BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment drwho drwho drwho  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 29, 2015
This book was not helpful to me because the information in it is so outdated. It was written in 2002-2004 and the statistics regarding cost of
living, buying or renting a home, etc. were not changed to meet current prices. I would not recommend this book to anyone who is considering
retirement on any of the islands. It needs to be updated by the author in order to be helpful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 4, 2010
The author(s) tend to say about 200 words for about 50 words of information. We've been researching our retirement (ten years away) for about six years and three vacations to the Big Island. We found a few good tips and some helpful information, those the material is somewhat intentionally generic. I guess the best thing for us was the confirmation our information was correct and our strategy fairly sound. I'd say excellent for someone with no information, less for those who have been researching.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2015
This book is well written, and gives one the information needed if you are considering moving and retiring in Hawaii. We are, and this book has helped us tremendously. It gives the reader details that are needed to make the move step by step. I wish it could have a more current update however. Nonetheless, I do recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
I feel as if i wasted my money. I don't know how the 2004 copyright version had such old data- mostly from 1999. I found the commentary to also be superficial. The book may be of some help for people who have never visited Hawaii and were looking for some preliminary background. I cannot recommend for anyone seeking in-depth analysis or anyone in need of current information. Unfortunarly, much of the book does focus on numerical data such as costs of housing, healthcare, taxes, living expenses that the 14 year old data is not useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
Good information but outdated because it was written almost a decade ago. Would have liked a few pictures and maps of the various locations would have been beneficial,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2006
The authors of this book obviously conducted a lot of research and cared a great deal about their subject. As other reviewers have said, it does contain a lot of useful information for someone thinking about retiring to Islands. Unfortunately, however, the book suffers greatly from two serious flaws. First, it is incredibly poorly proofread; it is replete with distracting and annoying spelling and typographical errors. (One wonders what the publisher was doing!) Second, large portions of the book provide information about matters that change very quickly. In particular, the prices cited are already wildly out of date. I think it would be great if the authors, perhaps with some help from an editor, updated the information and cleaned up the text.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
Fantastic book! We are moving to Hawaii so this is a great book to have. We found lots of helpful advice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
Not updated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2007
This book is worth reading for people seriously interested in moving to Hawaii for retirement. The authors provide lots of economic data on how much it costs to live in Hawaii but it is accurate for about the year 2000. It is a thoughtful book written like an academic paper (with footnotes all the way to clxxxv!).
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2009
We loved this book and are finding it a great help as we explore this option. If you are looking for fluff or feel good prose to help you make your decision this is not the place to look. The author shows Hawaii as it is both good and bad. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse