BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Live Die Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$29.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 15, 2014
What I like about the book over the movie is it took the time to tell the reader what Mimics are..

On a planet far, far away, a race of highly advance and intelligent beings on an over populated planet sent out nanobots to terraform a distant planet they felt could sustain their life. That planet being Earth.

Upon arriving Earth the ship broke into eight parts while the mothership remained in orbit. 4 parts fell into the sea, the rest on land. All communications from Earth were ignored. After the world's nations finished auguring among themselves it was decided that they blasted the mothership to space bits with missiles. Meanwhile In the depths of the oceans, the machines chanced upon echinoderms—starfish

The nanobots penetrated the rigid endoskeletons of the starfish and began to multiply in symbiosis with their hosts.

The resulting creatures fed on soil. They ate the world and spat out poison. Toxic to earth life but suitable to the beings that sent them. When the machines arrived on land, they concluded that in order to fulfill their objective of xenoforming the planet, they would have to remove the obstacles standing in their way.

That's where the movie starts.
2323 comments| 899 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 15, 2014
It's an indictment on its crap marketing campaign that Edge of Tomorrow isn't inflicting more damage at the box office. It's one of the strongest sci-fi films to come around in recent years and also one of Tom Cruise's best performances. The trailers failed utterly to sell that to its audience, instead making it seem to be some sort of heavy, existential experience à la last year's Oblivion. But whereas Oblivion felt like a sucker punch to the face, Edge of Tomorrow comes off clever and smart and unexpectedly funny. It resonates on an emotional level. It carries shades of Groundhog Day, of 12:01 and Source Code and that "Monday" episode from X-Files. It's infused with bits of Starship Troopers and Aliens and awesome video games.

I don't think it's deliberate, but it's a kick (for me, anyway) that the film topsy-turvies those glib early roles Tom Cruise used to play. This is a fantastic character arc for him. Cruise is Major William Cage, smug face of U.S. Army media relations. He's more of a corporate soldier, but the factoring element is that he's a craven corporate soldier. His only combat experience consists of a stint at R.O.T.C. while in college. Cage talks the talk, would rather not walk the walk.

Humanity has been under siege for the past five years from a relentless alien race what seems preternaturally aware of every counter-move made by Earth's defenses. One cool thing to come out of this is that the nations of the world have aligned into the United Defense Forces - so thumbs up, yeah, for solidarity brought about by extreme self-interest. It's been a losing war, except, suddenly, comes the Battle of Verdun which registers the first significant win for our side. And now comes Project Downfall, Earth's one major push for victory. It's an all-or-nothing operation of which first assault wave the war general (Brendan Gleeson) believes requires an embedded media presence so as to record various acts of valor to boost morale. And guess whom he taps for that singular privilege?

Cage, in classic slick Tom Cruise fashion, tries his durndest to talk his way out of it. Quote: "I do what I do. You do what you do. I'm not a soldier." The general doesn't take kindly to this streak of yella and drums him down. There goes Private William Cage being marched into battle and dying quickly and horrifyingly... except that he then wakes up the day before. And lather, rinse, repeat.

So this movie is the boss. It's based on Hiroshi Sakurazaka's Japanese light novel All You Need is Kill (awesome title). You can make a case for its being a sci-fi version of Groundhog Day, and so what? You should embrace that. Director Doug Liman executes with sharp direction and breathtaking editing. He doesn't allow the story to lose its impact. He sidesteps the mind-numbing repetition that comes with lazy time loop plotting. Cage's resets are given fresh takes. There's a nice bare minimum done to maintain that connective tissue, so you can keep track from the reset's origin point, but from then on Cage proceeds to new ground. So I like that the movie doesn't hold your hand. You're expected to keep up. There's something gratifying about watching Cage - as he repeatedly endures violent death and ensuing resurrection - progress from wretched, blackmailing pencil pusher to exemplary, self-sacrificing warrior. Like or lambaste Tom Cruise, it's a rewarding hero's journey, and Cruise works really hard here. As ever, he does a lot of his own stunts.

The film benefits hugely from Cruise and Emily Blunt's dynamite chemistry. Blunt's take-no-prisoners Sergeant Rita Vrataski is a far cry from that fawning senior assistant from The Devil Wears Prada. Sgt. Vrataski, nicknamed the Angel of Verdun, is a highly decorated soldier whom Cage runs into time and again, and what they get up to provides the narrative's strong emotional punch. Just as with Linda Hamilton in T2, you don't ever question Blunt as a badass babe. It's funny to me that The Other Women was touted as a female empowerment movie, and yet all the women do in that film is obsess about men. Sgt. Vrataski is a better role model for girls than those women. Sgt. Vrataski is strong and independent and revered by her fellow grunts. She doesn't require men to validate her. In fact, Tom Cruise's character REQUIRES HER to propel his story arc forward. She's that one crucial piece to the puzzle. And, okay, I'm about to sabotage all that impassioned stuff by mentioning that there's also Blunt's Catherine Zeta-Jones back arch, a recurring yoga move that affords moments of giddiness for male viewers. Also, how cool does she look with that big ass sword?

Opportunities for humor surface organically in a time loop premise, and the writer(s) take good advantage of this without going too far or too silly. There's that hilarious training montage where- no, I can't spoil it. Visually, it's fantastic. Great action sequences, spectacular special effects. The aliens are these terrifying, skittering whirlwinds of death - just the thought of having to fend them off makes me break out in sweat.

It's a supporting cast that thrives in their roles - whether it's Brendan Gleeson, who's always beautifully in the pocket in whatever part, or Bill Paxton (sans turtleneck sweater), who is money as the could've-been-corny-but-isn't Master Sergeant, or even that fat guy from J Squad who fights in the buff under his exo-armor.

Nitpicks, not so much. I'm maybe second-guessing that that quirky particle physicist was able to pull a deus ex machina device out his butt. And I had to work hard to make sense of why Cage always resets to his waking up in handcuffs in Heathrow (the "On your feet, maggot!" scene) but then, much later, he wakes up to, well, spoilers. I did work it out eventually, figured out the math and the what happened at what time, even if it crossed my eyes and cramped my brain. Seriously, do yourself a favor and check out Edge of Tomorrow and give it good word of mouth. It's deserving of your support. Whoever handled the awful marketing campaign should be sacked like hacky and like potatoes.
3131 comments| 689 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
I bought this for the 3D - wanted to see how well a HD projector handled 3D.

With this movie, 3D has finally come of age. In the past, the 3D aspects were kind of in your face and took you out of the action. In this movie, the 3D adds to the action and becomes a part of the story.

As for the story - there are lots of reviews breathlessly recapping the story line. No need to waste my time typing in yet another plot review.

The story is impressive though. The broad strokes being the time shifting alien race that is unstoppable and one man ending up as the counter. Normally, such a story would be told from a general's viewpoint with some grunt level action tossed in for excitement. Not here. It's all grunt level but this grunt has to win the war.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
The "Omega" knows I've watched this movie before I've even watched it again! Scary. So, better re-set and watch it again. What am I talking about? Watch this highly enjoyable movie to find out for yourself. Has Tom Cruise won any awards yet for his films? I can't understand why not, he's very fun to watch. Here he teams up with Emily Blunt as two soldiers fighting to win the war against a daunting alien enemy force. Heroine Sgt. Rita Vrataski, UDF special forces unit, recycles a helicopter blade into a weapon she uses for combat. I love watching her crush aliens with that awesome blade and you will too. I guarantee. So, here are just a few of my favorite movie lines from the movie:

1) "Those aren't officer cuff links."
2) "The fiery crucible!"
3) "Where is the safety?" "Exactly."
4) "Who said you could talk to me?"
5) "First of all this presentation is terrific."
6) "Nobody else will."
7) "Go, let's go!!"
8) "You have to die. Everyday. Until we kill the Omega."
9) "My middle name is Rose."
10) "Keep your eyes open!"
11) "Come find me when you wake up."
12) "Again."
13) "Again!"
14) "Again!"
15) "Again."
16) "Again."

I could go on, but seriously just watch the movie, again and again! The soundtrack is killer. The DVD includes special bonus features you will also enjoy on the making of the movie and special effects including all about the origin of Emily's distinctive, awesome weapon. Makes a good gift for your dad, brother or just about anyone, and that means ladies too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
The advertisements for this movie really missed the mark, as there is so much greatness going on in this film. "Tom Cruise vs the aliens" or sci-fi "Groundhog Day"? Sure, those claims are true, but rather simplistic. There are several other really wonderful things to love about this film:

1) Kickass super-heroine - While many lament the absence of women from the modern superhero boom (and rightfully so,) this movie delivers that rare woman warrior. At the start, Tom Cruise is the puny wimp, while Emily Blunt is the fearless leader of Earth's entire army. She swings this ridiculously giant manga-style sword and crushes aliens like nothing. It's simply great and cool to see anybody doing this, but especially a lady.

2) Sci-fi D-Day - This movie showcases a classic "storming of Normandy" sequence where instead of Americans attacking Germans, it's power-suited humans airdropping onto the beach to make battle with alien enemies. It's big, epic, loud and thrilling.

3) Comedy - This movie's hysterical. The dark humor milks the premise of the repeating/neverending day for all the jokes it can, where things change in novel, unpredictable ways.

4) New aliens - Tired of the same old aliens that are humanoid with 4 limbs or look like big bugs? Just as this film offers fresh spins on other tired cliches, the bad guys here are the most distinct and unique creations in sci-fi cinema that I can remember for quite some time.

5) Big ideas - This film combines a plethora of heady themes: destiny, heroism, politics, morality, war, choice, etc. where the viewer has many deep things to contemplate while riding the roller coaster plot.

Beyond the above, sure the movie has great performances (Bill Paxton's sassy and evangelical sergeant is downright poetic), killer action, majestic SFX, and interesting and intriguing plot. I know this movie was based on a Japanese graphic novel, but it still one of the most "original," cool and kooky films to be made in this era of remakes, reboots and sequels.
77 comments| 282 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
One of the best sci-for films to come out in quite sometime. Tom Cruise does it agin with this action packed rollercoaster ride of a Sci-fi film. Minority report, Oblivion and now Edge of tomorrow. The man is a great science fiction action star.

He brings with him his comedy into a chaotic situation and even during battle scenes. A must see!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There is something magnetic about this movie, with Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt endlessly experimenting with a path forward in a time loop. But that's as much as I dare write. There will be no spoilers here.

I say this: Live, Die, Repeat really means Watch, Love, Repeat.

Yeah, I lost count how many times. Anyway, that's how it hit me. Maybe you'll have the same experience!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
This is a movie that didn't make much of a wave at the box office but is a great movie. I know many people don't care for Tom Cruise, but he did a great job in this role. This movie has a lot of exciting elements to hold your attention. It's been compared to Groundhog Day a lot, and for good reason, but it's more like a video game.

There are good performances from a fairly well-known cast and a group that I never saw before. I saw it in 2D and then 3D with my wife and 3D didn't make a huge difference. The colors are very bright during battle scenes and look great for the night scenes. I thought the storyline was inventive although the format isn't a new one.

I'm not going to rehash the plot, but will just point out a couple of things. I didn't know how I was going to like the movie when it first started. Cruise's character is kind of a jerk and off-putting. Once the movie got going, everything changed and it didn't affect anything. So give the movie a bit to get going. Secondly, pay attention to what's happening so you don't get confused. Not that it's a difficult plot, it just moves fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
Originally, It seemed like it was going to be something along the lines of Groundhog Day meets Aliens. But I was actually quite surprised at how good this movie was -- Storylines matter!

Considering Emily Blunt once said that she would rather do badly paid theatre for the rest of her life than ever accept a role “as a spear carrier in a Tom Cruise movie”, the chemistry between the two kinda works. Enough for me to plop down money to buy this on blu ray at any rate...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enthusiast: Cookingon September 15, 2015
I am a huge science fiction fan. But it is so hard to find good science fiction. For some reason the genre, along with horror, seems to be singled out for the most bone-headed formulaic movie making done, and rarely does the genre justice. This movie is an exception. It is one of the good ones. It has has humor, wit, logical twists (some of which you shouldn't think about too much as with any movie involving messing with time), exciting fight scenes, and a worthy plot. Without giving anything away, it is kind of like Groundhog Day meets Stormship Troopers. It bears repeated watching which is about the highest praise I can give to a movie. Tom Cruise is great, and as been noted isn't always the self assured hero he usually is. Bill Paxton is just fun to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse