Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 77 reviews
on November 6, 2014
***CONTAINS SPOILER***

A must read for every reader, young or old! This is one of the most beautiful, yet heartbreaking children's books I have ever read. A poor little girl is forced to go out into the bitter-cold morning of New Year's eve to sell paper flowers and matches. She is dressed in rags and shoes that do not fit. As the day wears on, she has sold nothing and cannot return home for fear that her father will beat her for not selling her matches.

Finding a corner of a building to shield her from the icy wind, evening approaches and she begins to freeze. Striking the matches one-by-one, she see's beautiful visions. But as the matches burn out, her visions disappear. Finally, her grandmother appears in one of the match-lit visions. Before she can disappear, the little girl strikes all the matches she has and begs her grandmother to take her to Heaven where there is no cold, hunger or cruel fathers.

The next morning, the little match girl is discovered dead in the cold corner...wearing a soft, sweet smile on her face.

The book takes only about five minutes to read, but I bought this particular hardcover edition because of the exquisite illustrations, they are truly magnificent. This will make a lovely addtion to your library and will become a cherished family heirloom!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
An original classic written by Hans Christian Anderson - like I had as a young girl. I loved this sad, yet sweet story that taught me compassion and joy looking forward to heaven. I have never forgotten this tiny blessing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Truly beautiful artistic portrayal of this classic.
Love the colors and soft manner of sketching that brings more sentimentality to a lovely but sad story.
Highly recommend for adults and children alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
Such a sad and poignant book. Something to remember that Victorian England as well as many civilized worlds have always been harsh on the less fortunate. Great societies make civil accommodations for their poor, while trying to raise them out of poverty-instead of propagating more of it -or letting citizens die in the streets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2016
Great Condition. Love this story. It is sad, but good for kids about 7-12. Helps them to see that there are others that have a much harder life. I'm very big about driving home, counting our blessings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2010
Ahhh....for the storytellers of yesteryear! I have been reading the classics lately, particularly Dickens. One thing that clearly stands out is the poverty and abuse of children of that era. We have come a long way in protecting the rights of our precious children. The Little Match Girl is a sad tale, so sweetly written. It's conclusion "and now she is with God" sums up the reward awaiting her in grandma's arms in heaven. And for that Mr. Anderson gives eternal hope. Excellent story to share with your child and answer questions about our hope which is in Jesus. I purchased a kindle version and this version for my Aunt.
Dawn Kurtz author of the christian novel Secret of the Mexican Doll found on kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2007
This simple little story is an old one that I first heard many years ago. The youngster in this book is saddled with several obstacles. Child labor laws are yet to come about - her father sends her out into the world to work. The family deals with poverty and hunger. Improperly clothed, the little girl is sure to succomb to frostbite. She knows that her father will surely abuse her if she comes home empty-handed. With no way out, this youngster turns to her own rich inner life to help her transcend her impossible situation. This is the story of the power of love - the love of her own late grandmother - that sustains her as she slips into her own death. It is a lasting parable about looking within to find the resources that sustain us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
This is an incredible version of the traditional tale by Hans Christian Andersen. My students absolutely loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2016
This story, though sad, is beautiful. Such a quick read involving a great many feelings. Worth the 5-10 minutes to read, though the story will stick with you much longer than that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2016
I read this as a child. Just as impactful today. Provokes sympathy, appreciation of a physically emotionally painful story, where hope remains dominant. Sad. End makes me want to cry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here