Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Live at Wolf Trap [Blu-ray]
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$13.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 10, 2004
As the Director of this project, I wanted to share how special this DVD is. First it is from a great night for the band. They tore down the sold out house at Wolf Trap, and that is evident in every frame. Technologically, we did a big 10 camera Hi-definition shoot, so the clarity is awesome. There is two hours of music. The legendary Ed Cherney did the audio mixes, so the sound is HOT. In terms of the special features, the DVD is packed. First the band members actually host the menu pages! Then we have a very cool interactive feature. At the beginning of five songs, a small icon of either Tom Johnston or Pat Simmons appears for ten seconds. When you press enter during that time, the video cuts to Tom or Pat explaining the process of writing that song! Also, the special features include a very cool 30 minute interview-profile with the band. There are a couple of fun surprise special features as well. If you like the Doobies, you will love this DVD!
88 comments| 148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2004
After watching the Wolf Trap Live DVD for the 14th time, I still can't get enough of it! This concert includes 23 songs and is beautifully mastered in both sound and cinematography. It is without a doubt, the Doobie Brothers' finest performance ever. In one of the special feature interviews, Tom Johnston states, "we practice alot these days." Well, Mr. Johnston, it shows. Every song is played tightly and precisely yet mingled with an easiness and playfulness that can only come from professionals who have honed their craft to perfection. The Doobie Brothers were awesome in the 70's but in my opinion, have only recently reached the pinacle of music success with this DVD. Other 70's bands seem to have declined through the years but, not the Doobies. They have aged like fine wine. Take my advise and beat the winter blues: make this DVD part of your collection as soon as possible. You have no idea what you are missing out on until you experience it.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2005
I bought this DVD on a whim.Searching for concert DVD's I came across this-checked the reviews and got an idea of the song listings-thought about it-ordered it.I wasted approx. 1 hour debating the undebatable.I never thought twice about purchasing tickets for a Doobie show when they were in my area before(always a favorite and never the same twice).Any fan of the Doobies (or 70s rock can order this without any second guessing-it is "A MAJOR HOME RUN".Tom and Pat's musicianship are never better.Jeff McFee is a monster on all the instruments he plays.Tiran Porter is missed(original bassist) however, Skylark on bass is more than a replacement-he IS a Doobie.Big John Hartman is also missed(original member on drums)but Keith Knudsen and Michael Hossack are still there and Tight.A percussion and horn section(new Doobies?)is as good as I have heard.As stated earlier the musicianship is never better-so are the harmonies.They will put cold chills down your arm.So you can buy this DVD in confidence off the bat and get your HOME RUN.Gotta go-"Clear as the Driven Snow" is playing.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2007
I grew up with the Doobies and always enjoyed listening to their music back on my portable AM transistor radio. So, when I received this DVD I was looking forward to firing it up in my Dolby Digital 7.1 system and rockin' out...
However due to the poor video production of this DVD, it is more annoying than entertaining...

What is the purpose of the director/producer of videos to constantly feel that they need to cut to another scene? Just when you are getting a chance to focus in on what a musician is doing -- WHAM-BAM! on to someone else, but wait QUICK let's go somewhere else; HOLD ON we can cram another 25 cutaways in the next 10 seconds... and on and on and on... Stop the ride, I want to get off!!!
For the grins of it during Blackwater; a 4 minute song; I counted that there were over 104 scene cuts/transitions -- that's one FLASH/BAM/POP less than every 2.5 seconds...
I think a concert DVD should convey the atmoshpere that you are sitting in the audience with the crowd -- not running around on the stage like a crazed roadie!
My recommendation is to save a few bucks and buy the CD of this great concert and sit back and listen to the great music without the disturbing video imagery that is presented.
55 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2013
But not without a few disappointments. Gone is the delightful menu presented by the band members on the original DVD, and I couldn't access the five icons in the lower left corner during certain songs which on the original DVD would take you briefly behind the scenes to see how the writers were inspired. So if you still have your DVD of this concert, it might be worth hanging on to. Nevertheless, if it's just about the concert (and it mainly is as far as I'm concerned), this blu ray really brings out the clarity of those high definition cameras you probably noticed on the DVD, so this is still a worthy upgrade. Tom Johnston admits they never sounded this good way back when, as I too would attest, after seeing their poor performance in Frankfort Kentucky during their "Vices" tour in the 70's.

To the dismay of some fans (and the delight of others), this concert is more or less a representation of their pre-Michael McDonald years with a couple or so exceptions, such as "Takin' It To The Streets", voiced very nicely by Simmons in his stead. The infinitely versatile McFee is a valuable asset to this lineup (Hossack and Knudsen have since passed away so it's nice to have this to remember them by). At least the half hour documentary remains intact, so you're not missing much from the original DVD here. A more comprehensive history that includes the very talented Michael McDonald can be found on the other blu ray that is now out (Let The Music Play). Yes, the MM years were good years too and I still treasure many of those songs as well. This show however is the way they sounded at the beginning, so "listen to the music". That's their legacy, and as far as I'm concerned, they made history that night at Wolf Trap.

If you like the band and their music, this will be among your favorite concert videos. I have always found myself smiling all the way through this thing, honest.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2006
Great songs, wonderful musical talent, outstanding visual quality (watch this in Hi-Def for unbelievable clarity), terrific interaction with the crowd, and interesting DVD extras. The Doobies July, 2004, concert at Virginia's Wolf Trap has it all!

The Doobies have always been my favorite band and I have everything they're ever done, but I was blown away by this great DVD. This concert is far superior to the other Doobie DVD, "Rockin' Down the Highway - The Wildlife Concert". Renditions of old Doobie favorites are terrific and the musical talent that these men have glows prominently. Versatile John McFee demonstrates his range by playing about 5 different guitar types ranging from pedal steel to acoustic. He's great on the fiddle as well! Pat Simmons and Tom Johnston show their musical range as well and sound better than ever on every song! Bass player Skylark carries the rhythm and energy of this concert. Drummers Keith Knudson and Mike Hossack provide the depth and beat that they're long known for. And the addition of the horn section, led by saxophonist Marc Russo, adds new punch to the favorite songs that Doobie fans know so well!

Clocking in at a minute over two hours, the Brothers entertain the crowd the entire time with absolutely no downtime. Twenty-plus favorites from the past are offered by the Doobs on this great DVD. "Don't Start Me Talkin", "Little Bitty Pretty One", and staples like "Listen To the Music", "China Grove", and "Long Train Runnin" carry the freight during the concert, but the listener won't be disappointed with any song!

If you're a fan of the Doobie Brothers, you absolutely have to add "Live At the Wolf Trap" to your musical collection!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2011
This and The Eagles - Farewell I Tour are my absolute favorite concert DVDs. The Doobie Brothers are top notch. When they start out with two guitars hanging around their necks you can pretty much figure on some real guitar playin! The DTS 5.1 surround sound makes you feel like you are right in the audience. This is a really fun DVD to watch and listen to. The audience is appreciative but quiet enough that they don't distract from the show. This is one purchase you won't regret.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
I just discovered the Doobie Brothers - watching this video on TV one evening while channel surfing. As it turns out, this is the best Doobie Brothers concert video, and it captures what are arguably some of the very best American musicians in their natural habitat. Unlike the Wildlife concert video which was filmed in a studio, this was captured outdoors at Wolf Trap, the way Rock and Roll was meant to be showcased, and the Doobie Brothers sound matches that venue.
The editor of this video had tools that made it possible to jump cut in perfect rhythm with the music, and I do mean perfect. You don't notice it at first, but soon you realize that your ears and your eyes are perfectly synchronized with the drums and the guitar notes - it's a very satisfying experience. Hopefully the Doobie's will do another video with multiple camera angles that are user selectable, which will nearly duplicate the live experience - but for now this is the closest you can get to seeing them live. The audio CD of this concert is a portable version, and once you've seen the video 2 or 3 times, and listened to the audio cd 5 or 10 times, you'll begin to have a minds eye view of the concert any time you hear the music. If you have to choose, get this DVD before you get the Wildlife video - unless you really like Michael McDonald, in which case the Wildlife concert is your only option to see him. But you'll want to have this video too because it's the only way to get a feel for what this truly original American band is like in person and up close. This is an American classic - and may be one of the best concert videos of all time - and because of the quality of the Doobie's musicianship it will stand the test of time perhaps like no other.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2004
WOW what a concert. They never sounded better and sure look like they are having a blast doing it. Hard rock sets, along with accoustic and blues set off a nice mix of songs. I highly recommend this DVD. A CD is also available for cruising in your ride.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
Great concert. Tommy, Pat, John and Skylark are an amazing front line for this awesome band. This is possibly the last time we will see Michael Hossack, Keith Knudsen and Skylark. I'm not crazy about the work of the director. His/her cuts were way too many and way too often. The only issue I have with the audio is Keith Knudsen's snare which sounds like a timbali and is too far out in front of the mix. The only song I think this concert could have done without is People Gotta Love Again, but there is always >>I. Enjoy this Blu-ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse