Buying Options

Kindle Price: $1.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Little Darlings: A Novel by [Melanie Golding]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Little Darlings: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 872 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$1.99
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Little Darlings:

One of:
Amazon's
Best Books of the Month for May: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Refinery29's "Best Summer Thrillers 2019"
Bustle's "10 Horror Retellings Of Your Favorite Classic Stories"
The Nerd Daily's "14 Debut Authors to Discover This April"
Goodreads' "Spring's Most Anticipated mysteries & Thrillers"
The Guardian's "The Best Recent Crime and Thrillers"

"Unforgettable . . . One suspects that the real sorceress here is Golding, whose writing has given a voice to every wronged mother."
The New York Times Book Review

"A lyrical and atmospheric folktale for the modern age, Little Darlings is a gorgeously crafted story that makes even the grimmest of subjects shine."
Bustle

“Atmospheric and very creepy indeed.”
The Guardian

"Golding's novel will strike true fear into the heart of any parent. At the same time, the novel explores the fierce and desperate love we have for our children, written with beautiful intensity . . . A gorgeous, creepy, modern fairy tale reminiscent of Angela Carter."
Kirkus starred review

"A modern story of ghosts and fairy tales . . . Golding beautifully blends the supernatural with the everyday, keeping readers riveted to the page as they question what is true."
Booklist starred review

"Sinister and sickeningly real, Little Darlings is fairy tale-inflected horror . . . that touch[es] on our deepest, most instinctive fears and fairy tales."
Foreword Reviews starred review

"Haunting . . . Fans of psychological thrillers will look forward to Golding’s next novel."
Publishers Weekly

"It'll make you question whether mother really does know best or if motherhood is truly the dream it's made out to be."
Fangoria Magazine

“Chilling story, beautiful prose. Little Darlings is stunning.
—Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

"Ingenious, chilling, and completely absorbing, Little Darlings is destined to be the hit of 2019. The scariest book I have read in many years."
—A. J. Banner, bestselling author of The Good Neighbor

“Deep. Dark. Utterly addictive. I read this extraordinary book in one breathless gulp...Be warned—you can't unread this story. It will haunt you.
—Teresa Driscoll, author of I Am Watching You

“I love this book! Compelling from the first page to the very last, Golding took me by the hand and pulled me softly but persistently through mystery and myth...A masterfully-told story and a beautiful and nuanced work of art.
—Susan Crawford, author of The Pocket Wife

“Dark, compelling and terrifyingly relatable, Little Darlings takes every parent’s worst fear and deftly twists it into something even more horrific. It will have you checking every shadow for what you hope isn’t really there.
—Megan Hart, New York Times bestselling author

"Little Darlings is the perfect marriage of taut psychological thriller and nail-biting horror. A changeling-inspired page-turner of note with a highly satisfying ending, it'll stay with you long after you've read it. I loved it and can't wait to see what Melanie Golding does next.
—Sarah Lotz, author of The White Road

"A twisty, chilling exploration of the dark side of motherhood, brilliantly told by a debut author whose skill is evident from the first page. Any parent—any human, for that matter—will have a hard time putting this book down once they start."
—Brad Parks, international bestselling author of The Last Act

“A story that is in turn enthralling, creepy and downright sinister, Melanie Golding turns fairy tales on their heads in Little Darlings, making this one to watch out for in 2019. A brilliant, heart-pounding read.”
—Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

“Rich and satisfying, this is part who-done-it, part fairy tale, part psychological thriller...Will continue to rattle you, long after you have put it down.”
—Felicity Everett, author of The People at Number 9

Riveting, terrifying and at times heartbreaking...Melanie Golding’s disturbing portrait of a new mother’s paranoia is superbly written, cleverly plotted and gruesomely beautiful in an unforgettable way. A stunning debut.
—Annie Ward, author of Beautiful Bad

Little Darlings is brilliant—beautifully written, disturbing and deliciously creepy.”
—Roz Watkins, author of The Devil’s Dice

"Dark, richly evocative, tense, and thought-provoking. Taps into every woman's fear that she will not be believed."
—Mel McGrath, author of Give Me the Child

"Viscerally creepy and compelling—a contemporary dark fairy tale that reeled me in like tales of old."
—Angela Clarke, author of Follow Me

"Little Darlings gives a thrill so deep it dips at times into pleasure, at Golding's sheer creativity, at her ability to take our most natural and primal life experience and weave into it our most ancient myths, transforming it into high horror. She keeps the reader spellbound until the very end . . . The psychological intensity of this novel is on par with the best."
—Katherine Forbes Riley, author of The Bobcat

"A psychological thriller with a suggestion of the supernatural . . . Golding provides enough reasonable doubt about Lauren’s view of events to keep readers guessing."
Library Journal

From the Back Cover

She’ll do anything to save them.

Lauren, a new mother, is exhausted by the demands of her twin boys. Since coming home from the hospital, she rarely leaves the house. But it isn’t only new motherhood keeping her there. Lauren knows someone is watching them and that someone wants her babies. It started with an incident at the hospital and an emergency call in the middle of the night. No one believes her—not her husband, not the police—until one day in the park when everything changes. The babies, tucked in their stroller, disappear from Lauren’s side. When they are found unharmed, everyone else rejoices. Only Lauren realizes the horrible truth: These are not my children. Is Lauren mad or does she know something no one else does?

A modern twist on the changeling myth and inspired by some of our darkest folklore, Little Darlings is an unsettling psychological thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales and stories that go bump in the night.

--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07H7SGH32
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Crooked Lane Books (April 30, 2019)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 30, 2019
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1461 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 315 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 872 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
872 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

S. Bailey
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, unnerving and truly brilliant!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kerry wadsley
5.0 out of 5 stars A mother knows best
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 7, 2019
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sissel M. Østdahl
3.0 out of 5 stars You either love it or not. Or as I, you are not really sure.....
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 8, 2020
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Fee
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Darlings
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 17, 2019
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mary R
5.0 out of 5 stars Melanie Golding’s brilliantly chilling, haunting and satisfying story is a must-read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Explore similar books

Tags that will help you discover similar books. 14 tags
Results for: 
Where do clickable book tags come from?