Digital List Price: $15.95
Kindle Price: $10.40

Save $0.55 (5%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Lighthouse at the End of the World: The First English Translation of Verne's Original Manuscript (Bison Frontiers of Imagination) by [Verne, Jules]
Kindle App Ad

Lighthouse at the End of the World: The First English Translation of Verne's Original Manuscript (Bison Frontiers of Imagination) Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews

See all 15 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$10.40

Length: 210 pages Word Wise: Enabled
  • Similar books to Lighthouse at the End of the World: The First English Translation of Verne's Original Manuscript (Bison Frontiers of Imagination)

This month's Book With Buzz: "Little Fires Everywhere" by Celeste Ng
From the bestselling author of Everything I Never Told You, a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture - perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. See more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Fans of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and Around the World in Eighty Days may find this work from Verne (1828–1905) austere. In 1859, three sailors arrive on an isolated island to man a new lighthouse at the wreck-prone tippy tip of South America. They soon discover a band of egregious criminals, led by dangerous evildoer Kongre, who have been tricking ships into running aground, killing the survivors and taking the loot. When two lighthouse men go to assist a ship and are killed, serious trouble ensues. Characters are cardboard; the action slight, though violent; the plot simple; and the encounter between decency and evil on an island one-dimensional. Posthumously published in 1905, the book was translated into English in 1923, but this is the first English translation from Verne's original manuscript. (Sept.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

“William Butcher’s text has an easy, graceful rhythm; it preserves the allusive complexity of the original prose.” —Michael Crichton
(Michael Crichton 2007-04-02)

“A lively modern translation of one of Verne’s tensest, tautest thrillers, a lean, ferocious, breakneck yarn readers will devour in a single evening. William Butcher renders action scenes with great color and dash, dialogues with sparkling fluency. . . . His research, commentaries, and analyses are riveting new contributions to our understanding of this Protean novelist. Outstanding entertainment, admirable scholarship.”—Frederick Paul Walter, Verne translator and specialist
(Frederick Paul Walter 2007-04-02)

"[W]e're in the midst of a Verne renaissance brought on by new manuscripts, improved translations, and scholarly reassessments. . . . Thanks to efforts such as Mr. Butcher's . . . it's now possible for the rest of us to see Verne more clearly than ever before.”—John J. Miller, Wall Street Journal
(John J. Miller Wall Street Journal 2007-09-16)

"Lighthouse at the End of the World might be best read under the covers, after bedtime, by flashlight. It is a wondrous, old-fashioned adventure story, likely to bring out the little boy, the castaway, the pirate and the lighthouse-keeper in every reader."—Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times Book Review
(Susan Salter Reynolds Los Angeles Times Book Review 2007-09-23)

“It’s a cracking good novel, and William Butcher’s commentary is superb.”—SFRA Review
(SFRA Review 2008-05-26)

Product details

  • File Size: 1636 KB
  • Print Length: 210 pages
  • Publisher: Bison Books (November 30, 1923)
  • Publication Date: November 30, 1923
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0041O4RLE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,178,133 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

VINE VOICEon May 22, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2011
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2002
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Lighthouse at the End of the World: The First English Translation of Verne's Original Manuscript (Bison Frontiers of Imagination)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Lighthouse at the End of the World: The First English Translation of Verne's Original Manuscript (Bison Frontiers of Imagination)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?