BCA Month Beauty Ali: A Life Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pick of the week Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno



on October 5, 2014
This has to be the closest movie version to the book...and also the sweetest. Ricky Schroder makes an adorably boyish Cedric Errol without being prissy, girly, or syrupy sweet. He is just himself! And of course Alec Guinness plays a perfectly gruff and aristocratic earl. Our only quarrel would be with Cedric's mother, who is portrayed as an out-and-out feminist trying to impress people with her stubbornly 'strong mind', instead of the guilessly sweet mother of the book who wins the earl with her kind and gentle ways that remind the earl so strikingly of the little boy he has learned to love. This is overshadowed for the most part, though, with the faithful depiction of the loyal Dick(the boot-black) and the blustery Mr. Hobbs(the grocer)!
The story ends at Christmas, instead of Cedric's birthday like the book; but it makes a very upbeat and heartwarming conclusion.
All in all, the best there is!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2012
If you are like me, and really fond of this old gem, do yourself a favor and get this version. It is vast improvement on any other version I have seen, having been made from an original studio archival print, apparently. It is not perfect, but is close. There is some tiny sparkle in a few scenes, and one or two short damage places that should have been fixed. Far too many public domain versions have been released over the years that are pretty dismal in quality. Lots of talented performers in this film, and the camera work shows the care that was taken on many of the old black & white classics.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
This classic British film is rereleased in the (optionally) dubbed and subtitled Italian version in a Region 2 release. It joins three other versions in my collection, including those with the Little Lord played by Mary Pickford and Mickey Rooney. It is by far the best.

This version of Little Lord Fauntleroy stars a young newcomer Ricky Schroeder paired with a seasoned Alec Guinness (then in the midst of his 'Obi-wan' Kenobi role in Star Wars). Guinness is the aging, ill, and tight-fisted British Lord who decides to send to America for his grandson. He hopes to separate him from everything American, including his loving mother, and make him into his heir. But the little lord cannot suppress his youthful optimism and joy for life. It is he who converts his grandfather, and all seems well until a new claimant to the Lordship comes forth. Along the way the story points out in vivid fashion the contrast between wealth of the Lord an his manor and the squalor of his tenants. A great and timeless story, well told in this version. (For a slightly different twist on the story, look into the equally enjoyable, though less accurate, Die Kleine Lady, a 2012 Austria-German Release, where its the lady of the castle and her 12 year old granddaughter.)

Il Piccolo Lord has been restored and color enhanced and it looks great. Your whole family can enjoy this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
This is one of the best versions, though none of them is bad! This is one of the most inspiring and enduring of tales, and I think it would be difficult to actually ruin the story. I wasn't familiar with this version and I'm so glad I got it. Excellent acting. Freddie is as endearing as Ricky Schroder in the later version. If they can put Freddie Bartholomew's 1936 B&W version unto DVD, surely they can also put Ricky Schroder and Alex Guiness' version on DVD too! Ricky Schroder and Alex Guiness are still my favorites, though still only available in VHS, which is crazy, although I can watch the Freddie Bartholomew one even in B&W and find it enchanting every time. The BBC version is also good, but very irritating to have it forever stopping in the middle of action like a TV program which it obviously was. The differences are just as much fun as the original story. So having all 3 versions is not boring at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2005
You can't go too wrong with a popular and much liked story like "Little Lord Fauntleroy" - the poor boy growing up in 19th century New York who learns he is heir to an earldom in England, and whose childlike charm and good-naturedness softens the heart of his embittered and grumpy grandfather. And who better to play the role than Mary Pickford who won the title of "America's Sweetheart" for her popular and pleasing personality, her impressive acting skills and roles that appeal to everyone. In "Little Lord Fauntleroy", Mary showcases her brilliant talent for playing children - both girls and boys - as well as her versatility by also playing the role of the little lord's mother. The camera work for these scenes - mother and little lord together - is perfect, and overall this film is faultless with sharp, clear picture quality and a most beautiful orchestral score perfectly matched to the film. The scenes of the old English castle, village and surroundings are also perfect and a pleasure to behold, but above all it's Mary Pickford's charming and charismatic portrayal of the unassuming and loving Lord Fauntleroy that makes this film a real winner. Her expressive pantomime skills really bring the role of the young Lord come to life, and you won't mind one bit that she looks much more like a girl than a young boy. Next to "Stella Maris" in which she also plays dual roles very impressively, this is the best Pickford film I've seen so far, and I'm hoping that the other Pickford releases that Milestone Films has planned for later this year will be similarly enjoyable. There are slide shows of stills and other memorabilia on this DVD as well, making it an excellent Mary Pickford edition, and one that will surely appeal to many viewers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
Loved this version, a much beefier story line than previous releases. All the acting is superb and one of the best performances by Ricky Schroeder. I would recommend watching at Christmas for that feel good feeling.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
I was very disappointed. I wanted it in English. When I went back to the sight I couldn't find any copies of this movie in English. I returned the movie and would like a refund if there are none available in English.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
Classic, wonderful story for people of all ages- a favorite of mine for a long tie. Happy to now have it on DVD. Children need to watch this at an early age, and Often-for character building. Add this one to your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2012
This is one of my most favorite movies. It is great for my family to watch, especially when you see Cedric (Ricky Schroeder) with such a great heart. He is an amazing young man who even when receiving riches from an unknown British earl; he remains the polite, caring, respectful young man who is always looking for the good in others. Even though his grumpy British grandfather doesn't like his American mother, Cedric remains loyal to her and loves her deeply. He softens the heart of his grandfather through time and a positive attitude. There is a bit of suspense about a possible heir who could claim Cedric's right to be the next earl. However his common, American friends work that problem out nicely. Ricky Schroeder is amazing, as Cedric, the Little Lord Fauntleroy. Since this movie is no longer published, any DVD's are pirated copies, you must buy used VHS's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
We enjoyed watching this movie now again after we saw it many years ago the first time. Alec Guinness is an excellent actor. We can recommend this movie to families with children!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse