Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Material Type: bamboo|Size: Set Of 1|Change
Price:$6.89+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2013
I don't understand why Lipper International or whom ever produces these would think it a good idea to laquer a natural alternative cooking utencil!? ...Really? They were nicely sanded and no splinters were present but that only matters if you plan to use them as decorations or anything else you can think of, except meal prep or cooking, of course...I guess my kids can use them to play with in the sand box.
review image review image review image
1212 comments| 292 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
These seemed like a good deal and came well shaped and sanded BUT with some kind of varnish/urethane/?? coating on them. It's way too hard a coating to just be oil and it's not shellac (which is food-safe) since alcohol doesn't remove it. Whatever it is, I don't want it in my food. It might be ok for a salad spoon or something but when cooking with these, some of this will definitely come off into the food. None of my other bamboo utensils have this and they've held up perfectly over years of use. Bottom line, I think a lot of people buy bamboo utensils to be green, natural and avoid plastics/chemicals so I don't know why they spray this 'whatever' on them. At the very least they can say they do that in the description and if it's something natural and safe, tell us what it is. Went to the 'Lipper International' website and it was similarly useless with actually LESS description there of their own product than the minimal details on Amazon. I would cost too much to return so it's a loss for me, but I'd advise others to pass on these unless they can figure out what that crap is and that you're ok with it in your food.
99 comments| 227 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2011
I have been using this set for a few weeks now, and am absolutely impressed. This inexpensive set is nicely formed and cleanly finished. Besides the environmental benefits of using fast-growing bamboo instead of harvesting hardwoods for simple utensils, bamboo is much more forgiving of soaking or an occasional trip through the dishwasher that will destroy wooden spoons. The bamboo paddles that I have been using for years have outlasted wooden spoons and plastic spatulas. They are gentle enough to use on non-stick surfaces but more heat resistant than plastic/teflon.

If you did get a set with a few rough spots, just rub them against each other to burnish away any odd spots. Like an old leather jacket, my older bamboo paddles have slowly gained a nice patina over years of use. The handles are smooth from hours of use, and one has scorch marks from sitting on the edge of a pan on a high flame. That level of use has ruined more expensive tools. What's not to love?
0Comment| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
We had the same experience that other negative reviews listed: the wood is so poorly sanded down that you risk getting splinters from the handles and stirring parts. The finishing lacquer was also so badly done that it had runs all down the spoon handles.

No thanks - a total waste of money.
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2011
got these for my wife as she needed some wooden spoons, they were smooth unlike some other reviews. they are cheap and work great!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
Very poor quality bamboo. The ends of the utensils were heavily splintered and all of the pieces were unusable. In this case, the low price of the product was definitely too good to be true. Luckily, the return process was easy and prompt.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2012
Aside from the typical discoloration you find with regular use, this set has not cracked, chipped or splintered; even after six months of heavy use and dishwasher cleaning, they're still going strong! For the price, you can't go wrong...
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2010
Set arrived with rough-hewn edges and splinters that had to be pulled off. It's a cheap set, so I'll keep it. The Joyce Chen bamboo utensils were smoother and polished. Bamboo doesn't melt in the fry pan, so it's versatile and eco-friendly.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2015
I bought this Lipper set of bamboo utensils and was alarmed by the shiny finish. My other bamboo spoons (Pampered Chef) did not have a shiny finish on them when new. It is scary that these utensils are coated with a shiny finish like polyurethane or lacquer. With the numerous & documented food & product safety issues with items made in China, I do not trust the finish to be non toxic, so I am returning these utensils.

In the photo if you look at the top of the utensils, you can see the shine from the finish. The label states "Utensilios De Bambu" and "Bambu 100% natural." "Made in China." While bamboo is natural, the finish may not be. The label should disclose which chemicals are used in the finish.
review image
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
I don't know if I got a bad batch or what, but these were covered with splinters. They are being returned and I will get the $3 ones from walmart.
review image
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here