Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on April 26, 2013
i just got this and could not believe how low the price was. when i got it, it was brand new and included the dvd too . all for around $5. i hear a lot of phil and friends on the dead channel on pandora and have learned to enjoy it for what it is,, not comparing it to old dead stuff. if i want that,, i'll listen to the dead. i love this incarnation of phil and friends and also think joan is a special talent.there is a nice song selection on this cd and i enjoy their interpretations of great dead songs. for my ears, they are right on, i love it !! highlights for me are a lovely cosmic charlie,, great vocals and strong bass. nice jam on scarlet beg. a cool, they love each other. and a very good and far out,, turn on your love light....disc 2:: the wheel is a nice tribute to jerry. dark star// morning dew// i know you rider/and then / the other one// dark star// the other one, are great second set jams !! these guys play very well together and the new and different sounds are fun and enjoyable;; the horns and the violin add a really nice dimension to many of the tunes.. i think you will like hearing what phil is doing, post dead. there are many, many releases out there by phil and his friends. i also like what he has done with trey a. and warren h. as band mates as well as many others. it is nice to remember, the music never stops
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
This is a 2 CD set with a bonus DVD. The music is fantastic! This is an HDCD so the sound quality is outstanding!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
Truly enjoy this collection which is well recorded and a fun listen with Joan Osborn on vocals. Some great takes on classic dead, but not equal to the Dead, which only goes without saying. Wished their was more live stuff ontogeny DVD but accept that with the fun stuff on the CD's. Probably worth the price for hard Dead fans, but not that great unless you have a true passion. Looking forward to seeing Phil 3 times this summer to probably get my last chance to see a legend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
Stellar show!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
yes. phil lesh is a person to live for. his music and bass playing ability helped the grateful dead to be a direct contributer to the everlasting surcumstances of another
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
Perfect album. I'm an old Deadhead, and I miss them so much. Phil Lesh was the oldest member, still going strong even though he needed a liver transplant. He still looks younger than Bob Weir, even though he's at least 10 years older than him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2014
I dont have a lot of detailed comments other than to say it was just a really cool collection of tunes.....first I have purchased by these guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
this is the frist time i heard phil lesh has some good jams and joan is a good singer looking for more of his music now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
A very good performance at the famed Warfield. Reminds me a great deal of 'FURTHER'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
Joan Osborne's voice is just a little better than Donna Jean's, so if you're a fan of the Keith and Donna Godchaux era (which I am) then this CD is a nice upgrade from that. To be fair, there were long stretches of time onstage when Donna couldn't really hear herself, and she wasn't called in for any overdubs when the Dead released Dick's Picks, etc. Whatever the case, Joan's voice is very soulful and generally on-key. She's actually singing a lot of Jerry's/Pigpen's parts, but there's just something interesting about having a female voice sandwiched between male voices-it creates just the right amount of tension. Also-no disrespect to Bob Weir, but you have TWO true guitar virtuoso's trading riffs here (as opposed to a feisty kid brother trying to keep up with Jerry), which makes the jams quite interesting. The fact that at least one of them is a bona fide jazz guitarist creates new dimensions in the music. Then add the saxophone on top of that and you have something a little jazzy, a little funky, a little soulful, and very fresh. It would have been nice to get a bit more video content, but when it's a "bonus disc" you typically only get a 1/2 hour to 45min. I'd rather have two well-compacted discs of music and another with video content, rather than a 3rd music disc comprised of filler (30 minutes of Drums/Space followed by 30 minutes of "Turn On Your Lovelight" anyone?). This disc fits in nicely with my collection of Dick's Picks, Road Trips, Pure Jerry, etc. I was skeptical when I bought it because there's a shortage of new song titles here. None-the-less, Phil did a good job of revisiting certain songs that were in need of a dusting (such as Mr. Charlie, and a much tighter version of the aforementioned "Turn On Your Lovelight"). I've heard that they DID in fact play some other cool songs during this show (including an interesting Beatles cover), but mainly titles published by ICE NINE made it onto this disc, probably for legal/financial reasons. Kudos to Phil for selecting a group of musicians with a jammy mindset.

Footnote: I wish they would have performed "Wharf Rat". FURTHUR did an outstanding version of this a couple of years back, and Sunshine Garcia's voice fit into the harmonies just right. Hearing Joan's take on it would have been interesting. Perhaps they could have slipped that in on disc two, and omitted the rather languid reading of "Morning Dew".

2nd Footnote: the Dead flirted with a similar, jazzier sound on the CD "Live Without a Net" when they recruited Branford Marsalis to play on "Eyes of the World" (one of the better renditions I've heard). Phil Lesh was the main guy selecting the tunes for that release, which makes me wonder of one of his life's ambitions has always been to subject the Dead's catalogue to a jazz treatment. The good news is that the music does, in fact, hold up well to such a treatment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse