Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services gotcatchup gotcatchup gotcatchup  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 12 reviews
on March 20, 2017
This is the second book that I’ve read by the talented author Margaret Lake. Once more it is refreshing to read a romance where the female character is equally as strong as the men, and there is no ugly hint of dominance osubmissive. I guess that is why I prefer clean romance such as this one. I’d enjoyed the prequel to Listen To Your Heart; this book has even greater depth of plot and character development.

The time setting is post World War I so there is a feeling of a period read to satisfy the historical romance reader. The setting is within a Christian community, but there’s no religiosity in the book, making it an enjoyable read for those who just want a clean romance without the religious dogma. I’d highly recommend Listen To Your Heart, for an enjoyable romance read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2014
This was supposed to be Christian fiction; one of the contenders for the heroine's heart was a minister, all the characters attended church, most were very careful to observe the proprieties. However, when Lena was torn between two men—a widowed minister with two daughters and a wealthy man injured in the war, she never prayed about the decision. The advice from her former minister's wife was to listen to her heart. The only time I recall reading the word prayer in the book was when Lena said she would pray for her wealthy suitor. If you choose Christian romances simply to avoid explicit language and immoral behavior, this story will satisfy. If you choose Christian romances because you expect a Christian message, this book will disappoint.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
I enjoyed this book. It's an easy-going read. Liked the characters. I think it's supposed to be based back in the 20's - 40's...you know the era is of days-gone-by, but I couldn't really identify the time frame. Some of the story line is kind of week, but I was able to get past it because I always wanted to know what happened next. The entire story reflects a simpler time, although the plot is about the main character (a young, widowed mother) is torn between two very different men - a modest pastor and a rich cripple (who is also a morphine addict...but she doesn't know that). Cute story.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
Enjoyed this story it was great to see her grow up so to speak. It was very interesting how she,came to believ in her self. To step back and look at her strenghts. How she figure out how to decide to listen to her heart and get it right so that she,and her child would have a good life.sad that it was over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
Lena Manning is left a widow when her husband is killed in WWII. She is young and pregnant with only her Mother-in-law for family. Unfortunately the news of hers son's death causes a stroke and Lena is the one left to care for her. The day she dies Lena gowes into early hard labor and almost dies giving birt to her child.
The characters feel like real people and the plot holds your attention. This is a well written and very romantic story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2012
i loved this book. i was very pleasantly surprised. very easy to read and well written. sweet love story. i'd highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
WW1 was a time that brought many changes- men came back horribly injured and traumatized, addicted to the morphine given for the pain- if they came home at all. Enter our heroine widow and pregnant. This young woman comes through hard times and a love triangle that involves a strong man of God and a flawed man who survived WW1 to discover who she really is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
Historical novel, with romance, family, strong Christian values, and intrigue. This was an excellent book, I would more by this author. It was a quick and easy read, it kept my interest. Strong character development, easy to follow adventures.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
A very heart warming story. I was so hoping Lana would choose Charles. I love a happy ending, great book .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
Good story line. Good Characters. A war torn heart is healed with the help of good friends. I will read more of Margaret Lake's books. I liked it because it was clean and a good alternative to the more dramatic, smut filled books that are out there. I am glad Lena made the right decision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse