Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$38.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 86 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 332 reviews
on March 18, 2015
Growing up as a Nirvana fan, I remember having a box of cassette tapes with live performances and demo tracks that got traded among friends. This was at the height of the band's popularity, so the general feeling was that a lot of this stuff would eventually come out on a future album. Things didn't work out that way, so having heard those tapes a lot of people know there is a massive trove of material that is still unreleased.

With The Lights Out feels a lot like those tapes, with a wide variety of material in varying quality. There are live recordings, alternate versions of released songs, and demo recordings of songs. 68 of these songs are billed as unreleased, which on paper is a great selling point. In the actual listening, though, be aware that some of these songs are very rough. The box includes 3 audio CDs and a DVD of various live material. The DVD is the weakest part of the set. It's probably something you'll watch once and never revisit. Even so, the 3 CDs are worth getting the box for if you're a fan.

As the band is long gone and the remaining material under tight control, this set is the closest I've felt to my younger days of tape trading in a long time. For fans of the group, it's pretty close to a must have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
Not all of it is good in the box set, but some rare gems to be heard in the large mine. If you really like Nirvana, need to get this. High fidelity sound system recommended for this one. Best with tube amplifiers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
No doubt about it, this is a must-own for all Nirvana fans. The plethora of previously unreleased recordings was well-worth the wait and the price. Yes there are a number of songs we've all heard before, but the intimacy of some of the recordings really reignites that connection that so many of us felt when Kurt and Nirvana broke out in the early 90's. There is also a very nice book included detailing their career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
If you are a NIRVANA fan, you need this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2010
I like it a lot! It's b-sides and unreleased stuff from Nirvana between 1987 and 1993. A lot of new stuff for the ones who didn't get any bootleg versions of those songs in the late 1990's (there was a bootleg fashion at that time).

The songs aren't all good. You can guess why the Nirvana's producers decided not to release those songs at some times. The songs (covers among them) aren't all good, but it's felt from the most sincere musician feeling. Cobain is, as usual, the very true artist he was. You can feel it in every song. I liked "Old age", a song previously planned to appear on the «Nevermind» album. Sure, this one was out of place for such an album, but it could have made a good hit!

This release, made more than 15 years after Cobain's death, was hard to make. Novoselic and Grohl made all they can to compile it but with Courtney Love's power on those songs, it was hard, but they succeed!

As for me, who is a Nirvana fan since 1990, I think it's a "must-have". A little expensive if you buy a new copy (more than 99$), but if you buy it on amazon or any website with second hand stuff, it worth to buy it!

Great compilation of unreleased stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2011
This is a great way to see how Nirvana evolved over the years and a great way to get a best of set. This album contains demos, acoustic versions and raw live versions of pretty much every one of your favorite songs. I'm amazed at just how much stuff is packed into this collection from recordings at Kurt's home to early live shows to versions of the songs that show them as works in progress.

The DVD included in the set is worth the money alone. It has gems like performances in small Seattle coffee shops, a set that looks like it was played in one of the band member's homes and the first time Dave Grohl appeared in a show as the drummer for the band.

Some of the demos are so good that I actually prefer them to the album versions of the songs. The live versions both on the CDs and DVD are a real treat since I never had a chance to see the band live. This set was entirely worth the money and I'm glad I was able to experience it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
Best Nirvana release ever! For absolute Nirvana fans only. Not for mainstream(Top 40) listeners. Great for grunge rock fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2006
I first heard Nirvana on a Cassette that was put together on a free-music cassette by Coca-Cola in 1991. Back then I was in college in the Midwest and this type of music didn't fit Contemporary Rock, Classic Rock, nor the Screaming-Guitar-Vocal ANGER SESSION of some bands that I could barely understand. This band had a sound that was pure emotion with an appropriate angst, pain, and intelligible tone. It was moving - I could relate. I hadn't felt something this exciting since the first time I felt like I connected with Led-Zeppelin! It was truly and fittingly addictive, just as the life of Kurt Kobain. Everything that he did (legally/morally/artistically) he did at FULL-THROTTLE.... and THAT later consumed him. Wow... I wonder what he would be doing about now? For some reason, I see him organizing the likes of Carlos Santana, Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, or maybe a twist of Stevey Ran Vaughn (maybe...?). We'll never know.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
Its NIRVANA...heck ya!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Fun to have as a collector but probably wouldn't get otherwise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here