Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 186 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 432 reviews
on October 8, 2016
Best PS3 game ever!
Community-based game in which players meet on a planet scattered with individual plots
Design, shape, and build both objects and entire locations for others to view and play
Full of places to discover, creative resources to collect, and puzzles to solve
Explore the massive single-player game or go online to find user-generated content
Customizable characters, landscape, and more; online and offline multiplayer modes
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2013
For father's day, I purchased my husband a PS3, knowing full well that he would use it most, but that my children would also want to play. In light of that, I decided to purchase one children's game to start with and test the waters. After researching the various ones available, Little Big Planet seemed to be the best option for my children's ages(6 and 7 at that point) and for longevity of play-time.

We've been playing this for about 6 months and they've yet to complete the complete storyline on their own(though I have and unlocked it for total play for them), but they are just as captivated by it as they were when they first started playing. I'd say we have at least 40 "sackboy" costumes to use as they create and customize their character almost each and every time they play.

There are so many levels to explore, the storyline is great for kids, and the user created content is often as much, if not more fun for them. They've just started dabbling recently in making their own levels together and it's quite fun to sit and listen to them discuss what element for each place and what to have it all do.

For anyone that's wondering, you can play up to four people(from our experience) at home, I believe it's up to eight people online and you can directly invite your friends to join you. You have many options on blocking others from joining your online games with your friends as well as restricting the access others have to the game when online alone.

For what we paid(used via amazon), I am very happy with this purchase. My best friend and I have purchased copies of Little Big Planet 2 for our boys to exchange, knowing that if the sequel is half as good as the original, they'll have hours of fun playing together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
I have a lot of fun playing this game, and I don't see that changing anytime soon. Not only can you take the character, Sackboy, through all of the challenging levels the programmers loaded onto the disc, but through the PlayStation Network there is an endless supply of user generated levels to test your prowess. Of course, this also means you can create your own levels (if you possess the time and inventiveness to do so). Controls are simple and the visuals are simply amazing. If you own a PS3, you can't afford not to have this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2010
Littlebigplanet can be as bad as it is good.

Some of the levels are so much fun to play, interesting game mechanics and physics, great music and some interesting level design modes if you have and extra 40 or 50 hours to make one.

Some issues with the game are its to hard for kids. You die from poor jumping mechanics all the time there are no infinite portals so it makes you restart the whole level over and over and over...blah

The campaign is only 2 hours long for $59.99??

level building is a real time consuming pain and unless you have tons of time and patients they wont be fun or work right.

The community offers some fun levels but for every good one there about about 10,000 bad ones and they is no way to mark the ones you don't like so you will often reload those poor levels people make and the loads times are killer. In one hour you may be lucky to find one good level and will spend the rest loading and frustrated being stuck on some poor design level.

Playing together also doesn't work well , if one of your friends goes off screen its over they auto death and that's it... Nice

camera angle problems.

Had they offered some infinite spawning portals for kids ages it would have been much better. My kids have beat Dragons Age, Metal gear but they cant come close to playing this game and just don't have the patients to spend 90% of the time reloading.

In the next version (LBP2) they promised to address some of theses issues. In the mean time pick it up for 10$ or rent it.

Recommended for rental first.

This game can still be a lot of fun to play muti-player, when it works well it is fantastic!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
Bought it, played it for a couple of hours and left it there for ages to come. A really boring, repetitive game with no storytelling whatsoever. I really didn't like it at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2009
LittleBIGPlanet is greater than the sum of its parts.

When first playing LBP, I was impressed with the creativity of the levels and the beauty of the graphics and art direction.

It was only when I realized that everything in the built-in levels can be reproduced with the creation features. Sound effects, enemies, skateboards, races, dialog, landscapes, and more are at your fingertips. Through a series of easy-to-follow tutorials, anyone can learn how to create, play, and share levels.

LBP is truly a game for the entire family.

That said, there are some things to be aware of:

1) In order to get all of the creation assets, you will need a partner for sections of some of the levels. This could be someone sitting next to you or an online partner. As always, use discretion when letting your young children online.

2) The controls are a bit "floaty," especially when it comes to the three planes of depth that the always-adorable Sackboy (or Sackgirl) can move between. This deficit can lead to unexpected deaths or other general frustrations.

Despite the minor frustrations, I can wholeheartedly recommend LittleBIGPlanet to kids and kids at heart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2011
If you liked the old Crash Bandicoot games, you will LOVE LittleBigPlanet. Set in a world composed of the remnants of our own wandering thoughts and dreams, you play as Sackboy through a wide variety of levels to find missing items and people. Every level is a piece of art, with beautiful and creative scenery overflowing with challenging obstacles, tricky enemies and plenty of score and prize 'bubbles' to make you fight for that 100% all the way. Playing online takes the fun to even higher levels, where you can go through the levels with up to three other players and unlock multiplayer parts of levels. Beyond that, the customizations and creativity you're given is astonishing - dress you Sackboy as almost anything under the sun, slap stickers and decorations throughout levels that will stay there through every replay, and even create and share your very own levels to give online players a fresh challenge of your own.

If you want a great game, do not waste another second browsing beyond this one. This is a golden exhibit of the classic puzzle/action platforming, taken to the Hi-Def potential of the PS3. It's fun, challenging, and totally addicting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2009
first of all, this game is not for everyone. people who loves gears of wars /fallout 3/ residential evil are not going to like it.

but i like it, so much so that i bought a PS3 just for this game. for 400 dollars, i can finally site down and play with my girl friend.

the graphic of this game is lovely, the music is great, the physic is realistic, and the creativity for this game is simply unmatched, but wait, there is more, this game will never get boring thanks to millions of user created levels, and some of those levels are much much better than the default level.

this is the super mario for Playstation. the game that entertains you without any learning curve, a game that you can have fun for 10 minutes and then you can be on your way to do other stuff, a game that give you are surprise no matter how many time you play it. this is a game that DOES NOT CONSUME YOUR TIME, if you ever try to play games like... gear of wars, final fantasy, you have to spend hours, days, weeks of your time. and that's the last thing i want to spend my time on.

for me, this game is will worth 400 dollars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
fun game good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2010
This was a great game. When you have 4 controllers, or even 2 controllers (local) and 2 people online, everything is chaos and things get funnier and funnier. I will always remember slapping my friends off high ledges and watching them fall to their doom. :) You can play by yourself of course, or play with strangers online (text/mic), but it's best if you play with friends on the couch. More fun more laughs, it's just better. Sometimes when you join a party or someone joins the game would lag, and also when you upload a level sometimes it would crash, but those things didn't really bother me.

Making your own levels is also extremely fun and rewarding once you master the controls. You really have to put some time and thought into your levels but the end result is so fun to play through and make your friends play through. Then you can upload it to the world and play other people's levels!

I've also played LBP2 (the sequel) and in my opinion, the original LBP is still the best. There were too many new gadgets and tools in LBP2 that things got too complicated for me. It was still 5 stars but I didn't love it as much as the first game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here