Spring Deals Automotive Children of Blood and Bone New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno

Live In Amsterdam [2 CD]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on March 25, 2014
I liked the first two studio albums by Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa, but this live set gives a whole new meaning to the phrase, "Knock your socks off." Beth Hart has one of the greatest voices of all time. It's rather like a combination of Janis Joplin, Bessie Smith, Billy Holliday and Aretha Franklin rolled into one (although she sounds most like Janis). Her singing has a raw power that will blow you across the room and back again.

I'm also a huge Joe Bonamassa fan, and while Joe doesn't sing or do any of his songs here, he surpasses himself on several tracks.

This set is hot stuff. You should buy it.
33 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 24, 2014
Beth Hart was on the Byron Bluesfest episode of Rockwiz where she crooned “I feel the Earth move….”. After this concert, Amsterdam must be at least a couple of metres from where it used to be.
The album bursts into life with Hart’s commanding voice on “Amsterdam, Amsterdam”. It then moves into an odd swing tune showcasing Bonamassa’s talents and then “Sinner’s Prayer” with its grinding blues featuring great interplay between her voice and his guitar.
“Can’t Let Go” is a stand out track. You can’t stay still when the percussion becomes a train and her voice the searing headlight of the locomotive in the storm. Monster slide guitar in the middle. You slump back when it’s over.
The elegant “Close to my Fire” leads into “Rhymes” with its feel good, crowd rousing feel. The gravitas of powerful vocals blends perfectly with tasteful guitar. The Rockmelons did a poppy version but here it has a rockier edge.
“Something’s Got a Hold on Me”, originally from Etta James is masterfully handled. Then “Your Heart id black as Night” has much more of a jazz sound yet is one of the most structured tracks in the show.
Tom Waits has penned some great lyrics in “Chocolate Jesus”. The vocal treatment here is different to Waits and I’m not sure I enjoyed it as much.
Sid 2 opens with “Well Well”, a very infectious number that thrives on the energy from the combination of percussion and vocals. Works very well live.
On “If I Tell You I Love You” Hart sounds like a French chanteuse making this a quirky track to contrast her normal vocal style. This leads into “See Saw” which is one of the most satisfying tracks on the album because of the big sound of the brass section, booming vocals and masterful guitar.
The band recreate the feel of a smokey intimate night club with “Strange Fruit”. The moody guitar and vocal piece is quite an achievement for a large concert setting. The tempo then ramps up for “Miss Lady. This is one of the rockier tunes on the album and was written by Buddy Miles. There is a another great interplay of guitar and vocals featuring a memorable wail/squeal from Hart.
“I Love You More then You’ll Ever Know” originally by Al Kooper and “I’d Rather Go Blind” are both beauifully crafted songs where Bonamassa’s guitar is coaxed along with Hart’s beguiling voice.
The Nutbush classic by Ike and Tina Turner set the bar very high. But this version certainly nudges the original on its perch. Right from the first note the vocals and driving beat grab your attention. One of the standouts.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2014
If you’ve read Boomerocity for very long at all then you, a) already know that I’m a HUGE fan of both Beth Hart (see the Boomerocity interview with her here) as well as of Joe Bonamassa. Suffice it to say, my opinion of either of them hasn’t changed with the dual CD/DVD release of Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa Live In Amsterdam.

The recently GRAMMY nominated Hart and Bonamassa, will deliver Beth Hart & Joe Bonamassa – Live In Amsterdam (2DVD/Blu-ray/2CD) – their first jointly recorded live offering. Beth’s amazingly powerful voices and Bonamassa’s legendary guitar abilities make this offering a true audio/visual treat. Recorded live at the historic Koninklijk Theater Carré in Amsterdam, the smokin’ hot performance blows you away with their performances of songs from the duo's 2011 debut album Don't Explain and the follow-up to it, Seesaw. You’ll hear incredible live performances of songs originally made famous by artists such as Aretha Franklin, Etta James, Billie Holiday, Tom Waits, Ray Charles, Donnie Hathaway, Lucinda Williams, Bill Withers, Delaney & Bonnie, Buddy Miles, Tina Turner, Slackwax, Melody Gardot, Nina Simone, and more.

This project was born from what Hart, Bonamassa, and Bonamassa's long-time producer Kevin Shirley call a "crazy idea" to record a catalog of songs in a way that recalls the days when a band recorded live in the studio with little or no overdubs; the days when the vocalist was happy when a take was done regardless of personal performance.

"What we're trying to capture is an era of reaction and spontaneity – something that was a great inspiration for me as a budding musician," explained Bonamassa. "It's a bygone era in lieu of modern times and digital studio manipulation. We wanted to do the exact opposite of that for this live concert. There were no nets and what you hear is what was sung and played that night."

Both Hart and Bonamassa were heavily influenced by these songs and the artists who originally performed them. "We're doing these amazing cover songs and in doing them, and what's so great about doing them, is that it shows part of what excited us and made us want to become artists when we were young and just starting out," said Hart. "You can see that a lot of this was an influence with me, and Joe, and the other musicians, you can hear it in the way everyone plays and performs. This was music that they loved, that touched them. And when you do covers, you get to make them personal. That was part of the goal – to make it like it's your story too. Otherwise how does it come across sincere? I think that's one of the challenges and it's very fulfilling if we feel like we're doing that." The one-two punch of Hart's powerhouse vocals and Bonamassa's blistering solos both honors and reinvents the original recordings. Featuring 22 songs and over two hours of bonus and behind-the-scenes footage, the sonic pairing that critics everywhere are calling a "match made in heaven" are backed by the same world class band that kept the grooves going on both albums: Anton Fig (drums, percussion), Carmine Rojas (bass), Blondie Chaplin (rhythm guitar and backing vocals), Arlan Schierbaum (keyboards). This time out, their mighty sound is augmented by a horn section, with Lee Thornburg (trumpet and percussion), Ron Dziubla (saxophone and percussion), and Carlos Perez Alfonso (trombone and percussion).

Boomerocity favorites from this package are:

• The fun, crowd-pleasing Amsterdam, Amsterdam. This tune gets in your head and won’t let go. The word “fun” comes to mind and you certainly get a sense that that is exactly what is taking place both on stage and in the audience.
• The bluesy and mournful I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know generated an infinite number of slaps on the repeat button. Beth’s voice is especially amazing as is Joe’s blistering guitar work. I’d almost say that this tune is worth the price of the entire package but I’m saving that comment for . . .
• I’d Rather Go Blind. I’ll say it right here and now: Since we no longer have the great Etta James with us any longer, I can say with absolutely NO reservations that Beth Hart owns this classic. The bar is sufficiently high enough that I doubt anyone else will ever be able to take this song away for her and call it theirs like Beth has. Yeah, she’s that great!

0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2014
Every now and then along comes two equally gifted musicians who find each other and together they are a force to be reckoned with, to the pure enjoyment of their fans. Beth and Joe are just that. Joe's blues guitar excellence and Beth's vocals, showcasing their combined talents is what this performance is all about.

"Against the backdrop of the beautiful, historic Koninklijk Theater Carré in Amsterdam, the performance wows with scorching soul covers from the duo’s 2011 debut album "Don’t Explain" and 2013 follow-up "Seesaw", originally made famous by artists such as Aretha Franklin, Etta James, Billie Holiday, Tom Waits, Ray Charles, Donnie Hathaway, Lucinda Williams, Bill Withers, Delaney & Bonnie, Buddy Miles, Tina Turner, Slackwax, Melody Gardot, Nina Simone, and more."

A live album and a live DVD! This is what I call delivering to your fans. A live concert documentary featuring 22 songs, including such fan favorites from the two albums like "Sinner's Prayer," Etta James' classic "I'd Rather Go Blind," "Strange Fruit," "Nutbush City Limits," and the title track from Seesaw.

This was a spellbinding performance. The band was in full force, the songs were even better than the original studio recordings which is how it should be in my opinion.

This performance is all about chemistry, powered by Bonamassa's regular rhythm buddies, drummer Anton Fig and bassist Carmine Rojas, and the classy, powerful, smoky, sexiness of Beth, you just can't lose.

Bonamassa is in his typically outstanding form, making you wonder why some question his position as the most important guitarist of his generation. I have no doubt that he is the successor to the greats like Jeff Beck, Clapton and Jimmy Page.

With over two hours of fascinating behind the scenes extras, this is a personal offering that the fans will eat up. Brilliant !!

I would give it 10 stars if I could.
66 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 15, 2017
loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 23, 2017
Great music Beth has a great powerful voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 16, 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 9, 2017
There was NO hesitation when I saw this album. I've been aware of Joe Bonamassa for years (first heard of him and Beth Hart on WMSE 91.7 FM, WMSE.org - Milwaukee School of Engineering public radio). So the two of them together was a no brainer. The album is great - I can't think of any criticisms. It's a live album (not usually my favorite listening) but it's recorded well and the audience's enthusiasm is palpable. Oddly enough, it took Beth Hart to get me to buy my first Joe Bonamassa recording. I'm glad I did. I'm not a young blues fan - I go back over 40 years, and if you count my childhood watching old Betty Boop cartoons (Cab Calaway's St. James Infirmary was used in one of the cartoons), then the blues and I go back even further. As a result, it takes more these days to impress me, and both Joe and Beth have it all. Beth Hart's voice seems to hold layers and layers of blues infused soul - it's a voice that says it's "been there, done that."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2014
This live performance lives up to the hype. 18 of the 21 songs are from their 2 studio albums that they did together, 1 is from Beth's album Bang Bang Boom Boom, 1 is a song Joe does by himself (that Clapton made famous), and then they cap it off with Antwerp Jam that is not from their studio albums. Literally every song is as good or better than their studio counterpart. As always Beth's voice is outstanding and is the album's centerpiece, and it actually sounds more powerful than the studio albums. She also does a great job interacting with the crowd and getting them involved. But the biggest difference between these live recordings and the studio albums actually comes from Joe. Joe has a bigger influence on each song in the live performances. In virtually every song his solo's are extended and often much more inspired. He still sticks pretty true to what the album solos sounded like, but he does give himself some room to throw in some blistering jamming on some of the tracks. This album simply put, is outstanding, do not hesitate to buy it if you liked their studio albums.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Black Coffee

Need customer service? Click here