Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 213 reviews
on January 23, 2015
Long considered one of the best live metal albums of all time “Live After Death” has held up quite well over the years. The band was touring in support of the “Powerslave” album and at the top of their game as a live act. All the classic Maiden songs from the early years are here. Instrumentally the band is on fire through the whole thing as everything is played with fierce determination. For me there are only two minor issues on this release. The sound mix is not all that great. Even with the remaster it is still not as crisp and clear as one might like. The drums sound particularly muddy through much of the disc. The other issue is some of Dickenson’s vocals. Bruce tends to write and sing a lot of stuff that is right at the top of his vocal range. He can pull it off in the studio, but live pushing his vocals to the limit like he does often causes him to get out of tune, especially on the really high stuff. Don’t get me wrong, Bruce is an incredible vocalist, but the way the material is written it makes it almost impossible to pull off live, and he struggles in place on this recording. Overall though this is a great live document from one of the few bright spots to be found in music in the 80’s, and really is a must own for fans of classic twin guitar metal. Up the Irons!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2000
If you like metal at all buy this album. It contains the cream of the band's first five albums. The line up for this tour I beleive to be the strongest for Iron Maiden. I could break each song down but they prefer you use less than a thousand words. The performances on this double cd are flawless. You get excerpts from two nights at Long Beach areana and a few songs from Donnington. This is pure greatness in my opinion. It could well be the best live album of all time in my book. Listen to the samples if you have any doubt. I have bought this album many times on all three major forms of media(I just worn them out). This reissue is better than the innitial release because you get all the songs that were on the record set instead of one condensed cd that was originally released in the 80's. Up the Irons!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2011
Okay, I bought this mainly for nostalgia's sake. I grew up in the 80's listening to Iron Maiden, Y&T, Armored Saint, The Rods and all that. The reason I picked this record to buy is because it's a good overview of 'Maiden from that period. It covers a couple of songs from the first two pre-Bruce Dickinson albums and steam rolls through Number Of The Beast, Piece Of Mind and Powerslave. There isn't a bad song on it (although after a couple of listens the long audience participation segment in the otherwise classic Running Free begins to grate and I find myself skipping to the next song after the first 2.5 minutes). The production values are very good, and the crowd noise isn't obnoxious like on some live records. Maybe they didn't include every one of my favorite songs, but this was a big deal when it hit in the mid-eighties. Iron Maiden's first live album! I kind of quit listening to them after that. I understand they've made a ton more albums including some live records and best of discs. That's cool but for me the initial burst of power summed up on this collection defines an era and still blows me away.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2009
In support of "Powerslave," Iron Maiden hit the road and realized that they were firing on all cylinders, and that if they ever really wanted to capture their true sound and nature they would have to record a live album and video. With the over-the-top stage set and large catalogue of epic songs they had in tow, now was the time to do it and do it right.

I am NOT a fan of live albums. I usually like a band's studio- produced work, because to me a live album is kind of like taking a picture of an artist's work at the museum. You can't see all the details the artist intended. However, some bands' true sound and vibe just can't be captured in a studio and Iron Maiden happens to be one of those bands.

Their records are amazing, but for some reason they don't justifiably hold the true essence that makes Maiden so good and unique: that being the well-oiled-machine sound and theatre-like quality Maiden produce live.

"Live After Death" caught Maiden at a wonderful moment in their career and is a very clear representation of their genuine talent. I am sure the audience reading this review agrees that many acts today just don't have the authentic talent that bands like Maiden do.

If you want to hear Iron Maiden the way they were meant to be heard, raw, uncut, charged up, and showing off, then buy this record. If you want a piece of history, this album should be in your collection. If you want to hear "Rime Of The Ancient Mariner" live, then buy this record. And finally, I can't think of a reason why you shouldn't own this album. So buy it already!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2016
Maidens live shows are epic, and on this on mostly drawn from the Powerslave tour, it never lets up, especially love the epic Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner (how did Dickenson remember all the vocals, no teleprompters in the 80's), all the big hits are here, The Trooper, Revelations, Number of the Beast, Run to the Hills, Wrathchild, Phantom of the Opera, any Maiden fan should have this cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
The pinnacle of live recordings. Iron Maiden deliver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2017
This is Iron Maiden at their peak
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2017
The best live CD ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2017
Classic 👍👍👍👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse