Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite uncharted Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
94
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 94 reviews
on December 4, 2016
Crown of Shadows, the third full-length installment of the sensational Locke & Key series, continues to follow Dodge (disguised as classmate Zack Wells) in his unremitting quest to unearth the Omega Key that will unlock the Black Door. Armed with an unholy crown found in the dark recesses of Keyhouse, Dodge raises an army of shadow monsters to torment the Locke children. Surrounded and outnumbered, Tyler, Kinsey, and Bode find themselves alone in a desperate battle for survival. Meanwhile, their grief-stricken mother, Nina, drowns her sorrows in alcohol, wrecking emotional havoc on herself and her children.

Riveting and profoundly creepy, the Locke & Key series gets better with each installment, injecting new mysteries into the existing storylines and introducing new bizarre keys that perform fantastical feats. Readers at this point will be glued to the pages waiting to find out what each newly discovered key does. The fantasy element is literally taken to new heights with the discovery of a so-called Giant Key that—yeah, you guessed it—turns you into a giant.

Joe Hill’s unique writing continues to impress and immerses readers in what feels like a full-fledged novel. The brilliant visuals crafted by Gabriel Rodriguez are flawless, and the emotions of the characters bleed through even without words. Both author and artist have an equal chance to shine in this latest volume, and audiences can only expect great things in the three remaining installments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
The hardcover volumes in this series are beautiful books -- the books are sturdy, the covers are interesting & focus on a different key each time, the individual covers are in the back and the inside part of the hardcovers have a different architectural drawing of the Locke mansion.

Rodriguez and Hill work very well together -- some panels and pages are driven by dialogue, while others just have panel after panel without words. They work in in great synchronicity.

Hill keeps expanding the number of characters in Lovecraft without forcing it, and the Locke family continues to develop nicely. The mother's drinking is a real problem, and the kids handle it in different ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
I was going to space out each volume between other books, but I had to read this one right after finishing the second volume. This one has some incredibly emotional moments in it, and it really explores what can happen after someone suffers horrible events in their life. For the Locke mother, she is still suffering from her husband being murdered and herself being brutally raped, and finds what comfort she can in the bottom of a bottle. There aren't many other stories in any format that would go as far as the creators did in Crown of Shadows, but it just feels so real that it hurts all the more. I wished that the children could somehow have helped her more, but that situation would be so difficult, and even the perfect words and actions might not be able to help. In this volume, there's probably a little more action than in Head Games, especially towards the end which features an amazing fight with the Lady in the Well using living shadows to attack the Locke children and search for the Omega key. Part of the fight features multiple pages of absolutely beautiful full page art, with no dialogue. It was just so amazingly well done, and I can't wait to read what happens next. Still, I'm worried about finishing the series too quickly, so I'll hold off a little before I read Volume four. Again, I'd very highly recommend the Locke & Key series. Even people that normally don't like graphic novels should give it a shot, because I've never really seen anything like it in any other form of media.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2011
This is the 3rd graphic novel in the Locke and Key series. The 4th, Locke & Key Volume 4: Keys to the Kingdom HC, comes out July of 2011. This was an excellent installment in this series; this story just keeps getting more and more interesting. I think this was my favorite one yet, which is really saying something since I have loved them all. I should also mention that the hardback version of this is just beautiful; even has a lovely ribbon to keep track of your place in the book.

As the Locke children's mother is incapacitated by grief and forced to deal with yet another loss, the Locke children are left to fend for themselves in a house where things are becoming increasingly strange. Dodge continues his search for the Black Door Key and summons an army of shadows to torment the Locke children. The Locke children are forced to fight for their lives against the shadows within.

This is just such an interesting, if profoundly creepy, series. Every installment introduces new mystery to the storyline and every installment introduces strange new keys that do fantastical things. I am so excited to see what each new key does, and so interested in how this battle between the living and the dead, between Dodge and the Locke children will play out.

This is definitely a novel for adults, some of the things in here are disturbing. The mother of the Locke children continues a rapidly increasing descent into misery and spends a lot of time drinking and being generally useless and tragic. The Locke kids struggle along as well as they can. It is interesting to see some of the affects from Locke & Key: Head Games and how they played out in this book.

I was thrilled by the fact that this installment cranks up the level of fantasy quite a bit. When Dodge uses the Key of Shadows and summons and epic army of shadows things get really awesome.

The artwork is incredibly beautiful and the shadow army lets the illustrators show off even more of their considerable talent. The story ended well enough, but I am still desparate to see what will happen next.

Overall just an outstanding addition to this series. These books just keep getting better and better; more and more engaging and interesting. I can't help but feel that this is all building up to something incredibly tragic and I am desparate to know what will happen next. This is one of the few graphic novels I will go out and buy new in hardback; they are definitely keepers. The hardbacks are very beautiful with a lot of attention to detail to the quality of the book; making this book something that is a pleasure to hold in your hands and read. I can absolutely not wait to read Locke & Key Volume 4: Keys to the Kingdom HC!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
While volume 3 of this lovely, addictive series isn't really all that eventful. They do add a lot of new content in the form of characters as well as keys in order to keep the plot moving along as well as setting things up for future books as well. Still a solid volume overall but you may not love it as much as the previous two.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2011
I look forward to each of the Locke & Key stories and can't wait for them to come out. The detail in the artwork is unbelievable and I spend extra time on each page just looking at how everything is drawn out. I think that the pictures can tell the story even without the words, its really fabulous.
As for the story line, its a great one and I would love to see it come to life on the big screen. There are so many different things that can happen with each of the keys/doors and I like the complexity of the different storylines. Even though they aren't, somehow Joe Hill is able to make it seem that the reader has a full-fledged novel in their hands. His writing is concise and quick-witted.
The best thing about this series is that its written for adults. There is murder, sex, lying, and general badness happening. All the stuff I love reading about!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
Okay, so I am rating all of the Locke and Key books because I have just finished the series, and it is impossible not to just vomit praise all over this story that, if you have read this far into, you already know it is amazing. Right now, you are just reading this, and other reviews, because you want to see how right you were about this series.

Don't worry, you're right, it is awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
Wow. I've read the first 3 volumes and this feels like an epic in the making. The art & story are fantastic. Rodriguez draws distinct characters with great facial expressions, fluid layouts and phenomenal backrounds with such great detail, top that off with some great coloring by Jay Fotos and these books are worth buying for the art alone. Luckily for us we get an incredibly imaginative and original story by Hill. He makes you care about the characters in the first chapter which is never something easy to do. You can't really pigeon hole how to classify this book. There are elements of Horror, Dark Fantasy, etc ... What you can classify it as though is d@#$ good reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2012
I have read many graphic novels in my day.  locke and key is by far the best series i have read in years. so much so that im pretty sure my wife is going to kill me when she finds out i have been buying book after book on our budget.  So much wonder and the story runs so deep. I hope later in the series they dive into the fathers past with the keys. 

Anyways Joe Hill is a genius and the art work fits the players so well in this narrative. I don't ever write comments I just had to say please,if you know what's good for you.....Pick up this amazingly solid story. You won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
This is a book I bought for someone who never read it. But stacked them up like a side table.

I'm sure you'll enjoy it though. The cover looks cool and mysterious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse