Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 140 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 151 reviews
on April 17, 2017
We are slowly buying the while series of Dallas as some we missed over the years and good to watch without commercials, we plan to buy all seasons and we also visited SouthFork recently and what a treat to discover all the secrets of the taping of the show, the acting is great, and all the mean lines JR has just a great watch and laughs all the twists and turns of their lives.

The quality of the CD was excellent. But we bought new ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
I did not find any real flaws with the quality of the video. It streamed very well. I have been very pleased with all of my Amazon Video on Demand purchases. It is cool to be able to watch retro TV in a new format. It looks very good considering the age of the footage. If you are a real Dallas fan and you want to know all of the facts as you follow the new Dallas series, this is a season that you won't want to miss. This season is a pivotal point in the series. Jock Ewing (played by the late Jim Davis) does not return during this season. The story reveals how the writers take him out of the show. In the show, they keep him alive up until Episode 13 in January 1982 by allowing the viewers to believe that he is doing work for the government in South America. Sadly, it was due to the real life death of Jim Davis (April 26, 1981). Out of respect for Davis, they allowed the character to die with him instead of replacing him. The whole dynamic of the show begins to change as a result. It is still a great show; however, you never see the show the same after that point. The entire series just seems to build on the storyline as it progresses. Of course it has a few hits and misses like everything else, but overall it is a great watch. You won't regret your purchase if you were a former Dallas fan or if you are just getting started with the new Dallas series! Either way, you will definitely get your money's worth here! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2017
It's a well written, superbly acted soap opera full of all of the tropes one would expect. What's not to love?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
The JR and Sue Ellen story was beginning to get old this season as you wonder what they ever saw in each other in the first place. Sue Ellen briefly seems to enjoy a period of living single rejecting Cliff and JR and realizing that Dusty belongs on rodeo circuit not at home playing daddy. When she finally comes back to JR (after 10 episodes) it appears that after a few weekend visitations with John Ross and she thinks JR has changed. (Funny that's what she thought after he got shot too) A large part of this season seems devoted to their marraige. I found myself wishing they would reunite just to move onto something else. It also points to what would become a major downfall of this show: the stories drag on endlessly.
Sue Ellen's decision to return coincides with the death of Jock so that she returns just in time for the next tragedy. Of course, the death of Jim Davis left a gap in the show that never was really filled. Sue Ellen and JR become closer (after remarrying) and Bobby and Pam grow further apart as the fight for Ewing oil rages on between the brothers.

The storylines towards the end are more entertaining and contain more action. The adoption of Christopher, the truth about Kristen; Lucy's kidnapping, rescue and divorce form Mitch; Cliff's embezzling company funds and suicide attempt. The action seems to take place in the last 7 episodes beginning with the "Malestrom" episode. Actually a little better than season 4 but not as good as 1,2 and 3.

The tour of the ranch in the special features is something of disappointment. The "Southfork" ranchhouse is actually much smaller than it looks on tv mainly because the ranch was used just for outdoor scenes. Indoor scenes were shot in a studio and therefore the inside of the ranchhouse doesn't really look anything like what viewers saw on tv every week.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
I'm not a "Dallas" fan and I never was. I bought this DVD for my elderly, disabled mother and I watch them with her when we have lunch together. She really likes the old Dallas TV show and these DVDs play great. They're packaged well, have episode descriptions, good color and sound, and very readable subtitles in English that we appreciate because the big TV set we watch is an old RCA analog and doesn't have close-captioning. So far, I've purchased Seasons 3, 4 and 5 of Dallas from Amazon, in DVD, and they're just as great. I recommend this DVD collection for fans of the old Dallas TV show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
Yet another great season of Dallas. I was a kid when this show was in its prime. As an adult, I can't get enough of this show. Thank goodness I can get the DVDs here on Amazon. I watch these over and over again. The storylines are better than anything modern. And the drama is so entertaining. The acting is fabulous. If you are a Dallas fan, you won't want to skip out on any of the seasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
I received season 5 of Dallas that I ordered from Amazon.com. I paid the new price, but received a used one from another company. Not only did it look bad from the package, it skipped all throughout the episodes. The last disc would not even play. The disc was so scratched up that the dvd player could not read it. Of course Amazon.com will not replace it, because they had someone else ship it. Amazon.com found this person selling it, but will not make it right with the defective product.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2017
Great product, great service. Fast shipping. Would buy again. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2006
This season of "Dallas" is probably the very best of the series. From the beginning of the following season there were already the early signs of the short falls that would plague the series in ensuing years (sub plot characters that received too much screen time etc) here was the central cast doing what they did best;fly through the crazy story lines with wonderful panache and a sense of humour and Barbara BelGeddes was in her element in this series slowly dealing with the death of her husband. The following season saw the disruption of the Bobby/Pam marriage which was never fully put back together. Here those two characters suffer their traumas but remain strong and loyal to each other, something that was never the same when the script writers started to play havoc with their story lines. Larry Hagman has a ball in this season , plotting, conniving etc and , as stated, the drama is all about the central characters.One disappointment is the lack of audio commentary and the special is a pretty poor show (a tour of the southfork ranch).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
It's the infamous DALLAS TV series so what else can you say!! Just LOVE JR Ewing and all his conniving, evil doings. The ONLY good thing about JR was Bobby, his gorgeous brother. JR was a MASTER of snide put down comments that make you laugh out loud. So entertaining when he goes after the dork brain Cliff Barnes who just never gets that he is not in JR's league and therefore is ALWAYS ripe for setup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse