friend is."

Overall:
A silly and fun book to read for younger readers. Kids older than 8 years will find the book too childish. It's always refreshing for parents/guardians to see kids reading a book rather than fixated on the TV, game consoles, or tablets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 7, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My son really enjoyed the first Ogg and Bob book. Meet Mammoth (Ogg and Bob) We read it to him again and again.

So I was very happy to see a new "ogg and bob" book.

My son is still not reading, so, this book is read to him by my wife at bedtimes.

Here are some nice things about this book:
1) You don't have to have read the first one already. You can read "life with mammoth" first.
2) Like the first book, its broken up into several short stories. You can read one story a night, or, read the whole book in one sitting. It doesn't really matter.
3) the words and concepts are very simple.
4) It has some good friendship themes.

Your child won't learn anything about real history or real cavemen in this book. Its not "accurate". But I don't hold that against the book. Books with talking animals aren't accurate either.

So its a fun little book your kids can enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here