BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Kidz Bop $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 30, 2016
I haven't finish it, but I appreciate the details and depth of information from this book. To get more of this book, I highly recommend rereading multiple time and use it as a reference;
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
I am new to Linux and was looking for help in logging. The book was excellent at explaining the operating systems configuration and where logs should be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2016
Excellent information on the Linux operating system. If you use Linux, this is a perfect go to book for any information. I recommend this book and the Linux OS. I used Linux in place of Win 10...... just too many problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Like the tittle says " Bible".... A must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2016
Has all the information. Maybe the index could have been larger. Excellent demonstrations included it got me to understand and set up LVM. CLI driven but mentions GUI applications. The text portion is well written and understandable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
Thank You
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
Though much of this book is concerned with non-GUI programs, it gives me an excellent coversge of commands that get things done in a direct and speedy way. I have used a lot of those commands already. I am new to linux but many, many years ago i worked in a unix environment and they are similar. If you want to really learn linux, this book should be on your shelf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2005
This book is about Red Hat 9, with the Red Hat 9 CDs included. Red Hat 9 is no longer supported by Red Hat. They have moved on to Fedora and Red Hat Enterprise. But Red Hat 9 is still supported by 3rd parties, and is probably the best of the Linux versions for older computers.

I have a 1998 Gateway Solo laptop. Red Hat 9 is the only version of Linux which allows everything on it to work. The sound system on this laptop does not work with Fedora or any other version of Linux. But it is completely compatable with Red Hat 9.

If you are looking at 3rd party software, normally you will find they support Red Hat 7 thru 9, Fedora, and Debian.

If you install a fedora system, much of the book can be used as a reference.

If you get this book/Cd set, I would also suggest getting "Running Linux" 4th edition by Welsh, Dalheimer, Dawson, and Kaufman. Published by O'Reilly. This book covers all versions of Linux and will compliment the Red Hat Bible.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
Great book for beginners and intermediates. From start to finish, it felt like a teacher teaching a class but it's not as boring as a real class. The author tries to keep the readers into the book and it's very useful. Good step into the door of system administrator as it teaches you variations of Linux but mostly focuses on RHEL/Centos and Fedora as it is more company standard. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
A great reference manual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse