Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on February 26, 2017
Honestly, this is the only Linux certification book I've ever used but O'reilly books are some of the best and this particular LPIC book is really laid out nicely. Very readable with bold-face print for ease of absorbing the material.

I don't put a huge amount of stock into certifications but they do give you a proven set of knowledge with which to start.
This is a critical component of building out your knowledge base on a new subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
I also used LPIC-1: Linux Professional Institute Certification Study Guide: (Exams 101 & 102) and LPIC-1/CompTIA Linux+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide. Nutshell provided a way to review the salient points without all the window dressing. "Just the facts mam." And it also touched on a few things not in the other books that did show up on my exams. Well worth it as an adjunct to the other two or, I imagine, if you're already skilled with Linux its an excellent reminder of the things you need to keep in mind going into the exams.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
Good book, it really helped me pass the LPI certification, even if some questions in the LPI weren't covered. I feel however that the knowledge this book gives is more important than knowing the answer: it's a great and deep introduction to Linux, it's architecture and common commands, and while some topics are outdated or are no longer relevant, it's still a great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
Laiid out really well. Walks the line between testing and teaching as well as any book I have seen. Not likely to be sufficient as your only reference but not because the author didn't try.

Linux just has too many varieties for my taste.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
Easy to read, good for begginers, and full of pratical examples and explanation on commands. It's THE book to read if you want LPI certification.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
Very well written study guide. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
It was a good companion book, and went over very relevant information, yet it's nutshell limitedness makes in insufficient for passing this certification.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2016
Excellent deal!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
Read the book and keep focus on the LPI test. Hope me luck
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2014
Great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse