Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 196 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 206 reviews
on September 8, 2016
A very good, if over the top crime show. Not realistic in every sense, but explores the human themes of fallibility, naivety, deceitfulness, love and hatred. The kidnapping of a police officer by drug dealers was not realistic, it seemed to be put in to adhere to crime drama conventions. The officer wouldn't have gone to the spot where he was kidnapped without backup, and law enforcement takes off the gloves when one of their own is in that kind of danger. But hey, Macbeth isn't totally realistic either.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2016
Very good show although the AC unit cops are completely obnoxious and often inept. Tony Gates is arrogant and entitled but is a great character, however I would've enjoyed the series more if the AC unit cops had a shred of personality. They're worse than some of the robots on Law and Order. Also it's funny how they can just tell their boss that they won't listen to him and he basically just thanks them for ignoring him. Honestly though it's still a very good show.
Series 2 is even better until the end, which is terrible. They arrest and convict the wrong person with almost no evidence whatsoever. She doesn't even admit to anything either.. Seems like they hit the point where it needed to end and slapped some contrived ending together just to comply with the required duration. Or perhaps just couldn't come up with an ending that made any sense... Sometimes the story can get so complex that the writers back themselves into a corner and have to tie it all together with a terrible ending just to not contradict the events of the twists and subplots. Well directed though and fun to watch, I'd recommend this show even with it's frustrating holes and good guys that constantly irritate me.It's just not a show where I root for the good guys, and the worst of the bad guys always get away free at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2016
Fascinating series about the paradoxes of corruption in an institution, the police force, designed to enforce law and thereby to some extent also required to be a paradigm of moral behavior in order to operate effectively in society at large. The uses of blackmail and intimidation by the corrupt police officers is subtly shown, as is how these officers are able to evade justice because of the burden of factual proof, intended to protect the innocent but sometimes also protecting the guilty.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2016
Difficult to believe that so many "professionals" could make so many errors contrary to experienced, well trained officers/agents.
These constantly detract from the story which by itself is convoluted and bears listening to follow. I will admit that I have some difficulty hearing at my age and after almost 40 years of loud noises, shots fired, and explosives, I still have not fully learned the languages of the isles. Still, the actions of the officers and generally insulting behavior would not be acceptable in my past affiliations with both national and international agencies. Tighten the script, clean up the mistakes, and the series would be greatly improved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2016
This was an excellent police drama, suspenseful and intelligent. We will go on to the second season with high hopes. A strong film noir plot where errors in judgement spin an ever widening web that proves difficult to escape from. A surprise ending that provides noble redemption. See it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
Wow. What a series. I found it compelling and harrowing. This is not about "white hats" vs. "black hats". Nothing is that simple in this excellent show. There is some graphic violence but none of it seems gratuitous. I did have to look away and turn the sound off a couple of times - but that's just me.

Give it a try. If it works for you, you will be very glad you found it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
Totally on the edge of your seat, brilliantly acted police show.I won't spoil plot, best to watch!!!
Hastings (Adrian Dunbar) the boss of AC-12 really does an excellent job. In my opinion one of the best actors out there.
After series 1 you'll quickly move on to 2 and 3, all three absolutely 10 out 10.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
I love British procedurals where the characters are complex and sometimes deeply flawed. There are no heroes here also, just compelling performances and interesting situations and characters. Sometimes the viewer roots for one protagonist and in the next scene you root for his foe. I thought this was very well done and it came at it from a different angle. Loved it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2016
This is a tense, interesting series! We have watched all seasons and can hardly wait until the next season gets released in the U.S. Quite impressed with the cast, characters and plots presented! I did find myself comparing the activities of these cops compared to how American cops are usually portrayed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
Excellent cast and tight story line. Well written, suspenseful and addictive. I watched all 3 seasons((season 3 was included with my hulu account).
Really enjoyed how each season was a complete story yet select characters followed through all 3 seasons. Another great British program!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse