Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
69
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.95+ $3.99 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 69 reviews
on September 13, 2016
I originally bought this book to keep as one of several Linux reference books. After going through it a number of times, it has become my go-to reference book for any Linux-related topics I feel I need to brush up on. Even being nearly 10 years old, it still provides value to me on a daily basis. The topics are well-covered. They don't go into excruciating detail about every single thing, but they are comprehensive in the amount of topics they cover. Do you want to know how to run Linux from the command line? This is your book. Do you want to know how to configure services such as httpd, smtp, and others? This is your book. Do you want to become proficient at making your way around the system, running processes, and even status of memory, and hardware? This is your book. It uses Fedora linux as the base for its material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
It's an okay, lookup book, would not really call it a guide. But it's okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2014
If you are partially experienced with the Linux command line interface, this book is great to have, and essential if you are off the internet.

Reference-style detail is given to the most valuable commands you will come across. Also has tricks and tips for user and administrator tools.

As a former engineering educator, I can recommend this book as a supplemental textbook for a systems administration course. For the price, the students will thank you too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2016
One of my favorite books for a Linux quick reference. Great for anyone starting to use Linux to get an introduction to all of the commands. Also good for the experienced admin to have the fundamentals at your fingertips to refresh at a moments notice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
I do recommend this book because:
- provide a very good explanation on the basic Linux concepts;
- provide a very good summary of all the basic linux commands. The list of commands is very complete.
- it is good reference book to have on your desk, if you work on Software development on Linux OS or if you just want to learn Linux.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2015
Would rather that this be an indexed computer document - decent book but rather tedious. But then, who can expect more?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2009
While this book utilizes Fedora core as a reference it's cross applicable to using shell commands through terminal. It was a great help to me during my Introduction to Unix class and quickly looking up command syntax to complete homework and some troubleshooting with Ubuntu. I would recommend as an important tool to keep handy for reference while using any Linux distro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2010
This is the book every Linux person should have. Great introductory part for those unfamiliar with the Linux commands and a detailed part describing all the important Linux commands under heaven, all in a very small book you can carry anywhere. In fact you cannot go wrong with technical books from O'Reilly because they only publish the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A pocket sized guide to the essential commands of Linux. While specific to an older version of Fedora, this is still a very handy reference. All the essential commands are covered and explained.

This is a small book with a limited purpose and it acheives its goals. More or less indispensable for the Linux user.

Jerry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
I have this near a computer that has Linux on it. I reference this from time to time. I suggest that you have it on a bookshelf too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse