Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports toystl17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 123 reviews
on January 1, 2011
Live It Up by Lee DeWyze and his NEWEST single "Beautiful Like You" is definitely worth buying. I play it over & over. The "more you listen" the "more you really like it". I told several people about Live It Up and they are glad they bought it. My friend just sent me a text message yesterday to say "We Lee'd It Up and we really like it".

Lee has an amazingly soulful, sultry and raspy voice with a rocker edge. His voice is filled with cool little nuances that showcase his original sound. Lee has a lot of raw talent and works really hard. He's not a manufactured performer. He's the real deal.

Live It Up has wide variety of songs; from his more intense and rockin'songs like "Me & My Jealousy" and "BEAUTIFUL LIKE YOU," his newest extraordinary single that EVERYONE can relate to; to his beautiful and heartfelt songs that'll melt your heart like "Brooklyn Bridge" and "Earth Stood Still". Live It Up also has several upbeat, fun and lighter songs like "Dear Isabelle" and "Stay Here".

Not only is Lee a great singer/songwriter, he's a genuinely nice guy who really appreciates his fans and the opportunity to make music. You can tell he loves what he does.

I fell for Lee's talent when I saw him audition for American Idol and have been hooked ever since. He is my favorite artist. Lee is even better live if you can believe it; how many people can you say that about?

I recommend not only buying Live It Up, but also checking out some of Lee's live performances. It's like WOW! It'll really sell you on this great new artist. Here's a link to some videos from one of his live performances. Copy/paste following to view: [...]
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
A very chill CD that sounds great. Catchy tunes, a great raspy voice, and I loved watching Lee Dewyze compete in his humble way on American Idol. A bonus I didn't realize that came with this, and any CD you purchase on Amazon, is that once you buy the CD, it automatically downloads to your Amazon account in the MP3 link, so you can listen from your computer, tablet, or smartphone without the CD. Kind of a 2-for-1 deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I rooted hard for Lee on AI and cheered when he won. That said, this disc doesn't live up to his performances on that show - the last (and one of the only seasons) I watched. Fans of his gravelly voice will be woefully disappointed here - they've smoothed everything out and made him sound like everyone else on the radio. Some of the songs are good, but most do absolutely nothing to distinguish Lee from the 10+ other AI winners who've done nothing following the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2015
I heard a song by DeWyze on "The Walking Dead" TV series and really enjoyed it, so I picked up a couple of his CDs. He's a talented singer/songwriter with a decent voice. His music is pop oriented. I wish he would do more songs like the hardened blues song he sung for TV.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2011
From the very first song, until the last, Lee Dewyze more than proves what an amazing artist he is. He draws you in from the start, and keeps you there. With most CD's, I tend to skip the "fillers", but this one has none. The songs are all great! And Lee also has the ability to touch hearts with his music.... He puts everything into it.
Songs like Brooklyn Bridge are beautiful beyond words....And show that Lee is not only an amazing artist, but a great songwriter as well. Then there's the soaring vocals on Me and My Jealousy...this song has "hit" written all over it. Songs such as Live It Up show the more soulful, laid back side of Lee. Then there's the upbeat Stay Here, and Sweet Serendipity.....both of which bring instant smiles.
So if you're on this page, and are thinking about purchasing this CD. my advice would be to definitely do it! It honestly hasn't left my CD player since it's release in November. And it won't be leaving it anytime soon! :)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2011
Lee Dewyze's new album, "Live It Up" is well written and soulfully sung. Being familiar with his earlier music (2007 So I'm Told and 2009 Slumberland), his soulful, gritty, edgy voice is still easily identifiable in this album, his guitar skills adding depth and emotion to each song. This album tells the story of relationships from all angles- sometimes fun and light, other times dark and emotional. Whether you like harder,rock type songs, simple, yet complex acoustic songs, or catchy and fun pop type music, Lee does it all in 'Live It Up' with amazing melodies and lyrics. I've shared this album with family, friends and strangers- every single one has loved it. Highly recommend buying the entire album!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2015
Love Lee Dewyze! His tone and gravel are soothing to my Soul...have many favorites on this CD. If you ever get the chance, see him Live!! :) <3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I watched this past season of American Idol and was thrilled to see Lee and Crystal in the finals. They both deserved to be there. I thought Crystal was the better singer/songwriter but Lee has a more pop voice and certainly had the teen girl fans.

I heard Lee sing Sweet Serendipity on the Today Show and knew he had really progressed as a performer from Idol. He had confidence, had fine-tuned his voice and had started to more clearly define his style of music.

This album continues to showcase his pop voice. It is fun to listen to and Lee does a great job. It is a little frustrating that so many of the songs are about love, lost love, looking for love, etc. but I guess that's what Lee is about right now. I hope he can get past singing for the girls and expand a little on his subject matter.

For the most part, the songs have a great upbeat singability. A very nice (after Idol) "debut" album.

4½ stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
An less-than-stellar, gobbed-up major label debut album for Lee DeWyze.

Vanilla, when crafted from real vanilla beans and premium ingredients, is sublime...like Lee and his warm, raspy voice behind an acoustic guitar.

But muddle up real vanilla with artificial flavors and gunk, and you get supermarket tub-o-vanilla--passable, but forgettable and flavorless.

The production of Live it Up does DeWyze a disservice. Instead of continuing the folk-tinged rock direction of Slumberland, Lee is pushed into happy pop boy territory--and he wears it uncomfortably. The beautiful gritty edges of his voice are woefully smoothed out.

Sappy, cliched lyrics and indistinguishable songs muck it up even more. A few of the songs--"Beautiful Like You", and "Brooklyn Bridge"--are good, with lovely melodies and sentiments. The singles, "Live it Up" and "Sweet Serendipity" are fun but forgettable, even though the latter has an encouraging message. Only "A Song About Love" and "Brooklyn Bridge" seem truly Dewyze."

It's a shame...there's a new album in the works for 2013.

Here's to the promise of an album respectful to Lee's soulful roots...with the beauty of sublime flavor.

Verdict: Skip Live It Up, buy Mp3s of the individual songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2011
I've listened to this album a dozen times in the last month and, in short, it's great end to end. This is an extremely solid set, very melodic and memorable, thoughtful lyrics, and that great Lee DeWyze rasp.

"Live it Up" is a catchy light-hearted start, but the momentum of the album really picks up with "Sweet Serenipity", an ode to being thankful for what you have. My 10 and 6 year-old like this song best on the album.

"It's Gotta be Love" is a straight-up love at first sight tune, "Dear Isabelle" a recollection of lost lover.

The power of Lee's songwriting really takes hold with "Beautiful Like You",a quietly breathtaking plea to a friend or lover grappling with sadness or depression, to see the world as beautiful, as a window to seeing themselves as beautiful.

"Me and My Jealousy" is a well-crafted, dynamic song about unrelenting thoughts of an ex-lover with someone new.

The last 4 songs are all love songs of one sort or another, all terrific, especially "The Day the Earth Stood Still", a song about a perfect day with with a lover that lives on in memory.

Mostly love songs, yes, but no sap or sentimentality here. Lee is an authentic personality, and it shines through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse