Buying Options

Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $13.51 (82%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Limits of the World: A Novel by [Jennifer Acker]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Limits of the World: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 52 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.99

Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months on Audible. Limited-time only.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Acker unwinds a complex intergenerational story of immigration, culture, family, partnership, and ethics in her skillful debut. Fans of Jhumpa Lahiri or Yaa Gyasi will want to check out Acker’s elegant saga.” Publishers Weekly
 
“Acker’s debut is a carefully drawn portrait of a family constrained by choices... a rare but honest look at the way parents, children, and spouses talk to one another but don’t always hear what’s being said. A thoughtful, deeply researched debut.” —
Kirkus Reviews
 
The Limits of the World is such a smart, compassionate, and elegant novel, so deeply invested in morality and the subtleties of families, cultures, and continents, that it feels delicious and exciting to recall that this is Jennifer Acker's début.” —Lauren Groff, author of Florida
 
The Limits of the World is the most masterful debut novel I have read in years. In beautiful, understated prose, it shows the complicated ways in which family splits and regathers. In this wise, loving book I saw my mother’s family, exiled from Nairobi; I saw me.” —Suketu Mehta, author of Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found
 
“Evocative and profound . . . an intimate novel about family that is, at the same time, an illumination of miscommunication across cultures, an exploration of the legacy of migration in both Africa and the US, and a philosophical rumination on ethical behaviors. Jennifer Acker’s is a wise and honest literary voice.” —Claire Messud, author of
The Woman Upstairs
 
The Limits of the World is a riveting and nuanced study of how we belong—to a lover, a family, a country. The prose is beautiful, the story is refreshingly original, and the characters are achingly human. The novel announces Acker as a writer of deep feeling and intelligence, a formidable writer whose talent is limitless.” —Bret Anthony Johnston, author of Remember Me Like This
 
“The world of the 21st century is transnational, connected, and small, and the only remaining borders we have left are of our own design. From the Harvard Halls of Boston to the grassy plains of Nairobi, this unabashedly intelligent and beautiful book of generational conflict, culture clashes, and immigrant assimilation reminds us the limits of this world depend entirely on the sizes our hearts, our capacity to love ourselves and each other.” —Scott Cheshire
, author of High as the Horses Bridle
 
The Limits of the World travels vast distances, not only from India to Kenya to the United States, but also from grandfather to mother to son. A gorgeously written, bravely honest novel about moral philosophy and love: the difficult kind, the beautiful kind, and every other kind in between.” —Katherine Hill, author of The Violet Hour
 

About the Author

Jennifer Acker is founder and editor in chief of The Common. Her short stories, essays, translations, and reviews have appeared in the Washington Post, Literary Hub, n+1, Guernica, The Yale Review, and Ploughshares, among other places. Acker has an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars and teaches writing and editing at Amherst College, where she directs the Literary Publishing Internship and organizes LitFest. She lives in western Massachusetts with her husband. The Limits of the World is her debut novel.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07NGD5NHD
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Delphinium Books (April 16, 2019)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 16, 2019
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1579 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 235 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 52 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Jennifer Acker is the author of the debut novel The Limits of the World, and she is the founder and editor in chief of The Common. Her short stories, essays, translations, and reviews have appeared in the Washington Post, Literary Hub, n+1, Guernica, the Yale Review, Off Assignment, and Ploughshares, among other publications. Acker has an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars and teaches writing and editing at Amherst College, where she directs the Literary Publishing Internship and LitFest. She lives in western Massachusetts with her husband. For more information, visit www.jenniferacker.com.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
52 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 1, 2019
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 17, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 10, 2019
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 22, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on February 1, 2020
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 24, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 17, 2019
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 18, 2019

Top reviews from other countries

Mandy Rattner
5.0 out of 5 stars A phenomenal read!
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on February 3, 2020
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?