Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $12.01 (46%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Limelight: A Novel by [Poeppel, Amy]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Limelight: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 56 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99

Length: 417 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Will strike a chord in every reader." (US Weekly)

"With well-developed characters and an engaging plot, Poeppel's sophomore effort (after Small Admissions) is sure to please the many fans of the her first novel." (Library Journal)

"Written with heaps of humor and just as much heart, LIMELIGHT is a testament to the transformative power of good mothering, the magic of the stage and the allure of Manhattan--even if you arrive in a Ford explorer with Texas plates." (The Washington Post)

"Amy Poeppel's charming read lifts the curtain on celebrity culture." (Us Weekly, The Best of Spring Reads)

"LIMELIGHT is a unique blend of the audacious celebrity lifestyle and the challenges of modern-day mothers. It's clear that Poeppel is passionate about her love of Broadway and life in New York City, but above all, the story takes the spotlight off the stage and points to the importance of a strong family unit--no matter how that may look." (Associated Press)

"Readers, prepare to be surprised by this unexpected and unique novel. Told from the perspective of a middle-age substitute teacher, Limelight explores the theme of family in all of its interesting and unconventional forms. The characters are breathtakingly open and honest." (RT Book Reviews)

"Such a delight! I rise to a standing ovation for Limelight, especially for dialogue that had me marveling on every page. Carter Reid has to be the most wonderfully/perfectly rendered spoiled celebrity brat I’ve encountered on the page. Brava, Amy Poeppel!" (Elinor Lipman, author of ON TURPENTINE LANE and THE INN AT LAKE DIVINE )

“A delightful, twist-of-fate tale of a suburban transplant whose new Manhattan life collides with that of a troubled pop star on the cusp of his Broadway debut. LIMELIGHT is a quintessential New York story of motherhood, family, and fairy-tale possibilities. A must-read for fans of Lauren Weisberger and Sophie Kinsella.” (Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Husband Hour )

“An absolute delight! Celebrity culture and modern motherhood collide in a warm and witty love letter to Broadway, told with Poeppel’s pitch-perfect wit and smart, breezy style. Allison and Carter are the odd couple you've been waiting for. Hysterical!” (Georgia Clark, author of THE REGULARS and THE BUCKET LIST )

"Amy Poeppel has pulled out all the stops to create an authentic inside glimpse into the theater world." (Tony Shalhoub, actor )

"The story of a Broadway primadonna and the behind-the-scenes theatrical world made Amy Poeppel's novel very special for me . . . A wonderful read!" (Roger Horchow, Tony Award-winning Broadway producer )

"Witty, assured, and remarkably tender, Limelight is a grade-A delight. Once again, Poeppel shows us that she's a master of observation. With her as a guide, everything--ranging from motherhood, to New York City, to hilariously spoiled teen idols--takes on a new, refreshing glean." (Grant Ginder, Author of PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING )

"LIMELIGHT is a fun peek into the world of teen idols and Manhattan life." (MSN.com, "Best New Books You Should Read This Spring")

"Allison is my new fictional BFF, I could not get enough of her from the moment I read the first chapter. She's gutsy, witty, caring and a little crazy, but she's real." (NovelGossip)

"If you want a story with wonderful characterizations and an insider's look at Broadway (with a cameo appearance by Kevin Kline), and one that will make you laugh, LIMELIGHT has you covered. I highly recommend it." (The Citizen (Auburn))

"There's very little that's controversial here. It's a book about an entirely competent middle-aged woman organizing, cajoling, scheduling and strategizing her way through a series of obstacles. That's precisely what makes the novel so delightful. Yes, Allison name-drops Kevin Kline, New York restaurants and fashion designers. But women everywhere will recognize and appreciate her as a Woman Who Gets Stuff Done." (The Dallas Morning News)

About the Author

Amy Poeppel is the author of Small Admissions, which was first performed as a reading at the Actors Studio. Amy has worked as a stage actress and teacher and now lives with her husband and three sons in New York City and Frankfurt, Germany.

Product details

  • File Size: 3191 KB
  • Print Length: 417 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1501176374
  • Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books (May 1, 2018)
  • Publication Date: May 1, 2018
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B075RTTLP3
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,012 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 56 customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

May 1, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 5, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 1, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
May 1, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May 20, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May 23, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May 6, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May 14, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Limelight: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Limelight: A Novel