Oil month Automotive Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
Live At The US Festival, 1983 [2 CD]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on May 14, 2012
I will try to do this with no intention of bragging. 29 years ago I paid $23.50 to witness this major seven-band event. About 20 years after that, I paid twice as much just to obtain a bootleg poor quality copy of the Van Halen's closing performace on the same bill that magical day May 29. Whoever thought of releasing this "official" version of Quiet Riot's ripping performance....I/we can't thank you enough as almost 30 years later the only other US Festival full performance commercially available (that I know of) is Triumph's. Here we can see the complete set of this great L.A. band originally founded by the great Randy Rhoads. Although the technology back then was not as good as it is now I was blown away by the clarity of both audio and video and to re-live this great show once again. Only those who were there know how much this means. For me, at a young age then, this was like another day of great rock and roll music while soaking rays of sun in beautiful California weather surrounded by half-a-million fellow rockers; and half of them were beautiful women. But when Quiet Riot hit the stage little I knew that I was about to witness history-in-the-making with what would later become an elite of Rock and Heavy Metal bands. Days before the show I was bummed to learn that Quiet Riot had been brought in to replace Joe Walsh on the bill. But with all due respect to Joe Walsh (who I like just as much) I'm glad Quiet Riot opened instead, and here you can see why. Great Magnificent Performance. Frankie, Carlos, Rudy, and Kevin, turned on the ignition of this now legendary concert where the Crue, Triumph, Ozzy, Priest, Scorpions, and the Mighty Van Halen with the one and only Dave Roth at the helm continued to deliver high octane Rock, talent and pure energy to their fans; something that today's bands lack. Just pay attention to Carlos Cavazos' shredding, and this was just the beginning; the opening band tearing their hearts out. Good ol'days at a time when all you and bunch of friends needed to do was camp out for a few hours while peacefully blasting the speakers of a boom-box while waiting for Music+Plus' doors to open so you could get your tickets fresh off the printer without taking a second loan on your mortgage. Please-please to the powers in charge, release the other five performances. Newer generations and most of us the 500,000 fans screaming that day will be eternally grateful. A Die-Hard fan of great music.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 2012
Shout Factory has released a CD/DVD combo pack of Quiet Riot's performance at the US Festival in 1983. Quiet Riot were the first band to play on Heavy Metal Day, which was on May 29, 1983. The band performed in the afternoon to a crowd of 500,000 people. This archival release is a nice thing to have and it's also an important part of Quiet Riot's history.

The band's set consists of eight to nine songs, making it a solid 40 minute set. The band run through songs off their 1983 album, Metal Health. It was the band's debut album in America, as two albums by the band back in the 1970's were only released in Japan (both which featured Randy Rhoads). The band open their set with "Danger Zone", a song that didn't make the original Metal Health album (a studio version can be found on the 2001 reissue of the album). The band are full of energy, especially singer Kevin DuBrow. All of the songs are performed pretty much the same as they were on Metal Health. "Love's a Bitch" does sound a bit different and "Slick Black Cadillac" is lacking the fading in backing vocals. Still, Quiet Riot play a rough and tough set. The audience seem to be enjoying the show as well, especially when the band goes into "Come On Feel The Noize", which was the hit single off the album. Drummer Frankie Banali is playing brilliantly, which is somewhat similar to how John Bonham of Led Zeppelin played. Guitarist Carlos Cavazo shows off his guitar playing throughout the show. The guitar solo, "Battle Axe", is a great example of his. Bassist Rudy Sarzo is just a monster, furiously slapping the bass and head banging. As mentioned before, DuBrow is just amazing. Until his passing in 2007, DuBrow was infamous for being very brutally honest in various metal magazines. This doesn't matter: DuBrow was a great singer. His vocals are similar to Steve Marriot's. Also, the guy knew how to work the stage and get people pumped up. Watching the DVD, DuBrow is decked out in red spandex and suspenders, with red Converse sneakers. DuBrow was certainly a character and nearly five years after his passing, he is sorely missed.

If you are a fan of Quiet Riot, you should get this CD/DVD set. It's nice to have, especially the DVD. If you happened to be one of those 500,000 people that were there that day, this makes a great souvenir. Shout Factory seem to be releasing other performance from the US Festival as well. Personally, I'm happy with my purchase.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2012
Imagine it's 1983 again. You've still got all your hair and it's most likely very long! There's people all around you with lighters in the air, screaming, chanting and singing along to the songs being played. "Bang Your Head!!--Metal Health will drive You Mad!!" goes the chorus. Where are you? Back at a Quiot Riot concert seeing them play at their most untamed ferociousness and with a rawness like you've never seen before! Kevin Dubrow (R.I.P.) screaming his head off and working the audience, Rudy Sarzo pounding out growling Bass Lines, Carlos Cavazo making his guitar scream like a banshee, and Frankie Banali annihilating his drums with every thunderous beat he played! Witness Metal at it's finest once again, bring back the nostalgic feeling all over as you sing along and bang your head to what could very well be Quit Riot's most excellent performance before their multi-platinum success! If you are a True fan of Quiot Riot and/or a TRUE fan of Metal in general, then you will not want to leave your library devoid of this prized piece of history! Enjoy this at full volume while you Bang Your Head in a Slick Black Cadillac!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2014
Given the recording limits of the day, this is a fun recording of a classic 80s metal band live at an iconic festival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2012
I remember hearing the US Festival broadcast on the radio when I was a teenager & I'm very happy this is now available for all to hear! The is a great cd/dvd package at a GREAT price! The sound is very good, even better than I had hoped for, & the dvd quality is surprisingly good! It is obvious this was shot in the 80's & that there were not multiple camera angles to choose from or to show. However, for all that it will take you back to a time of great hard rock/heavy metal & show how great a band QUIET RIOT truly were! Great set list & an awesome performance from one of the 80's best bands! I would highly recommend this to everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2015
Fun show!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2016
Love this rock!! Great to have in my truck while shopping around town! Keeps me happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 25, 2012
I was so excited to see this come out. I can remember as a teenager reading about the US Festival and just dying to be there - especially on "Metal Day" with Quiet Riot being in their prime. The DVD is great but oddly enough the CD sound quality is not so great. If I compare this set to the Triumph US Festival CD/DVD it is not of the same quality for the CD. I would have thought that the same recording equipment would be used for both bands but perhaps it has something to do with the mastering of the CD audio and maybe Triumph enhanced theirs. It is great to see Kevin in action after all these years. May he rest in peace.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 22, 2015
Great CD/DVD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 16, 2013
I saw Quiet Riot in 1984 with Iron Maiden and they were great. They really got us ready to see Iron Maiden. This dvd of Live at the Us Festival 1983 you need to check out how little there setup looks compared to the audience. All in all I think they did a great job considering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here